We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in a magical city”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A hidden gem in a magical city”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have never written any review about hotels but this one is really worth it. We stayed with our 2 children at the Oba Hotel for 4 nights. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Ismael with a big smile. He and his wife established this little jewel with care and genuine taste in an old ottoman house in the heart of the old city. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. It is close to all historical sites and you can find an array of restaurants and bars at walking distance. But what stroke us the most is the kindness and helpfulness of Ismael and his staff. It made us feel so much more comfortable than in standard hotels. It has that little something which makes you feel at home. Thank you Ismael, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    119
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
161
309
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Istanbul. The hotel was in a great location close to the key tourist attractions in the Old Town. The hotel was clean, beautiful and had personality and soul which is often lacking from a large chain hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crossarach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ismail (Owner/Manager) and staff were fantastic from the moment I booked.
This cool little hotel is situated downhill from the Blue Mosque and in close proximity to another old mosque which really helps to find the place.
On entering the hotel, the room looks like you could be walking into a home, which in other places, may be a little weird, but not there, Ismail is great and really helpful. It's also really clean, comfortable, very friendly and you never feel out of place. The room was comfortable and the bathroom super clean with a great shower.

Staying at the Oba was great, being a booking agency they are also able to assist with arranging tours and tickets to concerts/events etc, so that's another thing less to worry about!

I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a treasure The OBA Hotel is sheer delight. An impeccably restored traditional Ottoman home into a 12 room boutique hotel. From the moment the big wooden doors open your are welcome with warmth and friendliness. The owners and hosts,Ismail and Tuley love people and their Istanbul and are only to happy to help with anything you may require. We stayed 5 nights then went further afield travelling Turkey for a week and Ismail stored our luggage we did not need to take for us whilst we were away. Upon return it was like coming home. The rooms are immaculate and each day the fresh towel are placed on the bed in a different pattern with red roses on them What a lovely touch. Breakfast is exceptional with all that you could possibly want. The breakfast staff are warm happy and smiling people. The OBA hotel is within walking distance to all the major attractions in the old city which is a real bonus and is in a traditional living area which makes it all the more interesting with children playing soccer in the street not far away. A world class experience and we shall be back to further explore this wonderful country and to experience such rare genuine hospitality.

Room Tip: As the OBA hotel is a boutique hotel with only 12 or so rooms all rooms would be good Perhaps the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed with our son 4 nights in the Oba hotel and had a wonderful time there. The rooms are large and clean and have all necessary accomodations. The rooms are very charming in its ottoman style, but what we will remember most of the hotel is the warm reception of the owners. You feel yourself immediately at home, they give you lots of tips and tricks to improve your visit in Istanbul and you can contact them all time with your questions. We also loved the breakfast with a mix of traditional and typical turkish food.
The hotel is located very near to the city centre. Within 5 minutes walk you reach the old centre (Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque).
If we ever go back to Istanbul we know where.to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at the Obama Hotel. It is located within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and is close to several small inexpensive but good Turkish restaurants and a pleasant little park. Our room was immaculately clean and had a modern bathroom and good shower. Breakfast featured western drip coffee, granola and cold cereals, but also warm Turkish treats like cheese rolls and savory squares, as well as delicious jams and fresh fruit. Best of all, Ismael and all the other staff were extremely warm and attentive and responded quickly to any request with a smile. They made our trip to Istanbul a very special experience.

Room Tip: Write down the telephone number of the hotel. All the taxi drivers have cell phones and can call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is close to Hagia Sophia;the staff is very kind; the breakfast is great; the rooms very clean. The location is close to Hagia Sophia. Certainly I will recommend it to my friends: Simply "the best".
Domenico

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,149 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,149 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing