We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best hotel choice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #131 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hands down best hotel choice!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My girlfriend and I just got back from turkey and had a fabulous time at this boutique hotel. We diligently researched many hotels and were delighted to come across this one.

It's in a prime location near all the historic sites and the service is impeccable! The hotel is new, so everything is clean, sharp, and has a lovely style for those who pay attention to detail and decor. Their towels even smell nice lol, and the staff seriously made us feel like family. Mehmet, Ali, mami, and umut would make us laugh and made our stay very enjoyable. I would definitely return here again and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sultanahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    73
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
247
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is in a great spot to get to the main historical attractions. It is surrounded with small shops and cafes. It is walking distance to the tram and bazar. It is in a quiet street with little noise. The staff are helpful with inside tips of where to go and where to avoid. For travelling with a family or on your own it is a suitable environment. To Muammar, the manager, the part-owner, the ladies who cook and clean and the receptionist, thank you for a lovely experience in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This newly opened hotel near the Blue Mosque in Sultanahmet has a lot of catching up to do. Located just behind the Blue Mosque and offering excellent views from its rooftop terrace, this hotel is a short walk from the main street and other attractions. My sister and I booked the suite with a sea view, but thought there was some room for improvement (the TV didn't work and there's no safe in the room).

The staff is warm, friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbhishekMahajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The staff and location of Magnaura Palace are excellent, and we enjoyed our stay overall. Mahmer went out of his way to enthusiastically orient us to the hotel upon arrival. He showed us up to the roof, which is not yet open for business, but has a beautiful view of the city and the harbour. He also showed us to the basement (future carpet shop) which displays part of the underground tunnels that are part of the original Magnaura Palace (currently closed for tourists and under renovations). Other staff were always around, and were able to make suggestions for places to visit and how to get there. This can be a pro or a con, depending on your travel style, but we appreciated their kindness and followed up on some of their tips for places to see.

The room (#102) was tiny, but clean with an itty bitty terrace - large enough for 2 adults to stand on, but not large enough for a chair. There is a strange abundance of lint for some reasons, so that was annoying, as most of my clothing is black. I strongly recommend bringing along a good lint brush if you plan to stay here! We watched tv during down-time, and wished there were some kind of guide that helps patrons find channels in other languages than Turkish. There are literally thousands of channels to surf through, and we only wanted to watch for a short time to relax from our busy day, so searching endlessly through satellite channels was frustrating and could easily be avoided. Another thing about the room is you can hear noise from the halls and from other rooms. There does not seem to be any soundproofing of any sort, but luckily, our neighbors were courteous and we weren't bothered late at night by noise from the next room.

The location is great for all the attractions Sultanahmet has to offer, and was surprisingly not overcrowded in front of the hotel. While quiet for the most part, there is still construction going on inside the hotel, so it was noisy during the day and early evening, which was annoying when we wanted to relax jn our room for a few hours in the afternoon: lots of drilling and hammering!

Breakfast is coming along, but the coffee was terrible and there is no toaster for us North Americans who like our bread toasted in the morning. Also, breakfast is not served until 8am, which is a little late for those of us who like to get off to an early start. The scrambled eggs, yogurt, and marble cake were highlights of the breakfast. One morning when I asked if there would be cake, Mahmer actually went to a bakery to fetch some immediately!

Thank you to all the staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!

Room Tip: 102 is on the front of the building just over the entrance, but this did not seem to be a particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Beautiful hotel next to Blues mosques and Sophia cathedral. Nice see wiev on Marmara see from terrace. Very warm, friendly and welcome staff, expecally Muammer:-). The best staff I have ever seen:-). Profecional and quick.
Breakfest is excelent! Everything main things is next to hotel, no need use a transport.
If I go to Istanbul, I take again only this hotel.
Thanks a lot for every one in this hotel, we were so happy all 3x days!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just come back from 4 day staying at the Magnaura Palace Hotel. It has only been open for a few weeks and our experience could not have been better. The location is excellent - on a quiet street, very, very close to the Blue Mosque, and other sights, cafes and top restaurants in the Sultanahmet area of the city. The hotel is spotlessly clean (great strong shower - lovely cotton sheets), and the staff are delightful - very friendly and more than happy to go out of their way to help guests. I would not hesitate to recommend it and will be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The warm and loving hospitality this hotel offers is like a home away from home. A very clean and up market hotel in the heart of Istanbul. . A lovely brakfast was prepared with love and care. Excellent location over looking the sea. We spent 4 nights and wouldn't stay anywhere else on our next trip. Staff were polite and very helpful. Comfortable room with a good bed and lovely shower. This was a great experience I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure trip. 100 m from the Grand Bazaar, the Topkapi Museum , Sofia Hagia, The Blue Mosque.
MR AND MRS MOOSA .SOUTH AFRICA

Room Tip: I loved the view from my room on the 1st floor. It was sea facing. I think any room will be comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShainaazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#213 of 1,155 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#185 of 1,155 in Istanbul
607 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#25 of 1,155 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,155 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#235 of 1,155 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing