We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Istanbul”
Review of Adahan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adahan Istanbul
Ranked #55 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We took a suite with two bed rooms with the biggest size. It was our first visit to Istanbul for the 13th Biennial.

The room is spacious with modern facilities and toiletries. The bed, sheet and blanket quality is great. It would be much better if the hotel provides a complete set of kitchenette facilities as we only found a microwave and small refrigerator.

Something special with this hotel is everything is designed by the owners. Somehow, we can meet them every morning. Very humble couple. The lounge and breakfast is on the top floor where we can see the old city view. We always start our morning with smile and happiness.

The variety of the breakfast is awesome!! It is served by heart and love. The staffs are very humble and helpful, exactly like the owners.

The location is simply great. Easy to reach shopping areas, museums and other historical sites.

Room Tip: The hotel does not support wheel chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNT1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed while in Istanbul for a conference. There are some very small but functional rooms and larger rooms. The smaller room which I stayed in was perfectly adequate for my needs as I was traveling solo. The breakfast, served on their rooftop restaurant, was very nice. Fresh breads, cheeses, cereals, homemade jams, fresh orange juice, coffee/tea and some vegatables. There were little pancakes which were served with a sesame/grape syrup - amazing.

The area is hopping on weekend evenings. Some rooms can hear the music from the clubs from up the street, but my room was reasonably sheltered from the noise. The front staff is generally helpful - some speak English better than others, and I think the evening staff are a little more chatty.

The hotel is close to the large pedestrian street that takes you to Taksim (1.5km). Many restaurants, bars, and clubs around. In the evening on the weekend, hard to get a cab to take you right to the door due to the volume of traffic, but they can get you within walking distance (<200m) quite easily and drop you off.

There are steeps and small stairs from the room to the lobby/check in area. Not suitable for older individuals with mobility issues and definitely not wheelchair friendly.

The Sishane metro stop is less than 1min away walking. Very convenient to get to Taksim. To get to the old town (where most of the tourist stuff is), you need to take the funicular down to the Galata bridge area and take the tram. The funicular stop is 1 block uphill from the hotel - again very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel came as a complete surprise. We booked it last minute as we found we had an unplanned night in Istanbul. The hotel is great. The people are very nice and the rooms are massive with a beautiful bathroom and nice and spacious. I love the minimal look and that was one of the appeals to me of this hotel but a bit of artwork in the rooms would have been a nice touch, but I do realise that the hotel is very new and not complete. The restaurant on the roof was a really nice area, but the brekky a bit average - not enough choice. Would definitely stay here again as loved the hotel and the area is in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We made a last minute switch to this hotel as Conde Nast placed it on its 2013 Hot List. Although the cheapest room cost more than bigger rooms in nearby hotels (Marmara Pera, Misafir 8), we had high hopes considering Conde Nast said all rooms were spacious. That is absolutely not true. Our first room was so tiny and had minimal light. The bathroom resembled something you'd find on an airplane. We asked to be moved to a bigger room and were forced to pay an extra 15 euro a night - the bigger room is what you see on Conde Nast and the hotel website. The base room is never shown on the hotel website. So we ended up paying considerably more than what we could have at another hotel.

The hotel front desk staff was beyond rude and seemed annoyed most of the time. One guy repeatedly did not even say hello when you walked by the desk. He could not be bothered to look up from whatever was occupying his interest on the Internet. I have traveled a lot and the hotel front desk staff (except for the manager who gave my husband lemon to ease the pain of tear gas in the eyes) was the worst I have ever experienced.

When we arrived in Istanbul, it happened to be in the midst of a riot. Our cab driver dropped us off down the hill and told us to go up a hill. Not sure where to go and getting caught in the middle of police tear gas, we called the hotel. Their English was so bad they could not help us find the hotel and did not come outside to find us. Mind you we were carrying two large suitcases up hills and in the middle of protest crowds, police, and tear gas. I felt scared for my safety and the hotel staff was useless. We found protection at one point in another hotel's office who welcomed us in. Meanwhile, our hotel's staff let us fend for ourselves.

I will say that the terrace was beautiful and the breakfast was quite good. However, that is not enough to compensate for the misleading hotel pictures and rude staff.

Room Tip: Do not select a standard room. You will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetotravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We only stayed there one night but it was good. The room was spacious and I loved the bathroom. The hotel is minimalist but very nice and has a classic but modern feel at the same time. Beautiful old building. The rooftop restaurant/bar has a wonderful terrace with an incredible view of the Bosphorus and the old city on the other side. It's majical at night with all of the landmarks lit up. Very convenient area with more restaurant choices than the other end of Istiklal street toward Taksim Square. The bed was not the most comfortable but for one night it was not a big deal. The hotel staff was not very super helpful but I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpyles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

i was recently on a three day conference and the organiser booked this hotel so not sure about cost. There were around 20 of us so the meeting rooms on the ground floor worked really well. staff dont speak great english but were quite helpful. we also had a comany managing our conference so they organised everything. My room was very large with windws on two aspect including a balcony. due to the built up nature of the rea it can get a bit noisy outside particularly as there is quite a bit of building going on. the hotel has a rooftop bar which also serves breakfast so the views are pleasant. breakfast isnt up to much though.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were in Istanbul in March to attend the Istanbul Tango Festival. Our group of 7 had many different requirements (therefore many, many changes) and Lale and Kerem went all the way out to ensure that the rooms fit our needs. Lale even travelled to the Tango organising office which was across the bridge, to ensure that she could give us directions on how to get there when we arrived in Istanbul. Kerem walked us to the top of the road to show us directions to the money changer in spite of him being disturbed during his breakfast! Both of them were what make the hotel super special. But it would be good if the night reception staff have better knowlege of English.
Modern necessities in a beautifully restored building (though climbing the stairs to the lobby with heavy luggages was a strain!). Loved the rooftop terrace; very romantic. Wonderful view of the main attractions. We wished we could tangoed more into the night - but it was cold then!!!
Breakfast was fresh; service good. Great place! Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADAHANHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at Adahan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear our guest,

It is been a long time you are in our Adahan, but we are still here and we will be very happy if we can host you in our Adahan on your next trips. Thank you for your lovely comment. We are verry happy to meet you,
Best wishes, Adahan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
262 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
696 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#115 of 1,163 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#193 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adahan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adahan Istanbul

Address: Asmali Mescit Mah. General Yazgan Sok. No:14 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adahan Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADAHAN ISTANBUL simply graceful, purely timelessHoused in a charmingly restored, 1874 - grand apartment building in the very heart of the historic and chic Galata district, ADAHAN ISTANBUL truly redefines the Istanbul experience for our spirited guests. The building itself, the recent restoration, and the interior decor are neat, graceful, and respectful - so are the staff and the hotel's management philosophy. Guests stay in 40 individually refurbished living quarters, enjoying the timeless purity of custom designed wooden furniture and floors; cotton curtains, linen, and pillows; olive-oil soaps, and many other amenities.ADAHAN ISTANBUL's unique interior design reflecting its "respect for the natural and the pure" continues in the building's public areas such as the parlor floor, meeting rooms, and the lounges.ADAHAN ISTANBUL is a neat, sophisticated, warmly comfortable and joyful place in a great location . Enjoy the new definition of experiencing Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adahan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing