We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here you will feel like at home”
Review of Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green House
Ranked #16 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Here you will feel like at home”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hostel is located in a very convenient location in the heart of Istanbul - very close to Taksim Square. Very convenient to get from the airport ( very close - parking shuttles ) . Also close by - metro , shops, restaurants , pedestrian Istiklal Street .
We lived in a triple room with private shower and toilet . The room is very clean, spacious enough , comfortable .
Quite decent breakfasts. A well-equipped kitchen and a cozy lounge. Great wi-fi and satellite TV .
Very good , responsive attitude of the host - Talat . Also many thanks for the concern Anna. It was very nice - to feel so much care and attention.
On your next visit to Istanbul will certainly stay at the same hostel. And all I can recommend it .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aziza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
23
89
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I only stayed on this side of Istanbul for a night. It's across the bridge from the Mosques, Palace, Bazaar, etc. But there is a pretty nice area for night life/dining on this side. It was a nice place, weird set-up in the bathroom but everything worked well and it was a cozy, friendly environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rasluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green House i, Front Office Manager at Green House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Rasluks,
I'm happy you enjoyed staying in our hostel. We are located just 10 mnts away from the heart of entertainment in the city- Taksim Square.
We hope we will have another opportunity to host you and for a longer time.
Best wishes,
Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It won t take you more than one night to feel home and make friends. The staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and cozy. I ve seen some reviews complaining. If you re expecting sth fancy cross the street and go to Hilton, but if you want something clean, cozy, friendly and suitable for all budgets then do not think twice, green house is your friend. The breakfast is a buffet, You d actually be surprised of the variety of items it contains. You might also use the kitchen anytime and help yourself with tea or coffee. It was a real pleasure staying at green house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Saad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you are looking for a cheap, cosy however nothing luxurious place to stay for couple of days in Istanbul, this is the place to be. It lies only 5 min away from the Taxim Havatas bus station, i.e. in the Taxim centre, where you can do great shoppings, eat deliciously and walk till and through the Galata bridge. To mention is, that the owner and the people working there are extremely friendly and they will help you find the best tours, directions, good restaurants, places worth visiting etc. Just go and convince yourself! Note though, people have different preference orderings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I only planned to spend one night in the hostel because I was moving to Istanbul and thought that I had found an apartment, but when that didn't work out as planned I needed to stay another night. Unfortunately they were booked, but they went to great lengths to find me a room there. The staff is great, very helpful, and, since I ended up living near the hostel, every time I pass by and see them they wave and offer me tea.

Obviously I like the staff, but the hostel was great also. The beds have their own private curtains and reading lights. The curtain proved more useful for me since I got back late/early in the morning after a night out. It was very clean and it had a good sized personal locker for every guest. The location is great, a 10 minute walk to Istiklal Street (where all the night life is), so the stumble back isn't bad. It's probably the closest hostel to the spot where the buses to/from the airports leave/arrive and there's a great kabob restaurant next door. Everything I could have asked for. I'm going back to Istanbul in about a month and I already know where I'll be staying while I search for a more permanent room.

Room Tip: I would recommend the ensuite room, but I would recommend that in any hostel. The rooms are all quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent 5 nights in the 5-beds dorm and it was really an unique experience.

Dorm: very cozy and clean bed with a little curtain in case you need your privacy. The shower is inside with a great hot water and the room is in general clean also thanks to the fact that you have to leave your shoes outside.

Position: less than 5 minutes walk from Taksim Square and less than 3 minutes walk from the Havatas bus stop (useful if you have a flight from Sabiha Gokcen Airport). You could also get easily to Besiktas or Eminonu by walk (around 10-20 minutes).

Services: furnish breakfast and free chai or coffee whenever you want

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoppiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green House i, Owner at Green House, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Dear Doppial Thanks a lot for your review i am very happay that you liked what did for My guestes comfort
yes i wanted to show Turkish culure to not let shoes in:) and its very clan no smilehaha:)
and also after revanation we have put water thang,if no water in the area our ssytem starting to work ,and janaratör so like a hotel!
hope to see you
have a great day
Talat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My first visit to Istanbul - the location was perfect, people very friendly, my room was clean, spacious and really comfortable. I have seldom slept so well! I found the Green House to be excellent value for money and would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor, back. Not much view but great comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#122 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Sisli
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#303 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#138 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#9 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#19 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House

Property: Green House
Address: Inonu Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Papa Roncalli Sokak No: 15 | Elmadag, Taksim, Sisli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner every year since 2013 … what makes us so successful? Top location – right in the city’s centre. Taksim Area, which is the heart of the entertainment and social life of Istanbul but we are just a few streets back from the hustle and bustle ensuring you still get a good nights sleep! A great yet cheap hostel nestled in the centre of Istanbul. Great value accommodation in a central location for travellers to Istanbul on a budget. The ideal starting point for sightseeing, shopping and nightlife! Hostel nearest to Havatas Airport Shuttle Bus! Subway, ferry, train, taxi station, trams and buses all are close by and easy to use. We are happy to give you directions wherever you want to go. Most of the city’s main attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Bosphorus, Dolmabahce Palace, Galata Tower and the famous Istiklal Avenue are in walking distance or short trip with public transport. Istanbul Conference Centre is just 5 minutes away from the hostel. Groups and Walk-ins are welcomed! Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel is located in a historic building, which means no elevator however we have a variety of rooms available to suit every traveler. We have 6 person mixed/female dormitories and if you are a family or a couple in need of a night to yourselves we also have plenty private rooms available Our rooms are spacious, decorated in light colours-equipped with an air conditioner (real air conditioning, not just a fan) and central heating system, WiFi that works in the rooms and specially designed wooden bunk beds which never squeak and are very comfortable. All rooms have private showers so that you don’t have to wander the halls in a towel and hot water is available 24 hours a day. Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel hostel is where comfort and warmth meets vibrant energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing