We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Magnaura Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$667
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$474
US$337
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$278
US$165
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$402
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$414
US$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Empress Zoe(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$192
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$228
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
423
80
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
80
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquehagia sophiaperfect locationold cityturkeycleaning ladiesmarmara seasmall balconyarasta bazaarmajor attractionstop floorevery morningmemorable stayfew minutes walkspent nightsbreakfast buffettram station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have been to Istanbul seven times. Sometimes staying with friends and other times in hotels - very nice hotels. If you want to be near all the attractions and have a place where you feel comfortable - this is it. The rooms are on the small side, but they are tastefully decorated and very comfortable - with great a/c on those hot summer nights. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is great - typical Turkish breakfast, which is my favorite. Americans will feel very at home here. Be sure to speak with Mehmet - he is very knowlegable about Istanbul and gives great advise on where to eat and where to buy Turkish rugs (if that is what you are looking for). Also he knows Jewelry. When I go back to istanbul - this will be my home away from home. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Although the pedestrian access was being repaved when we arrived, our welcome was faultless, and our corner suite on the first floor had a great view to the sea. Brilliant shower and good bathroom fittings that worked. There was very little traffic noise so we were delighted to return to a haven of calm after our hectic days of touring. Easy WIFI access was also a bonus. We were a little disappointed that the roof-top cafe wasn't open, as breakfast out there was one of the website attractions, but the owner is hands on, and doing his best to get things finished. Whilst the mini-fridge in the room wasn't coping, there was always cold water available in the breakfast area downstairs. We enjoyed the breakfasts, loved the seasonal fruit, cheeses, fresh breads and excellent filter coffee. I would happily recommend the Magnaura Palace to travellers to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Corner suite offers more space and is worth the upgrade from a standard room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahcampsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

the location of this hotel is very good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
BUT, the rooms are small and the terrace bar advertised online was inaccessible.
Moreover, the hotel has no licquor license yet, which they conveniently forgot to mention.
Breakfast is also quite boring, with a limited selection; the breakfast room is very depressing.
All in all, the hotel is much too expensive for the facilities it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Wonderful hotel! It is located near many tourist attractions such as the blue mosque and there are dozens of restaurants around the cozy area. The service is great and rooms are enjoyable and cozy. The Arasta Bazaar is just a stone's throw away and it is a good place to take a walk or have some tea. The area which the hotel is located is excellent and mostly very easy to get to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zixian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magnaura Palace for 3 nights in June 2012. The hotel has been open only for about 3 months, it is brand new.

-Location:
The hotel is ideally situated in the Sultanahmet district, literally 150 meters from the Blue Mosque and 250 meters from Hagia Sophia, and 300 meters from the Sultanahmet tram station. Unbeatable. 5 stars here.

-Service:
Polite and accommodating. We met the owner who is making a big effort to get things up and running, but there is still some work to be done. 5 stars here

-Room:
Our room was located on the 1st floor. We had a corner suite, small but adequate. Very clean. 2 small problem here: There was no safe in the room, this must be fixed. Also, the minibar fridge was not working so our drinks were literally warm. We informed the owner and he said it was scheduled to be fixed, but this was not done during our stay. 4 stars here.

-Cost:
Great value for money. For the corner suite we paid 150euros -10% for cash = 135 euros per night. Given the location, service and cleanliness, it was a bargain.
Normal listed price for this room is 280 euros (I think), so I suspect prices will go up once the works are completed and everything is fixed. 5 stars here

-Breakfast:
Breakfast was average. A small selection of bread, cheese, scrambled eggs and salami at the buffet. Coffee included in the price was only filter coffee. Turkish coffee charged extra. Not a big deal, but I didn’t like that. 3 stars here.

-Common areas:
The bar is not operating yet, pending the issuing for the relative permits. There is no restaurant (yet?). Also, the terrace (nicely shown in the hotel’s website) is not operating, as it is still under construction. The terrace has a wonderful view and when they complete it, it will be a perfect spot to have breakfast or drinks.
Overall the common areas were largely not yet operational. Then owner was very apologetic, but still they should have made it clear upon booking. 1 star here

In a nutshell I would say the Magnaura Palace is an excellent choice if you want to be in the heart of the old city. Even with its temporary shortcomings (”childhood diseases”) I give 5 stars, mainly for the cost and the effort.
It is well worth it and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suite on high floor for better view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarpeDiem14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews