We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House
Ranked #16 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My first visit to Istanbul - the location was perfect, people very friendly, my room was clean, spacious and really comfortable. I have seldom slept so well! I found the Green House to be excellent value for money and would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor, back. Not much view but great comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were here during the summer for a few nights, and had a really nice time. The owner is great, we spend a night sitting in front of the hostel just talking about Turkey and stuff, and also the other woman that was working there at the time was so helpful and nice. The private room was on the top floor, just about big enough for a 2 person bed, but the view was great from the top window! Also the location is really good, close to the taksim square, and close to the bus transfer to the airport, if you might need that. If I'd go back to Istanbul I would probably go there again. And they had great breakfast and a HUGE television you could use!

Only thing I did not like was that the shower was also the toilet room, so everything gets wet...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhollandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green House i, Front Office Manager at Green House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your recommendation and high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Istanbul!

Best regards,
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kecskemet, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The host staff is really kind and helpful, the furniture of house is simple, but cheap. The rate of the price and value is good. The location of the hotel is very good, the metro and the airport's bus station is near.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ferenc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have stayed at Green House Taksim for a total of eight nights on three different occasions. I am consistently surprised by how friendly, accommodating and useful the staff at the hostel are. They are willing to go to any length to make sure that you are happy and enjoy your stay in Istanbul. The breakfast is very tasty and there is always free tea and coffee available. It is my "go to" place when I come into Turkey - clean, a good price point, great staff and convenient location.

Room Tip: My favourite room in the private room on the top floor. But, that is my personal preference - all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TeamRuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comments. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours, and we really do appreciate the feedback.
I was glad to read you found breakfast, staff and location very enjoyable.
We will continue our best efforts to provide the best service for the guests and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Best regards,
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've been to many hostels on this trip, and Green House Hostel is a good example of how to do hostels right. The female-only dorm was large, with plenty of room to sit up when you were on the bottom bunk (often a rarity!).
Breakfast was consistent with Turkish-style - which often seems like a lunch spread to an Aussie - but there was toast and nutella, so, all good by me!
The shower was almost like a converted closet in the room, which was a bit weird, but managable. The room was also very light, which was great for a open, free feel, but somtimes it was hard to sleep-in in the morning.
The only real drawback was the Taksim area itself. It's undergoing LOTS of construction and so we were always woken by jackhammers or trucks or the like. This wasn't the problem of the hostel, this was just the area. I would suggest finding another area close to the old city, but if you need to be near Taksim, this is a great choice.
Super easy to catch a cheap coach bus there. #notaxifares
Staff were also very friendly.

Room Tip: Had orginally booked a mixed dorm because it's interesting to meet people, but got told it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KEZRAH_KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Positive points: near to Taksim square and Havatas airport bus services, friendly staff, good breakfast for the price. You can stay as long as you want in the tv room which is the place also for breakfast in the morning.
Negative: the cleaning of bathroom can get better and some shelf are needed there to put your stuff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Joey,
thank you for staying with us and for your feedbeck. We appreciate all comments, they are very helpfull as we constantly work to improve our guest experience.
We hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.
Best regards,
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've been in Greenhouse hostel for 2,5 week and I really enjoyed my time in there. I booked in first instance 5 nights, because when I arrived in Istanbul I would find a room asap, but it was possible to extend my bookings a few times, when I didn't find a room to live yet in Istanbul. Especially the people from the hostel are a big pluspunt. Talat is a very nice, kind and funny owner of the hostel and also Ania en Samir are very nice people to hang out with. The hostel is also clean (because of the hard-working Samir) and tidy and the security is garanteed with the big lockers, roomlocks and camera's. And finally, I used the breakfast room downstairs a lot to chill out or to study because it's very quiet.
Conclusion: For the price you have to pay for dormitory, you'll get safety, hygiene, comfort and kind people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#302 of 1,141 in Istanbul
393 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#9 of 1,200 in Istanbul
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#19 of 1,200 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House

Property: Green House
Address: Inonu Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 15 | Elmadag, Taksim, Sisli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner every year since 2013 … what makes us so successful? Top location – right in the city’s centre. Taksim Area, which is the heart of the entertainment and social life of Istanbul but we are just a few streets back from the hustle and bustle ensuring you still get a good nights sleep! A great yet cheap hostel nestled in the centre of Istanbul. Great value accommodation in a central location for travellers to Istanbul on a budget. The ideal starting point for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife! Hostel nearest to Havatas Airport Shuttle Bus! Subway, ferry, train, taxi station, trams and buses all are close by and easy to use. We are happy to give you directions wherever you want to go. Most of the city’s main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Bosphorus, Dolmabahce Palace, Galata Tower and the famous Istiklal Avenue are in walking distance or short trip with public transport. Istanbul Conference Centre is just 5 minutes away from the hostel. Groups and Walk-ins are welcomed! Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel is located in a historic building, which means no elevator however we have a variety of rooms available to suit every traveler. We have 6 person mixed/female dormitories and if you are a family or a couple in need of a night to yourselves we also have plenty private rooms available Our rooms are spacious, decorated in light colours-equipped with an air conditioner (real air conditioning, not just a fan) and central heating system, WiFi that works in the rooms and specially designed wooden bunk beds which never squeak and are very comfortable. All rooms have private showers so that you don’t have to wander the halls in a towel and hot water is available 24 hours a day. Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel hostel is where comfort and warmth meets vibrant energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing