We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't ask for more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked our stay at Oba Hotel, but because of a gas line problem nearby we could only stay 1 night. I have to say we have travelled a bit, but never have we found anyone as helpful, or efficient and friendly as Ismail. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he has a great sense of humour. It was to our great disappointment that we couldn't stay more than the 1 night, the room was gorgeous, and immaculately clean. The location is sensational, walking distance to everything. If you are thinking of staying in Istanbul, you will not be disappointed with the Oba and Ismail, I know we weren't.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your nice review.

Hope to serve you in the near future.

Cheers,

Tulay and Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    118
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
154
301
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Unfortunately we could not stay in Oba Hotel due to a gas line problem in the street of the hotel. The owner of the hotel, Ismail, informed us about the problem one day before our departure and arranged our stay at another hotel in the neighbourhood. On top he offered us a free transfer from the airport to the hotel. He also visited us in the new hotel and gave us a lot of insider tipps about Istanbul.
We cannot rate the hotel but the location of it is perfect, only a few minutes walk away from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and other places of interest in Istanbul! We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the owner and we recommend to book this hotel!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerhild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
That's very kind to have a review from you.

We hope you to serve and make you happy at our hotel in the near future.

You may feel here staying at your own house in Istanbul.

Please keep in touch,

Tulay and Ismail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The owner Ismail helps you all he can and gives you good sightseeing tips. The location is near to the main attractions, but is not in a salubrious neighbourhood. Far from it, but if you want to see typical life, then rooms on the front will show you that. The families sit out on the roadside, eating and chatting, with the children playing alongside as there are no gardens or yards at the back of the properties. Rooms at the back look onto a car wash, which starts between 8-9am, probably depending on business turning up. I took wax earplugs and was not disturbed by the noise. All the floors are wooden so you hear everything. That fact has been pointed out many times on reviews. We walked around in our socks, but the wooden floors do creak and there is little that can be done about that. There is a call to prayer around 5am, but that’s to be expected in Istanbul. Yes, it’s on a hill, but there are plenty of hills in Istanbul. The Oba is painted turquoise and stands out from the other buildings. The once adjoining building has now been completely demolished and the road consists of poor tenement housing. You certainly see typical life there.

Breakfast is fine, although there are no herbal or green teas, just black tea or coffee. The reception, lounge and breakfast seating are all in one L-shaped area. There is seating at breakfast for just 12 persons although there are 10 rooms, 2 of which are triple, so 22 occupancy. Hence, at full occupancy, breakfast is a waiting game. One morning we were there a couple had their breakfast seated on the sofas.

Our room 202, had tea-making facilities (no milk), air-con and comfortable beds. We had only one bedside table as the room was not very big and there was a lack of drawer space. The wardrobe was large, but only had 4 hangers and no drawers. However, there was a safe. Bedlinen was supposedly changed daily, but this was not the case during our stay of 9 nights. No alcohol licence, although our room had a fridge with soft drinks. A bottle of water was provided free of charge daily. Unfortunately the shower from the upstairs room leaked into our shower. There is a problem with the poor foundations of the house and you feel for the owner, but perhaps the project was not sufficiently researched before renovation. The floors are wooden and it is a wonderful building, but it also has many structural problems due to its age and building methods.

We paid in cash in Euros, which worked out slightly cheaper. On the whole we found Istanbul very interesting, but not cheap. Prices have dramatically increased over the last few years. We generally ate in restaurants which did not serve alcohol. That way they were more authentic and were frequented more by the locals and were also cheaper. Actually 5 days would have been more than sufficient – we stayed 9 nights. The food was good, but after a few days it became rather repetitive. The fish restaurants were good, but beware of all the cover charges and extras that suddenly appear on your bill at the end of your meal.

The sights were fantastic. Many long queues for the main sights, even at the start of the day. The Basilica cistern is a must. We only saw a small part of Topkapi Palace as there were queues everywhere, i.e. even once inside the palace. Buy an electronic card from the kiosk rather than getting the tokens for the tram. We visited the biggest of the Princes’ Islands, Buyukada, but although it had some lovely big old plantation style mansions, most of the buildings were greatly in need of repair. The place had a feeling of a bygone era. We didn’t bother with the long arduous one hour walk up to the monastery, but just mouched about. However, the boat trip along the Bosphorus was very enjoyable (choose the longer one). For both trips depart from Kabatas ‘Adalar İskelesi' dock and there the tickets are extremely cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainhamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your long nice review.

When you compare the other countries Istanbul is still cheap and rich with food and culture.
We hope you come back again to visit more places and taste more of Turkish kitchen.
Every region in Turkey has a rich kitchen especially the South east and East Turkey, may be you visit next time the other parts as well.

Here, it is a wooden house, an old house restored as Konak. Sometimes we had problems
with leaking but Ismail always fixed it afterwards.

We try doing our best to serve and make our guests happy here. Some of them came back few times to stay here or they sent their families/friends here after their first visit. Our hotel business is only for a year now.

With the reviews we would go better and better.
When you need help or information about Istanbul/Turkey please get in touch with us directly.
info@goturkeytours.com
info@obahotel.com

Thank you indeed,

Tulay AYDIN CALISKAN (Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalten, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Oba Hotel. We had a nice time. The staff was very hospitable and made us feel welcome and at home. It's a small hotel but with good facilities, clean and very close to the highlights of Istanbul. We got a lot of advice where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was very good and with a lot of fresh ingredients, hot and cold. Transfer from and to the airport was arranged. Istanbul is a city build on hills. So when you want to see something, so now and then you have to climb a slope.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit1189893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hello,

We are glad to here that you liked staying here and enjoyed your Istanbul visit.

Thank you for your review.

That's very kind of you...

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our experience at Oba Hotel was not as we expected when reading other travelers reviews. The location is close to main touristic places of Sultanahmed, and that is why we assumed the far from cheap price. But it is not as conveniently situated as other hotels around. The almost vertical slope that leads to Oba Hotel is really though to climb up carrying luggage through narrow and dark lanes with gravel pavement. However, all this seemed to be offset with the clean and new refurbished interior that manages to isolate yourself from the exterior environment once you are inside. To be honest, a bit cold at night in cold days because heaters were off. We had a good start with a very nice guy that seemed to be British (pale, blonde and fluent English). He offered us a tea with biscuits, he made any effort to make us feel we had someone who supported us in there, and he even change money that very first night. Unfortunately, he apparently took the weekend off and we only saw him again on Monday before leaving. In the meantime, there was another guy who was nothing but unhelpful. He didn´t want to change money when we asked for it, and when we gave him a smelly coat for dry cleaning (a street cat peed on it while hanging on a chair at a restaurant, beware of cats!) he simply put it in a cupboard and the nice blonde guy found it in the same state on Monday morning when checking out. Two days after! He was embarrassed and as astonished as we were when we realized that we had to put it inside our case to dry clean back at home, after two days walking around with no coat. Next time in Istanbul we´ll stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wafry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hello sir,
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry for your disappointments.
I examined the situation and questioned the employee.
When I asked to the employee, he told me that it was Sunday when you asked for dry cleaning.
He called the laundry next to you and Laundry man told him that dry cleaning service is closed on Sundays. He explained you that it is closed on Sunday even it is opened that would not possible to clean the coat till next morning because your check out was on Monday, the following day. After this explanation you said him that was okay. And the employee gave you a big black bag for your coat. You thanked him then.

Changing/exchanging money, when we have not enough money in cash we tell our guests that we do not. Sorry about that.

I think that you stayed in Spring time, it was not cold then we had sometimes rain and little bit windy days. Main heater might off on some days when it is warm enough but we have air condition in the rooms which give cool or hot weather. We wish you would use it. Also, we had quilts on the beds till May second week.

We wish you to inform us before in order to help you and make you happy, here.

We have a little hill it is about 100 meters to the up right or left Sultanahmet. Istanbul has built on hills. That is how it is as you know...

We hope you to serve in the near future to make you happier.

Thank you for your critiques.
We try to serve better and better…

Regards,

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Pros:
Nice rooms with a comfrotable bed
Breakfast was good
Staff are so nice and helpful made us feel like home and they speak excellent english
Very clean
Perfect location nearby all attractions

Cons:
Some rooms are really small
Walls are thin and u cant go loud
Hard to Find by taxi

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houmam_Haya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review.

As you know, because it is an old ottoman wooden house, it is impossible to avoid of voice 100%.
But in the following year, we will try to find an isolation solution but it will not be so easy,
we should make a renovation in rooms again.

It is a new restored hotel for a year now. We will go better and better with our guests helps.

3 of the rooms are triple rooms and have 25 meter square, each.
Top floor rooms have 18-20 meter squares. Only two of them are like that.They are normal sized rooms for Sultanahmet region. These roof rooms are cute and have a different look and ambiance by their selves.

Hope you to see you again amongst to us....

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent two nights at the Oba hotel, which is more like a warm, friendly guest house in a quiet neighborhood close to the Blue Mosque. The rooms were clean, comfortable and inviting with nice touches like Turkish Delight and free water. The staff is wonderful. We had stayed in another hotel the previous night and needed to transfer our luggage. David from Oba came with us the help us carry and navigate the Istanbul streets. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruits, yogurt, baked goods, etc. I would definitely book the Oba on my next trip to Istanbul

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing