We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“As if staying with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As if staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Oba Hotel is a lovingly restored Istanbul house in the heart of Istanbul, retaining its old charm but with all modern amenities. The Hotel is close to all main tourist attraction but at the same time in a lived in quarter of the city. From the moment we were welcomed into the hotel we felt at home. The rooms are bright and airy and nicely furnished. The beds are comfortable with crisp white bedding. The bathroom is of a good size and provided with toileteries and a good hairdyer. The room has tea and coffee facilities and a safe. The host and staff are very friendly and give you all the help you need. The breakfast is very good. We felt as if we were staying with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgette_Saliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    118
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
153
298
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is excellently located a few minutes walk from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

The hotel itself is welcoming, comfortable, has good facilities and is good value.

The breakfasts are excellent and substantial and the staff are informative and happy to provide recommendations for restaurants and trips without pushing any commission-based tours etc

We would use again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATWIED2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I found this place on Trip Advisor and found that all the positives reviews were spot on!! Ishmael and his staff run an excellent operation. The rooms and dining area were very clean and the staff was very polite and knowledgeable of the local attractions and dining. I don't have any plans currently on returning to Istanbul, but if i do I will stay at this hotel. Thanks to the Ishmael and staff for making my trip to Istanbul a better experience!!

Room Tip: I had a double room and found it spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verellis67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I found this place on trip advisor and after reading all of the positive reviews I was convinced it would be a good choice. I was right. The rooms were very clean. The shower was probably one of the best I've had in a long time. The location is great, close to many of the Sultan Ahmet attractions. I liked the room so much that I extended our stay an extra day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
517 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Oba Hotel is in a beautifully restored Ottoman House in Sultanamet. We had a lovely spacious room with a large comfortable bed, wooden floors, Turkish rugs and beautiful matching wooden furniture. The bathroom was compact but well designed with a spacious shower and a professional hair dryer. We even had a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in our room! Breakfast was lovely with muesli, fresh fruit and a couple of hot items to choose from. Ismail, the owner, is welcoming and really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

What a better welcome than a warm hotel like Oba ! Our stay in Oba hotel has been very comfortable. The rooms are very clean, the athmosphere is pleasant and the owner is a very nice person, always ready to help us for everything. The position is in the old city, very close to all main storic building like blue mosque, topkapi, aya sofia. We recommend this hotel ! Lara and Davide from Rimini Italy

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Oba Hotel: our home in Istambul, friendly, nice and clean. The owners are very helpful and the location is perfect, right close to the Mosques and the Bazaar. This small family run hotel has done an outstanding effort in distinguishing itself from the mass by offering a very welcoming atmosphere to its guests, a small but excellent and fresh breakfast, nice extra amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TizianaBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#20 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing