We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with incredible hosts!”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hard to think of a better place to stay in Istambul. Location is EXCELLENT: a short walk to the Blue Mosk/Hagia Sofia/Topkapi Palace and to Sultanahmet tram station. Cozy, nicely decorated hotel. Very comfortable rooms with newly renovated bathroom. EXQUISITE, ABUNDANT breakfast with all the best Turkish goodies/delicacies. And best of all, full-time advice, assistance, hospitality, and friendship from the hosts and owners of the hotel, Ismael and Tulay. We miss them already as well as their two wonderful daughters who have won over the heart of our little daughter Clara. And for those of you who might concerned about security in Istambul, we felt pretty safe the entire time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel is wonderful -- great rooms, very conveniently located for all major Sultanahmet sites. Ismael arranged airport transportation for us, and was very helpful advising us on activities, sights and places to eat. All in all a fantastic holiday. I cannot recommend Oba Hotel strongly enough, and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Contact the owners directly for discounted rates if paying by cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for six nights in July and loved it. The place was clean and cutely decorated. The proprietors were friendly and eager to offer advice. We were not the earliest risers and they saved us breakfast each morning or called up to see if we wanted it, which was really nice. The AC worked well and the windows effectively blocked out any street noise (important when the Ramadan drummers came through in the wee hours). When we reported a slow drain on our way out one morning, it was completely fixed by the time we got back that evening. It was a less than ten minute walk to the Blue Mosque / Hippodrome area. Would happily stay here again and enthusiastically recommend it to anyone looking for a great deal on a comfortable, centrally located, friendly, family-run establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Loved staying at this family owned hotel, which used to be an old Ottoman house. The hotel is situated near the Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Agia Sofia. Close to the tram line and within walking distance to Grand Bazzar. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnKaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and family for 4 very confortable and enjoyable nights.
The hotel is actually an old Ottoman house with a lot of character and after travelling around Turkey and staying in a lot of of very common hotel rooms we loved staying here. It is kept very clean and tidy with comfortable beds and good bathrooms.
The breakfast was excellent with good service.
The area is great with close walking proximity to most monuments, also public transport.
The added bonus is the very helpful and accommodating owners Tulay and Ismail who couldnt do enough for us.
We will certainly be back .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the back courtyard for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Oba Hotel is located on a small winding street near everything! We stayed there the last 2 nights of a 2 week trip in Turkey towards the end of June. It really is near the tourist interests. Easily within walking distance of Hagia Sophia even for a woman in her 70's! Though the view from the rooms is not spectacular, it is an interesting street scene. Nice Mosque a block away. Host family is very helpful in making plans or arranging transportation. Breakfast was over the top! Over all it was a place I would return to.

Alexandra M.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The room was nice and clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom fresh and in perfect function. We enjoyed TV with BBC world news. We slept well, but would probably have slept even better if we had closed the window and started the AC instead to keep the room cold. The noice from sea gulls, cats and minaret prayers woke us up early in the morning. The breakfast contained bread, cheese, egg, fruit, vegetables, coffee, tea, juice, Turkish hot dishes, milk, cereal, sweets.... All you could desire - except yoghurt, which was a bit strange since the Turkish yoghurt is famous! The hotel owner was very friendly and helpful and immediately gave us a map and suggested a perfect sightseeing route which we followed and had a great time! The hotel personnel were always present, night and day, and ready to answer any question or provide any help! The location of the hotel near the Blue Mosque and other tourist attractions was excellent. The neighbourhood was a bit run down and the roads somewhat steep, but that was not a problem at all! In fact we were provided excellent walking excercise!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,176 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#518 of 1,176 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,176 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#10 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,176 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £19 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing