We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hostel in a central location, great staff, good price”
Review of YenI Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YenI Hotel
Ranked #458 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent two nights at Yeni Hostel in April 2014. I have been to Istanbul many times and always look for good price in central location, around Sultanahmet or Sirkeci. It was very easy to get to the hostel coming from the airport by using metro and tram. Staff (basically the guy working at the reception) was excellent, very kind and helpful. My rooms was nice and clean, basically a twin room so I used one bed. Shared shower room was very big, always with warm water available. On the last day, I checked out and left my bag very late in the evening. Great location, good price, definitely a great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yeni hostel and their staff are excellent for a city break in this part of town.
Location to the palace, Gulhane park, the metro stop and restaurants is perfect.

Walking distance to everything in this part of town.

Basic, but clean and well maintained throughout the day.

Wifi works in your room.

Staff knowledgable and friendly.

If you are not looking for 'glossy' this is a fantastic place to stay.
:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarajepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at yeni hostel for 4 nights. I have been to Istanbul more than 20 times. This is one of the best hotels in Istanbul. Rooms are clean and tidy. Staffs are really warm ,decent and proffecional.
We shared a shower. Shower rooms are big enough to relax. If I go to Istanbul gain, I think I want to stay in this hote again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are clean so fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

you can walk to almost any historical sites in istanbul,very good location! But i have to say the staff of Yeni Hostel is the best part of my trip in Istanbul.They're so nice and helpful.for some time i just wanted to stay in the hostel and talked with them~~~5 star recommendation!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The location of Yeni Hostel is great, just a few minutes walking from most of the attractions in Sultanahmet district so no public transport is needed. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with any question or request you might have. But be aware of the construction activities in progress next to the hostel. They are working 24 hours so sleeping wasn't pleasant at all. All other things were fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trajce_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent choice when traveling on a budget. Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Galata bridge and Topkapi are all within 10minutes of walking, which saves money and time too. Rooms are clean and a little above what you should expect from that price range. Shared bathroom/shower was very clean at time of my visit, but hostel was not fully occupied then so i cant comment on how clean it is when all rooms are taken. Staff was helpful and they value their customers. As others already said its not a party place, its great though if you are partying outside and then you need to sleep/rest in quiet. Beds were on the better side in term of quality of sleep/mattress. There was a construction of building on adjacent parcel, and it looks like its normal to use jackhammers at 1am in Turkey so plastic windows came handy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seržant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed in a 4* beach resort in Dalaman before coming to Yeni Hostel and was not disappointed at all. The room size was small and the interior was basic. An arm chair, small table, single bed with clean linen and a cupboard. If you are in for a luxury trip this isnt the place but if you want to roam about whole day and need a clean place to sleep then dont go anwhere else. The location is excellent: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Archaeological Museums and Blue Mosque all are within 5-10 mins walking distance. You do not even need to ask someone for directions. The hostel itself is in the traditional environment with tramvay station, railway station and ferry bays in 2-5 mins walking distance.
Plus the owner and his daughter were lovely people, yes even if you are not a white girl ! They made me feel like at home and are ready to help always.

UPDATES:

The metro station construction is due to finish in October plus they have already soundproofed the windows so no noise when the windows are closed.
My single room had an AC and I have seen a lot more units outside the hotel so, I guess the it is no more a fan-only accomodation.

Room Tip: Try to find a single room not a dorm. If your nasal receptivity is sensitive, try not to get the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdurRub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Express Inci Hotel
#541 of 1,163 in Istanbul
17 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#580 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#373 of 1,163 in Istanbul
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#492 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#977 of 1,163 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#748 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YenI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YenI Hotel

Address: Nobethane Cad. Dervisler Sok. No: 12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £12 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — YenI Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeni Hotel has soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, just a 5-minute walk from Gulhane Park. Just over a quarter mile from Eminönü Ferryboat Terminal, the hotel organizes car rentals.Yeni Hotel has simply furnished rooms with shared or private bathroom facilities. Some rooms have air conditioning, a wardrobe and a side chair in the sitting area.There is complimentary tea and coffee. There are also many restaurants, cafes and bars around the hostel.At Hotel Yeni, the front desk is open throughout the day and helps with pick up and delivery of guest laundry. The staff also provided information about local attractions. A shuttle service to Atatürk International Airport is also offered (charges apply).Hotel Yeni is a 5-minute walk from Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Gülhane Tram Stop is 257 m away. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your YenI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing