We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in great city”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We came to Istanbul to celebrate friend's birthday in June and stayed at OBA for 4 nights. We liked everything. Ismail and his wife Tulay are very kind, attentive to guests problems, helpful, speak very good English, can help in solving any issue - calmly, politely and with smile on their face. Hotel is small and very cosy. It's located just few steps fro Kucuk Ayasofia Camii righ in the middle of quiet residential street - you can see neghbours having chat, kids playing and lot of cats running around - very nice atmosphere. There is a nice park nearby and small restaurant district with good selection of places nearby. You can walk nearly anywhere in Sultanahmet, the tram is also not far awya. Breakfast is quite good, there is alwyas fresh bread, fruit and homemade bisquits or pies and something hot to fill up your morning. Rooms and hotel itself is new and very clean. Everything works well. Furniture is quite tastful, beds are spotless. The small signs of attention like flowers and fruit on a birthday afternoon or lukum before night sleep, minibar and little fairwell gift from Tulay were very appreciated. Extremely good stay. Thank you Ismail and Tulay! We will come back.

Room Tip: great service at value for money price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank olgoshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Oba Hotel was our home-away-from-home for a week. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes away from the Blue Mosque (uphill walk, but with nice view towards the water).
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The owners do no live at the B&B, but they are there during the day. There is always staff around, should you arrive late or need anything during the night. The breakfast was very generous (many cheese sorts, fruits, excellent coffee).
The owners prepared Turkish coffee for us one afternoon when we were still jet-lagged. Ismail bought apple tea at wholesale price for us so we would take it home. Great hospitality!
Kumkapi is relatively close to the Oba Hotel. Dinner at a meyhane in Kumkapi on a Friday or Saturday night is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toucanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Oba hotel is the perfect place to go if you are planning a family trip. Location is right next to the historical area, and if you were to go anywhere far, transport will be organized for you by Oba management. Speaking of management, Ismail and Tualy Caliskan are the best B&B owners you will ever come across anywhere. They are extremely helpful, very friendly. They helped us organise an itinerary for the 6 days we stayed in Istanbul, and are willing to plan trips that go beyond Istanbul for you! Like I said, whenever w needed anything at all they provided everything, including setting up the transport and group tours.
Regarding Oba itself, it didnt dissapoint at alll. It was very clean, very cosy and homey. It is placed in a dense neighbourhood, but very charming atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d_alkandarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Oba hotel is not actually a hotel, it is one of the rare kind of real bead and breakefast style. The ones where you never meet with stiff and unfriendly stuff but with helpful hosts. Thus if you dont like being inturupted they are never too pushy or talkative, the thing i appreciate as well. I loved the plentiful breakefast that changed slisghtly every day so as not to bore our plalate. The unpeccably cleaned rooms after each day need to be underlined as well. All in all you just cant be disapponited with this one. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Cheers to its two lovely hosts.

Room Tip: higher floors, as the only inconvinience here is noices from rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Well positionned in the Sultanahmet. 5mins walk to the main place in the famous old city between Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque.
The staff (owners) is really great and always ready to help/advice.
Accomodation is good, a old 3 floors house converted into a hotel - no elevator though.

The Hotel proposes a private taxi to/from Ataturk airport for 20€ - good deal from my prospective.

Room Tip: Charming view: 3rd floor at the rear of the Hotel - you can see a small Mosque and you will hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momitsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Great hospitality: Ismail and his wife Tülay are best managers/owners we met in every respect, and the whole staff is really nice folks. Design: loved the moderately decorated and very tasteful interior. Perfect cleanness. Location: close to the sights must see (Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Basilica cistern etc. within 5-15 min. walk), still it is quiet (almost no traffic in the narrow street in the front). Also loved: the bed that was sooo comfortable, bottles of fresh water provided every day in the room, nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atimatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The owners of the Oba Hotel are a young, dynamic couple. They are the most friendly persons I've ever met and always smiling as well as the other hotel staff.
2 weeks ago, I stayed in the Oba Hotel for 7 nights with my husband and our 2-year old daughter. We arrived on Sunday evening at about 8pm and the hotel owner was present to give us a warm welcome with some nice home made limonade. He gave us a lot of information about what to see, where to go for dinner etc. and he even lent us his tram pass (rechargeable card for public transport). The hotel itself is very cosy, the decoration is lovely and the rooms are very well cleaned. The breakfast is very good and they serve even nice home made cookies and cake! With only 10 rooms and the owners always present to answer every question, you really feel like home and you're treated as a person and not as a number (a feeling that you might have when staying in a big hotel that is part of a chain for example).
The reason why I wanted to stay in the Oba Hotel is first of all because of the good reviews that you find on several websites and second of all for its location. It is only 15min. away from the Blue Mosque, Haya Sophia and other important places of interest. The hotel is also situated in a small street, so not much traffic at all. As this was our first time in Istanbul and as we didn't had the opportunity to visit everything we wanted to visit, we will surely come back and choose again for the Oba Hotel. Thank you Ismail, Tulya and all other staff for a wonderful stay in your hotel!
Sunita, Noun and Souhaila

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunita577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,176 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#518 of 1,176 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,176 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#10 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,176 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £19 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing