We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great staff, good value”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #32 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Great hospitality: Ismail and his wife Tülay are best managers/owners we met in every respect, and the whole staff is really nice folks. Design: loved the moderately decorated and very tasteful interior. Perfect cleanness. Location: close to the sights must see (Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Basilica cistern etc. within 5-15 min. walk), still it is quiet (almost no traffic in the narrow street in the front). Also loved: the bed that was sooo comfortable, bottles of fresh water provided every day in the room, nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atimatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

The owners of the Oba Hotel are a young, dynamic couple. They are the most friendly persons I've ever met and always smiling as well as the other hotel staff.
2 weeks ago, I stayed in the Oba Hotel for 7 nights with my husband and our 2-year old daughter. We arrived on Sunday evening at about 8pm and the hotel owner was present to give us a warm welcome with some nice home made limonade. He gave us a lot of information about what to see, where to go for dinner etc. and he even lent us his tram pass (rechargeable card for public transport). The hotel itself is very cosy, the decoration is lovely and the rooms are very well cleaned. The breakfast is very good and they serve even nice home made cookies and cake! With only 10 rooms and the owners always present to answer every question, you really feel like home and you're treated as a person and not as a number (a feeling that you might have when staying in a big hotel that is part of a chain for example).
The reason why I wanted to stay in the Oba Hotel is first of all because of the good reviews that you find on several websites and second of all for its location. It is only 15min. away from the Blue Mosque, Haya Sophia and other important places of interest. The hotel is also situated in a small street, so not much traffic at all. As this was our first time in Istanbul and as we didn't had the opportunity to visit everything we wanted to visit, we will surely come back and choose again for the Oba Hotel. Thank you Ismail, Tulya and all other staff for a wonderful stay in your hotel!
Sunita, Noun and Souhaila

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunita577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Among all the hotels visited before, and they were not few, Oba hotel had a great impact on us, and holds lots of memories.
Before entering the lobby of this charming ottoman house, we connected, in a way, with the locals: we played football with kids on the street, communicated through sign language and the international language that never fails: smiles.

The minute we entered the lobby, it was very warm and welcoming with its smooth colors and setting. Tulay and Ismail, owners and managers of the hotel, made us feel at home, at ease and special. Throughout our stay, we never made it on time for breakfast, but they never failed  us (mainly our stomachs) and prepared a yummy bite for us with their delicious homemade cakes and cookies. They arranged transportation and airport shuttle and made reservations at places they visit with their families (so somehow we didn't feel like visitors at all). They were excellent guides, taking care of us in minor details. 

Luckily for us, we had the opportunity to stay in a room in each of the hotel four floors. And in each, the experience was different and unique. The rooms are cozy, very clean, well designed, fresh and warm.

Our favorite is the room in the fourth floor: smokers and non smokers, you will love it. We had this crazy idea to make our own smoking area: sneak out of the room through a small window, put a towel ( you will need it because of the seagulls:p) on some sort of a rooftop, prepare a cup of tea and enjoy the amazing view of Istanbul with a special background music, complementary of the seagulls. 

Tulai and Ismail, thank you for your hospitality. We tried your cookies recipe and, unfortunately for us, it did not taste the same. But fortunately for you, we are coming back, and not leaving before nailing the recipe:) 
We are preparing Turkish coffee every other day with your "coffee pot", cheers from Lebanon.

We strongly recommend this hotel, no matter how high your expectations, they will be exceeded at Oba hotel. 

Jessy&Ramona

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We decided to stay at Oba Hotel due to the positive reviews we read on TripAdvisor (and due to its central location). Most reviewers had given it a 5-star rating. We arrived with high expectations and our expectations were surpassed. We also rate Oba 5 stars. The rooms are clean, and beautifully and comfortably furnished. Noise from other rooms was not a problem for us (until the sound-proofing is completed, lighter sleepers may want to carry earplugs -- wherever traveling and lodging). The complementary breakfast is great! The husband-wife hotelier team (who have hotel experience in the USA) and their staff are very kind and helpful. Not a big, impersonal corporate hotel -- it's a small, boutique hotel where the owner gives personal attention to guests (even bakes cake for them). At Oba you are hosted by special people who also regard you as special. The location is great: in a quiet, authentic corner of the Sultanahmet district, with quaint, charming streets -- out of the bustle of tourism, but only a few minutes walk to major tourist destinations, like the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, etc. Many restaurants nearby. Excellent value. Kudos for what Ismail and Tulay have created through their much effort and care. We hope that a room at Oba Hotel is available the next time we visit Istanbul!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed one night at Oba Hotel after a 2 day tour and it was lovely. The entrance is a bit obscure - I'm not sure that I would have found it if hadn't have been driven straight there, but the location is good. Very close to the Blue Mosque and other sights. The interior is more like a very nice B&B, and the room was much better than the more expensive hotel I had stayed in before my tour. Bathroom is nice, there are tea making facilities in the room, and breakfast is good. I'm definitely coming back here if I get back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Oba Hotel was a welcome oasis at the tail end of a two week trip across Turkey (Istanbul, Bodrum, Selcuk\Ephesus, Pamukkale, & Cappadocia). The hotel is centrally located withing easy walking distance to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, and Cemberlitas Hamami. Service was excellent! Ismail, the hotel manager and co-owner, was a great host; his years of experience in the hotel and hospitality industry abroad was well evidenced. He and his staff were of great help to this weary traveler in making arrangements for taxis and restaurant reservations and the airport shuttle. Other items of note: wi-fi was good. Breakfast was great. Tea was always available (apple tea in particular was my favorite).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel has a great central location and great hosts! Location allow to see some of the gems of Istanbul in walking distance. Even after nice late evening experience in Cemberlitas Hammam you can walk down to the hotel just in 7 min. Ismail is a great host. Friends of mine stay there 4 days and it always feels that we are guest of Ismail. All advices how to reach, where to find and what to do are given, tea is always offered. He helps a lot to explore the city and enjoy it on its maximum. One of my friends lost herself in the tiny streets of Istanbul and Ismail came to pick her up and show the way back "almost home". Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#71 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#91 of 1,160 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £12 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing