We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite getaway in Ottoman Istanbul”
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oba Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite getaway in Ottoman Istanbul”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Sultanahmet is the heart of Istanbul. OBA has been my favourite place located in a secret, well preserved part of 'living ottoman' quarter, just minutes to all happenings. More importantly, I felt like at home as it is operated by a wonderful, helpful family with amazing breakfast. I could not ask more! I sure will return and strongly recommend to all type of visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouquette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    120
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
162
310
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hospitality was wonderful and all of the Oba Hotel's family was involved in making our stay wonderful! What a lovely bonus, because the hotel is located in the Sultanahmet neighborhood of Istanbul and on the edge of a traditional Turkish neighborhood. This includes a nice, quiet street with just a few sweet Turkish families! The rooms were lovely and the breakfast great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindalorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Istanbul after returning from an overnight tour of Gallipoli. It is located in a quiet street but near all of the main attractions. We arrived late at night (around 9pm) and were glad to find restaurants close by as we weren't too keen to venture far.
The owners/managers are lovely and very helpful. They assisted us with having our washing (well overdue!) cleaned and dried by the next morning in time for our checkout which was much appreciated. The room we had was small but it didn't matter as we were only staying the one night. It was lovely, clean and had wifi. There was even a bowl of Turkish delight for us to have with our tea! The breakfast area is a little small so can be cozy if everyone is eating at the same time. We only wished we stayed here at the start of our Istanbul trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylee F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice. Located in the centre of the old city, near to Ippodrome, Blue mosque, Santa Sofia and Cisterne. Nice breakfast.
they know very well english so they can help you with your trip ...
Very clean, very easy
Owners always ready to help you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicebellelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My mom and I stayed 5 nights in Istanbul and had a wonderful time lodging at Oba Hotel. As other reviewers have stated, the location of the hotel is great, with so many landmarks and must-see attractions just a few minutes away by foot. The managers of the hotel were very accommodating and helpful and pointed us to restaurants and tours based on our requests. Our hotel room was clean and nicely decorated and had A/C, which was much appreciated. The hotel is very close to the Sokullu Mosque, so you do hear the calls to prayer very clearly throughout the day, beginning early in the morning, but it wasn't distracting or bothersome to us in the slightest. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was simple yet delicious and filling. Would definitely stay at Oba if ever in Istanbul again.

Room Tip: The hotel has four floors and no elevator, so if walking stairs is an issue, request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sboogie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A small nice an quiet hotel in the old part of Istanbul. Nice and clean rooms, and a good atmosphere, in family like style. We felt welcome at all times - even when we arrived late at night after exploring Istanbul's nightlife.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel (B&B) is located in a small street, in the Sultanahmet area, about 10 min walk to the Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia, Topkapi, Underground Cistern, Arasta Bazar. Close to important attractions. It is an old wooden house, very nicely renovated. Decorated with taste and very nice carpets.
The 9 rooms are clean, with big and comfortable beds.
The bathroom is small, but clean, with all necesaries toiletries.

The owners, Ismail and Aydin, are very nice and attentive, they gave us all the information we needed. Ismail speaks English fluently with no accent. He was always present and eager to help. When we arrived, on a hot day, they greeted us with cold water and juice.

Breakfast was good, buffet style, the cold part being the same each day but the hot part being different each day.

They got us tickets to Agia Sofia and thus we avoided a very big queue so this was very helpful. Also, they arranged us the transfer from and to the airport (25 Euro per way)

The only (small) minus : the floor is very thin, we could hear all steps and voices of the above clients.
The neighbours talk until very late at night, so if you sleep with your window open you will hear every word like they were in your room. Also, behind the hotel there is a parking, which generates noise in the evening and early in the morning for the rooms on that side. The only way to avoid it is to sleep with the windows closed.

On the other hand, each day we came back after a long walk during the day, we were very tired and fell asleep quickly so the noise didn't bother us too much !

My wife and I, had a great time in this hotel and would recommend it to our friends who are going to visit Istanbul !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matei_Flamaropol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,154 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,154 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#69 of 1,154 in Istanbul
744 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,154 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Property: Oba Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing