We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meze”
Review of Asmali Cavit

Asmali Cavit
Ranked #194 of 13,529 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Meze”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The meze trolley is loaded with great stuff. The house specialty which my wife has been tring to recreate eversince is an eggplant dip. All the other food is quite good too. It was definitely mainly frequented by locals. We had to try 2 nights in a row to get a table, worth it. Plus you have another great restaurant next store(see other reviews) if you didnt book and there are no free tables.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    50
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
izmir
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“By far the best food in Asmali Mescit”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This little meyhane is one of the favourite spots for the foodlovers of Istanbul.
Definitely the best one in Asmali Mescit.
Order Smoked Aubergine, Panfried Liver, Grilled Anchovies, Meatballs and Cibez and you will not regret it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylaTabrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cavit”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've been here twice this week, and probably close to a hundred times in the last ten years. Cavit is an istanbul institution, I've been recommending it to friends visiting forever but realised I've never actually reviewed it. Take your pick from the cold starters which are always crisp-fresh and which will be presented to you on a trey. Try as many "greens" as you can. After that, it's down to business. Cavit serves a very mean grilled (as opposed to fried) calamari which is a must and as I tend to stick to seafood so I follow it with a portion of small fried fish from the bosphorus. Small fish can't be farmed and are much tastier in general. My meat loving friends swear by the liver which I am told is one of Istanbul's best. The Köfte also tends to go down well after multiple bottles of Raki.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emrerendedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked this restaurant over the phone (in English) from the UK for our first night in Istanbul and it was well worth it. I had read online it was good for a few drinks and meze which was perfect for a Friday night and we where not disappointed. . From the moment we walked in all the staff (who are very attentive) made us feel welcome and assisted us with our choices of Raki and Meze. We tried the house special Babaghanoush which was really good and had lovely fresh prawns and meatballs among other dishes. Everything tasted fresh and homemade. The best aspect was the vibe- a really good mixed crowd local and tourist crowd we were made to feel very welcome. Thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing meal and a few drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The food here, especially the array of mezze, was excellent. We had a lovely Christmas eve dinner here -- mostly filled up on the mezzo. The eggplant puree was the best we had in Turkey and you practically couldn't go wrong. Service was a bit rushed and not the friendliest but really fine. Good location right off the main shopping street in Beyoglu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJL375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asmali Cavit also viewed

 
 

Been to Asmali Cavit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing