We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rozin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rozin Hotel
Ranked #681 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This Hotel cannot be called so, it is much more like a hostel. The room was extremely small, bathroom had no shower curtain and the staff was always smoking inside, spreading a horrible smell. Overpriced for the services offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupulolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
1
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We started looking for a place to stay in Istanbul a bit late, just 2 weeks or so before our arrival there, and we found this hostel to fit our budget with some difficulty (50 Eur/night/double).

LOCATION
Quiet area mainly with houses and 2 storey buildings, 15 min walk from tram station, around 30 min walk to Blue Mosque (if you know the fastest track), 20 min walk to Grand Bazzar.
.
The hostel was very difficult to find, no signs pointing to it, no sign outside the hostel to indicate there is a hostel there, but finally we managed to find it. We walked around an hour or so from the tram station to the hotel before being able to find it. It's true we didn't call the owner to ask for directions, that might have helped.
I want to mention that, I think most guesthouses in Istanbul are not easy to find as there a lot of cramped small streets. I wouldn't necessarily say this hostel is particularly difficult to find compared to all the other hostels; just the fact that it lacks any indicator outside the hostel gives you some extra trouble and adrenaline; but don't panic, you can always call the hotel for indications.

If you book at Rozin be careful to have its address and a city map with you.

The second night in the area a creepy guy followed us and kept bumping into us, from the hotel to the first restaurant we could escape to, you don't want to come across this guy. I don't really know what he had on his mind, but we were happy to lose him when we entered on of the restaurants in the streets

STAFF/OWNER
Owner was helpful when we asked his for something: helped us book the minibus to the airport, recommended us the area where to eat, but don't expect to be pampered.

ROOM
We got a triple room on first floor.Spacious room for our needs, a big drawer, table, minibar. The furniture and sheets were a bit old and worn, but I had a comfortable sleep nevertheless.

The first night we arrived it was quite chilly in the room, but the next few days as the weather got warmer the temperature in the room rose, so that wasn't a problem anymore.

The bathroom was the worse part, you have to wait a minute or two until the water gets hot enough to take a shower; and the bathroom itself is juts one big room with shower, toilet, sink, no separation between the shower and sink so if you're not careful you will get everything wet.

BREAKFAST
Buffet breakfast, typically Turkish things on the menu, but the cheapest options on the market (fake honey, fake jam which tasted of artificial flavoring, some cheese and olives, etc.. no fruits). They should really improve breakfast, the quality of the things they have.

All in all it wasn't the most memorable and pleasant stay, mainly because I was expecting a lot more of this price.
Had we payed 30 Eur for the room there would be no reason to complain, but given that we payed 50 Eur/night I find it extremely pricey for what they offer; for the same price you can get better service in Istanbul.

I would hesitate staying there again.
Beside the fact that is located in Sultanahmet I can find no good point for recommending it.
But, if you can find no other place fitting your budget and you're not picky I guess Rozin Hotel is an option that is not the worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbino, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We ended up at the Rozin Hotel by accident when the hotel we had booked through booking.com turned us away (another story...see my review of Indo Hotel). The room was cozy and breakfast was good and varied. The staff was extremely helpful. There was only vacancy for two of the three nights we were staying in Istanbul, and although the hotel was full, the older brother helped us to locate another hotel at the same price. He even accompanied us to the new hotel and helped us check-in. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Istanbul with a "homey" feeling, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catiek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

We stayd 3 nights at this hotel, first of all it's hard to find and if it wasn't for the old woman, their neighbour which was chilling in the window next door, we would not have found it so quick. We stayd on top floor in a terrible room, no window, no AC, no heat/owen and in the bathroom it was open trough the roof! The toilet did not have anything on the top to flush with and the room was really small. After 2 nights from freezing we finally got a room in the basement wich was better but not so nice. Saw into other rooms and they looked nice. Breakfast was good and the reception guys also.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We found this Hotel by chance on Bookings.com and I must say we struck gold; It was inexpensive, very clean and warm; Wi-Fi, TV, hairdryers, you name it they have it; Run by two wonderful brothers and supported by their family members that somehow transforms the hotel into your home from home; For us English was spoken and understood and I believe they speak other languages also; We were treated as greater family but in a professional and respectful manner jointly; All requests for information and assistance during our stay were addressed promptly and completely; if you require a well located and friendly locale for your hotel in Istanbul then surely you need not pay more or seek any other; We both would greatly recommend this hotel unreservedly and truly look forward to the next time we are able to return there.

Ian Barber

Room Tip: Just don't be afraid to ask for your requirements to be supplied they are exceedingly helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed at the Rozin Hotel for 15 days. I wanted to be at the centre of everything and I wasn't disappointed. The manager of the hotel Adem, is extremely knowledgable, helpful and kind. I observed him communicating with guests in their native language. For example, a japanese couple arrived and he spoke to them in Japanese, making them feel at ease and welcome. This shows how much he loves what he does, by providing invaluable advice as which places are safe to go etc.There is constant hot water 24/7 and the hotel is extremely clean. It is the only place I have stayed where I've felt more at home than my actual home in Birmingham. Basically, Adem and his brother Sabatin have become my friends for life. They make staying at the Rozin Hotel a whole new experience. In fact, I will be returning there very soon with other members of my family for them to feel the experience. The atmosphere is calming and very spiritual. Thus, the manager shows he loves his job as it comes from the heart.
I would recommend this hotet to anyone, any age who wants to experience the old town of Sultanahmet in a beautiful location and a ten minute walk to the tourist sites. The hotel is also 'children friendly' which is immensely important for parents wishing to enjoy the wonderful experience of historical istanbul in a relaxed atmosphere. Also, breakfast offers a wideeeee range of different cheeses, jam etc. You too can be part of this wonderful family experience by staying at Rozin Hotel:))))))

Room Tip: Less noise on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. This is the perfect cozy, clean and affordable hotel in a great location, though it seemed hard to find at first. The manager Admir, was very pleasant and most helpful with all our inquisitive questions about everything.

If you are one of those who truly loves adventure and authenticity of a culture this is the inexpensive hotel you need, if you are looking for pools and luxury, obviously not. After having a beautiful breakfast in the morning we were coming back toward midnight,into our small, very clean and quite room with very nice private bathroom. I sincerely recommend this most welcoming hotel.

t+m from Macedonia

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rozin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rozin Hotel

Property: Rozin Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Pideci Sk, No 2, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #681 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rozin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing