We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Blanco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Blanco
Ranked #180 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

not comfertable- the breakfast is bad and food not clean
stairs are very small and i fell on it
we resarved a room and they gave us athor room
i will not come back to this hotel
but the location is nice

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    36
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
51
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

hotel was conveniently situated a few streets below the blue mosque, with a selection of restaurants nearby and one in front of the hotel.
the staff were helpful, but i declined to pay in full on arrival as requested.
we had travelled from further down the coast via dalaman, after staying at villa anna in kalkan, and found immediately that istanbul is much more expensive, particularly for drinks.
its to be expected i suppose , but twice the price we had payed in kalkan seems extreme even for a big city.
the room was dissapointing not just the small space , which was expected, but the place was tired and worn and needed decorating and the shabby furnishings replacing.
the bathroom was something else though, the dolphin and seashell transfers on the tiles did not hide the black mould thriving on the walls above the shower tray or the numerous holes in the tiles where fixtures had come and gone over the years.
i suppose the contrast between the clean, bright spacious villa we had just left to a pokey ,dingy
hotel room was only moderated though by the intensity, vibrancy and breathtaking specacle of old istanbul.this living film set on the doorstep more than made up for a tatty hotel.
the sights of the blue mosque, aghia sofia, the grand bazaar, the galata tower and bridge and all the others too numerous to mention, made our 3 days fly by.
the trams are worth a mention too, how easy was that? buy your jetons hop on and ride as far as you like. we did the transfer from ataturk airport to sultanahmet with one change quite easily.
in future we will stay further out at the modern hotels and catch the tram across to sultanahmet district.
next time it will be different.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christmasmarketsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Staff and owner did everything to accommodate during our 3 days in Istanbul, and most definitely contributed to making our stay unforgettable. Located perfectly in walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace. Good shopping and a lot of restaurants just around the corner. Hotel and rooms will be refurbished during the winter, but were in nice and clean conditions during our stay. Restaurant, food and wine list (try the Turkish wine!) were fantastic, and the best we tried during our stay. I´ve stayed at quite a lot of hotels, but this experience is by far the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed Three nights in this fantastic place! The staff are extremely friendly, the food is lovely. It is Close to all the sights in the old city, i loved it! We all did, and we Will definetly come back!
Hanne from Norway

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful apart from the breakfast help who seems to be annoyed by guest or at least made this impression. The room was just OK(ish). Good breakfast. While hotels are generally expensive in Istanbul, I still expect certain things when booking a room at this price. The hotel needs a general dusting/cleaning as did our room. Judged by the results, cleaning personnel is very unmotivated and not very attentive, we even had to ask for toilet paper. The bathroom was hostel standard at most, quite dirty, dark, with mildew all over the silicon and patchy DIY work to hold things together. In general one got the impression that the guest is not always the most important here.
While we actually liked it, be aware that you will have noise from the restaurants on the street until late.
And while not the hotel's fault, I suggest to stay away from Sultanahmet hotels as it is just an overpriced Disneyland for tourists which has nothing to do with the real Istanbul; for example look for a hotel closer to the North side of Galata Bridge (Karakoy) and explore the few touristy attractions on foot or by tram.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkov, Ukraine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We came to Istanbul with my wife for a weekend and stayed at El Blanco.
Located in one of the charming narrow Istanbul streets the hotel is at 2 minutes walk from Arasta Bazar, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and other Sultanahmet attractions. The rooms are not really big but very cozy and in the bathroom you'll find all necessary toiletries and several towels.
The staff were really willing to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I called them before our arrival and asked to bring some fresh rouses for my wife and the bouquet was beautiful:)
The breakfast was decent. Next to El Blanco there is a very good fish reastaurant (Sultanahmet Fish House).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just got Back with my family from El Blanco wonderful place to stay very friendly atmosphere great Management & Staff the place is Cozy, don't expect big big rooms, there is all what need bed and shower Great food, lovely simple Breakfast sometimes i use to make my own Breakfast with the Mr.Shahram very helpful man he helped me booking my flight to Bodrum made sure all is okay and in safe hands, The Hotel is close to everything in Sultan Ahmed i didn't wanna leave our dinning & setting area it was alive amazing food you must try the seafood platter with background of Traditional Turkish music the staff were soooooo friendly with my kids that we all didn't wanna leave El Blanco, for Solo, couples, and family blindly chose El Blanco, me and my family really miss Mr.Adam, Shahram, Ismail, Sami and all the crew such a wonderful people my next trip with no hesitation its gonna be EL BLANCO well-done guys

Room Tip: I was Happy with my Room but I'm sure the side view rooms and Blue Mosque view will add more val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#56 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#309 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#132 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#192 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#262 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Blanco

Property: Hotel El Blanco
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:23, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at Amazing and friendly Hotel El Blanco. Hotel El Blanco Istanbul is very friendly pleasant, yet modern accommodation right in the heart of the old part of Istanbul.Hotel El Blanco Istanbul Istanbul is situated in the historic center of Sultanahmet, the heart of Istanbul and Constantinople. You can easily visit most of the wonderful attractions our beautiful city holds host to!Hotel El Blanco Istanbul is centrally located in the Old City, only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, St.Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the Hippodrome and the other tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel El Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing