We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay....”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay....”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at Oba hotel. The people were very warm especially Ismail, who provided us with all the information about Istanbul we needed. It is about 15 mins walk from all the major attractions in the Sultanahmet area and yet has very quite surroundings. We found it value for money and would definitely consider for any future travel to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishRathi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    119
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
159
308
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We loved our stay at the Oba Hotel. It was just minutes from the beautiful Blue Mosque, but adjacent a smaller, yet still magnificent Sinan mosque. It was also convenient to walk to the tram and the grand bazaar. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The breakfast was delicious every morning and the hospitality could not be beat. One small consideration- there is no elevator, so you'll get a bit of exercise if on the 4th floor!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shameema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalova
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After comparing alot various hotel's in the area online I settled on Oba Hotel and was extremely happy with my decision. The room was excellent. Great location, only a short walk away from Istanbul's historical attractions. We had great service from all staff. Will definitely stay at Oba Hotel on my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I spent 2 nights at Oba Hotel and the words that come to mind are warmth and hospitality. I went by the high reviews in picking this hotel and I was happy to have done so. Right from the moment of my reservation to my check out, Ismail was attentive, responsible and prompt (ask him to arrange the airport pick up and drop off, totally worth it; he can also arrange other travel plans).
If you are looking for a big hotel experience, this is not for you. HOWEVER, if you want to experience staying in an Istanbul residential area, experience the true warmth of the people of Istanbul, and have a "different and local" travel experience, this is for you. Ismail and his staff were the epitome of warmth and hospitality, which was really important for me. I read another review which said that it felt like you weren't travelling alone when staying here; that is so true. Ismail took time to talk, invited you down to his kitchen to taste his latest creation (pavlova as one of tomorrow's breakfast items) and took care of little things. It felt like coming "home" at the end of a long travel day and reminded me of my "exchange student" days so many years ago. Compounded by a clean and comfortable space, the personal experience at Oba is hands down the best I've had. Thanks Ismail and everyone; you have a special place in my memories of Istanbul!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated for the sights of Istanbul and is small, charming, well appointed and Ismail, your host, is extraordinarily helpful and knowledgeable. I spent five days there and really enjoyed it - everything the other reviews say about it are correct.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Oba for 9 days spread over 3 visits during our holiday in July/ August 2012. We loved this small stylish hotel in old Istanbul a few minutes walk from the major attractions. We agree with the previous reviews about the quality of the hotel and the hotel management. Ismail,Tulay and their staff were wonderful, helpful, and relaxed. We walked extensively in Istanbul and felt very safe. We visited during Ramadan and it was a delight to be out at night when all the families with their children came out to picnic in parks and public places. We recommend Turkey and Istanbul for a marvelous holiday and if you stay in Istanbul we recommend the Oba Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed 4 Days in the Oba hotel and I hat a great time. People there are very helpful, the rooms are tidy and clean.
I can highly recomend the plays. thank you guys, it was a superb experience.

Andreas, Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123651908190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#19 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#34 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing