We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined us for other B&Bs”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The only reason I wouldn't recommend Oba is that I don't want it to be booked solid the next time I go to Istanbul. But everything about it was great. The staff were all friendly, accommodating, and helpful, the breakfast was great, the location was quaint and quiet (but be warned, there is a mosque nearby and they will call you to prayer early, so bring earplugs, but c'mon, that's just part of Turkish charm and personality) but close to beautiful city sites. We walked everywhere, we ate well on the recommendation of the owner, we found places we'd never have found on our own, and at the end of the day we slept very well in our comfy European-sized beds (do be clear about your bed needs, because booking.com messed it up for us and that caused some confusion at first, but again, the staff were amazing and took care of it like professionals do).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lblancq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you are looking for a no frills B&B which is run by a super friendly husband and wife team, then look no further. My wife and I stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Top location in the old part of town and very comfortable beds. The highlight however is the welcoming hospitality of the owner/managers and their willingness to recommend some of the less known attractions in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelchin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Oba Hotel is situated in the heart of Istanbul. This is a family-run hotel with a local understanding that will surpass any more "mainstream" hotel.

The prices are more than reasonable, especially for what you are getting in terms of travel advice, meals, spacious rooms, close vicinity, etc.

I will be back again soon and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Thank you again for a wonderful week in Istanbul.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked 4 nights in Oba Hotel from 7 to 11 oct 2013. Overall, we were more than happy with our hotel choice and with Istanbul in general.

Location:
- The hotel is situated 5 mins walk to the Blue Mosque, 7-10 mins walk to the Grand Bazar, right in the heart of Sultanahmet district yet far from the city traffic and noise, on a quiet side street.
- A bit hard to find on the first day but we asked a couple of people and found it without using any map or gps - it's not rocket science
- There is inded a steep hill as you exit the hotel and head to the station but this is less than 50 metes.

The room: we stayed in 201, i had a chance to also see 202 and 203. They are spacious rooms - we fel wonderful. Very clean hotel and room, cleaning happens every day (including change of towels, etc).

Breakfast: quite basic, but we did find what we needed - eggs, omlette, hams, cheeses, cereal, fruits, sweets, vegetables.

The atmosphere is very homey - the hotel is an old mansion with living room downstairs and rooms upstairs. Did have the feeling of familiar place.

Now some little things that matter made the difference for us:
- One night before our arrival Ismail contacted us to see wether we would like twin or double bed - a nice touch just before the vacantion
- There are slippers in the rooms - nice surprise in a bed and breakfast
- Very god sleep quality - matress, pillows + clean every day
- Every day they put in the rooms small turkish delights and water in the minibar which is complimentary
- Coming back from long wals we found fruits, water, tea on the house waiting for us in the loby area and a nice smile from Ismail who always had a good piece of advice for the next day
- Last day when we left with the luggage uphill the lady in the hotel came running after us... she brought some waters thinking we may need it for the road - again a nice human touch
- Wi fi connection was very good even in the room


Additional to the above we really appreciated the help of Ismail who took time in taking us through a detailed description of the city, gave us some good tips...

We would recommed this hotel to anyone - friends, family but just to level expectations this is a bed and breakfast. If your type of hotel is Radisson / 5 stars big breakfast rooms, new modern style, high tech - just don't choose Oba. It is a hotel for those who whish to experience Istanbul in a spotless clean, cozy atmosphere.

Room Tip: we stayed in 201 - spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Only small problem with this hotel is lack of soundproofing.
Everything else is just great. The owner is a true host, staff is very helpful. Very clean room, nice breakfast, great location, free WiFi in the rooms, comfortable beds... Transfer service from and to airport was good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mladen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'll just pitch in to the chorus of Oba praise, because it's an excellently managed, beautiful and welcoming hotel. Rooms are furnished with great attention to detail, down to the selection of sweets and flavored teas/coffee in each room. All the facilities are new and working. Excellent breakfast in the mornings! After checking into a cozy attic room for two we were surprisingly upgraded to a triple room, more spacious and cushy – a very graceful touch on the part of the hosts, for which we thank them again! The location is superb, in a small lane next to a gorgeous old mosque, equally close to tourist sites and popular restaurants uphill, and a very real and lived-in neighborhood downhill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed every moment at the Oba Hotel. The owners are gracious, lovely people. Most of the guests come to Istanbul frequently and always stay at the Oba because of the hospitality, location, comfortable rooms, and good food. We felt fortunate to be in the company of professors, artists, and business people from all over the world and will maintain friendships with those we met over a glass of wine in the hotel dining area. The Oba is just a few blocks away from Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, the bazaar, and more. We plan to return to Istanbul and stay at the Oba!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#25 of 1,173 in Istanbul
857 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,173 in Istanbul
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#9 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,036 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#838 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £16 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing