We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$352
US$337
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$261
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$402
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Empress Zoe(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$400
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$641
US$587
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
581
122
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
122
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsottoman houseold cityblue mosquehotel ownergreat hoststurkeyhagia sophiano liftsmall hotela great place to staybottled watersultanahmet districtcall to prayerspent nightsgrand bazaarhome away from homewalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Oba Hotel for 5 nights with another couple during our first trip to Istanbul. Located in a non-touristy neighborhood, this small hotel is within an easy walk to all of the attractions in Sultanhamet. Clean rooms, a modern bathroom, tasty breakfasts, and most of all two tremendous inn keepers, Ismail and Tulay, made our stay memorable. They were available 24 hours a day to see that we had everything we needed as well as assisting us with our transportation, arranging a boat trip on the Bosphorus, and making reservations for us at the Whirling Dervishes and the Aya Sofia Hammam. Never intrusive or pushy, they made the Oba Hotel a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

great hotel!! we enjoy that time in oba hotel, expecially owner was soooooo helpful!! He give me and my friend so many advice, if I will go turkey again, I definatlly will choose oba hotel again!!
这间酒店是一间老房子改造的酒店,很温馨!!老板人非常非常好!!!!他给了我和我的朋友很多建议,早餐有道菜也很好吃,我们后来又回到了伊斯坦博尔,还是选择了这件酒店,老板机会帮助我们安排了所有的行程,真的很有帮助

Room Tip: The attic room is a little small
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenyu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Oba Hotel is a very good option to stay and visit beautiful Istanbul. The owner and staff is extremely helpful, and immediately made us feel at home. They arranged restaurants for us, trips in the city, transportation in private vans from and to the airport, among other tips about good places to visit. I stayed with 2 more friends in a triple room, that was very clean and comfortable, with AC, and daily mineral water for free. Finally, its location is very convenient, because it's a 10 min walk distance from the blue mosque, Ayasofia, and tram station, but in a quiet and calm neighborhood. I definitely recommend Oba Hotel to anyone that want to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friend and I travelled to Istanbul for the first time in September. We were pleased to have Ismail, the owner, give us the scoop on must-sees and even walked us around the corner to help us order some Turkish food since we arrived later in the evening and didn't feel like going out for a big dinner.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and had very nice bathrooms and the breakfast was good. We ordered eggs each morning. Great tasting coffee too!

Great location and close to metro line and major tourist sites in the Old City. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We (me and my wife) loved this charming place.
Placed in a uncommon area (not easy to find the first time) for hotels you can feel the old Istanbul part and observe the daily activities of the neighborood.
It's anyway very close to the Blue Mosque (5/10 minutes walking) and the others most visited spots. You can easily visit from here the whole Old Town area by walking.

Ismail, the owner and manager, is a great host. He speaks fluently english, he knows well his town and manages taxi transfers, boat cruises etc... So just ask him for any information and he will help you.
His wife and the rest of the staff are all very nice.

The hotel is very cute. Small and quite. All aspects are well designed and rooms are clean and well equipped. We felt at home.

Unfortunatly there's no view and the washing-car nearby is not the most suitable thing to have close.
But, as told, staying at Oba Hotel you can live the daily life of the area.
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilbiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews