We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #128 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is wonderful; it is in the perfect location walking distance to the SultanAhmet and Hagia Sophia and other sites. It is very clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly and accomodating! They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It's a great hotel for families. i will definitely be staying there again! :) :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for The Magnaura Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Rooms fancy and tidy; a tad on the small side. Delightful cobblestoned tourist-y neighborhood right among the biggest sights. We liked the staff very much; they were wonderfully helpful though not always as knowledgeable as they made out -- their hearts are always in the right place but don't rely for info. Nice micro-balcony to look out from. They can summon a taxi to the hotel door in 3 minutes. Breakfast is orderly and adequate (and in a nice room), not more. Traffic can be a chore in Istanbul, maybe here a bit more than other places. Tip: Avoid the Daytime Bosphorus Tour from Turnatour.com if you have other options; obnoxious tour guide almost as annoying as the incredibly penny-pinching carb-loading "snacks" like corn from a can and bulk meatless pasta.

Room Tip: Push them to get a room with a view of the sea view or partial sea view; they will try for you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is a very nice small hotel on a quiet street and yet very close to the main attractions such as Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. One negative is that it is close to a restaurant that plays loud music until midnight though it is not bothersome if you keep the windows closed. Also, the bathroom is very small with just a compact shower.

Staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our first visit to Istanbul and we simply could not have chosen a better hotel. The location, just off Sultanahmat Square puts you a short walk away from far too many attractions to name - and a long weekend stay was nowhere near long enought!
Our room was very comfortable, well equiped, spotless and we even had a sea view. The views from the hotels roof terrace are amazing, looking out over the Bosphorus in one direction and the Blue Mosque in the other. Breakfast is buffet style and numerous local restaurants provide an unlimited choice for lunch/dinner at very reasonable prices.
The staff could not have been more helpful or friendlier. We will certainly be returning to Istabul again next year and we would not consider staying anywhere else when we do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at Magnaura post our tour with a group of friends and were extremely pleased with our choice!!

Although there was a slight mix up with our room initially, the service provided, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the location made up for the initial mix up!!

The hotel is only 5 months old, the rooms are very clean, rooms are VERY spacious and although the terrace is not quite finished yet, the view from there is beautiful!!

The best part of the hotel were the staff! Tarik at the front desk was ALWAYS VERY HELPFUL and was consistently going over and above to make our stay enjoyable....All staff members were very professional yet were also good to have a chat to!

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehmet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a hidden pearl, because the hotel t´s quite new, (they´ve just opened in March 2012) not so many people know about it. Location is prime, meters away from the Blue Mosque, AyaSofya , TopKapi Palace. It is on a quite street and the rooms on the highest floor have a view to the sea of Marhaba. The rooms are very clean, very tastefully decorated and luxury bathrooms. The staff is most helpful, especially the hotel manager Mehmet. Breakfast buffet, turkish delicacies, fresh coffee, fresh fruits, olives, cheese etc. Overall this hotel is very good, and will definitely come back to it. It´s great for families, couples or just friends. I booked our rooms directly through the hotel´s website. I got a much better deal. If you are noise sensitive bring your earplugs to sleep, because you will be awaken with the calling for prayer from the Mosque early in the morning. ( part of the experience)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelandme_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Beautiful & clean brand new boutique hotel with a lovely sea view. They have built the Hotel in the historic district and care much about the interior of the Hotel reflecting this historic sense. Very stylish decoration carries throughout the building.
The the terrace is about to be finished, already now one can enjoy spectacular views.
Friendly and helpful owner & staff. Very close to main attractions. Delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room! Look at the Bosborous!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula_sinikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#240 of 1,159 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#159 of 1,159 in Istanbul
66 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#194 of 1,159 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
675 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#65 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing