We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An intimate b&b in the heart of Sultanahmet”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An intimate b&b in the heart of Sultanahmet”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in early November 2012. The interior is decorated to a high standard, and is impeccably clean. Our room, though not big, was comfortable, and, even though it overlooked the street, was quiet. Breakfast was good, with the occasional surprise being introduced by the owner. Said owner is very affable, and helpful, full of good ideas about how, and where to spend your day. We were very touched to be invited to his daughter's birthday party, on a boat - which we were unable to accept. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
Only one big grouse: insufficient soundproofing between floors and between rooms, but we understand that they will be working on this.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFloyd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    119
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
160
309
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I heard about this B&B thru a Turkish friend in Ankara. At first I was not convinced of staying at a B&B when I had other choices like the Hilton or the Crowne Plaza, but this friend told me he had great experiences there so I give it a try and I simply loved the place.

First, the owner, Ismail, answered the phone and let me know that he could arrange to have me picked up by a car instead of taking a cab. Upon my arrival at 8:30am, they offer me free complimentary breakfast. After the breakfast, they explained to me that my room was not ready but they could hold the luggage in a safe place and give me a map with attractions. I only had 48 hrs for Istanbul, so I had to make the most of my trip. He offered to book a tour for the next day. First day he recommended me some nearby attractions, and by nearby I meant very, very close. the blue mosque was just about a 5 minute walk, the grand bazar also just a 5 minutes walk. So I could go, buy things at the Bazar and come back to store my new purchases.

Every guest was very nice to me, some newly weds were staying there too.

Highly recommendable. Next time I'm in Istanbul will be for just a day coming in a cruise but defiantly will stop by just to say hi to those guys.

Fabian de la Fuente

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre, it is a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

very nice renovated and good hotel in the old city. The rooms are small (bathroom is for one person at the time) because it is in a old Ottomaans house, the rooms are also a bit noisy.. But the rooms are very comfortable and good equipped, The beds are very good.
The owners are very helpful to organise the airport shuttle or organize excursions.
The breakfast is for Turkish standards good.

when we go back to Istanbul we will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryHelmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Very nice and clean hotel, good breakfast and very very comfortable bed. Just was little bit noise from outside, but as Istanbul very old city, it´s always like this and ofcourse it´s not a hotel problem. Very friendly staff. I have seen many hotels, this one was very good option. Thank you for my stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My boyfriend and I had a perfect first stay at the Oba Hotel and will definitively come back soon!
The location is great if you don't know the city and want to discover its highlights just walking through its historical center.
The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The stuff is very helpful, nice and they helped us with the airport transfer.
I can definitively recommend the Oba Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessiazuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After being to Istanbul many times on business this was my trip to Istanbul with my wife. This is a lovely hotel - great location - very nice and welcoming people. It is relaxing, very clean and nothing is too much trouble for the owners - would definitely go back

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We came for a city trip with our 17-month old daughter and 5 other adult friends. The location of the hotel was great because we could come with public transport and see the sights by foot in two days. It is renovated and extremely clean (I remember the smell of the fabric softener after the room was made), has all amenities you need (TV, WiFi, AC&central heating "rainforest" tap in the shower, kettle with tea&coffee, minibar, complimentary water etc.), firm beds. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and amicable, everyone was infatuated by our little girl and gave her toys, drinks etc. Similar things happened out in the town. We had a great experience in Istanbul and would highly recommend this hotel - a definite winner.

Room Tip: Even though it's renovated, it's typical Ottoman mansion - top floors are better to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srđan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing