We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TURKISH DELIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #125 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights (16th Sept to 19th Sept) at this fantastic hotel.
As in all my previous reviews that I have posted on Trip Advisor I will give you an honest review on this wonderful hotel.
This is the 2nd year that we have stayed at the Magnaura Palace. The hotel is a beautiful 5star modern hotel in Sultanahmet in the old part of Istanbul. The hotel is tucked away on a small side street, which is surrounded by lovely streets with a large choice of restaurants and bars.
The hotel with out doubt, is in the best location to see all the most interesting places that this part of the city has to offer. Blue Mosque, Hagi Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, and the Spice Market are all within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We had a lovely corner suite with air con, which was furnished to a very high standard, with views towards the Bosphorus. A large king size bed, with a on suite shower room, tea / coffee and a mini bar, a TV, and doors that lead out on to a small balcony.
The hotel has changed from last year. A roof top terrace with fantastic views over the city is where you will now have breakfast. A large choice of cereals, fruits, cheeses, salads, eggs, bread and rolls, tea, coffee, fruit juices, jams or honey are available to help you start the day. All very fresh and presented very nicely.
The ground floor lobby area has also been transformed into a cafe area with nice comfortable tables and chairs, a lovely display of cushions, ornament, glass bowls ,and books for you to read while you enjoy a coffee or a soft drink.
Mehmet the owner of the hotel is such a lovely guy, along with all his staff. They are all very helpful and friendly, and will see that you have a great stay at the hotel and give you advise how best to enjoy the magnificent city of Istanbul.
Overall, a fantastic hotel in a great location in a truly magnificent city. Turkish hospitality at it's very best will greet you at the Magnaura Palace.

Room Tip: All rooms at the hotel are modern, clean, and spacious. Rooms with views over the Bosphorus are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHUBBYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear STEVE,

Thank you for taking a time to write such a long and very helpful review for people who do not know us.It was your second stay here in our hotel,it's very good to know that you are satisfied as you were first time too.
We are looking for your third stay here(maybe next summer).Take care of your self,best wishes:)

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is our 6th visit to Istanbul and we have stayed in many hotels,big and small.They have all been
in the Old Quarter of Sultahnamet . We have finally discovered the perfect Magnaura Palace which
is in the most convenient location to explore everything.It is situated on a small quiet side street but
steps away from all the wonderful sights. The staff here are the friendliest ,happy to assist with
everything from where to go,what to see and they even pour you a nice cup of tea or coffee with a smile.
Mehmet who has designed this hotel has created an oasis in the heart of this very busy area.No detail
has been overlooked and he is here to greet you daily. Arben who is one of the concierges is the
nicest young man with many great tips to make your stay fantastic. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkRuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear RUTA,nice to read your review.İt was a big pleasure to welcome you here in our hotel.Thank you for your good comments.We looking forward to seeing you here again.

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived here yesterday intending to stay 2 night. We are a group of 3 couples who have spent the past 2 weeks in turkey. This is our second is visit having first arrived in Istanbul.
I won't mention our first stay, as it was very average, but I will recommend The Magnaura Palace
Everything is great.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
A great location near quality shops and just around the corner from the blue mosque.
Excellent rooms, with a shower that works really well, and all the plumbing is well finished.
I mention that because in most hotels we have previously stayed in over the past 2 weeks, the finish in the rooms has been very poor, and the water pressure has been a dribble.
Excellent value for money.
It's Greta, you can trust me!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi Murphy,it's good to read from you.I'm sure your article will help people who still trying to decide for the accomodation in this beautiful and important part of Istanbul city.
Our aim is and will be making every moment of our guests special and making sure that they are satisfied.
Looking forward to meeting you again.

Mehmet Ataş,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Just arrived and it give a good impression.
The people who's working here are helpful.

Clean rooms. Beautiful terrace and the place of the hotel is good. You can see most of the historical buildings near to the hotel.

Thank anassanad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Anassanad,thank you for being so clear while sharing your immpresions here on this page.
Take care of your self.

Mehmet Ataş,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location. Located about a block from Sultanhamet Square. It is within a 15 - 20 min walk of most other sights in the Sultanhamet area and the Sultanhamet tram station. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is good and has a lot of variety. The roof top terrace seating offers beautiful views of the Bosphorus. This newer hotel is clean, comfortable and everything works. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to stay here on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glenn401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello Glenn,good to know that you have enjoyed staying in our hotel,and thank you for taking a time to share your review here with tripadvisor members.İt was good to meet you.
Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My spouse and I stayed here for 7 nights in September. When planning a vacation in Istanbul, we were overwhelmed with the selection of hotels, especially in the Sultanahmet area. We were so lucky that we chose The Magnaura Palace in the end as it was an incredible place to call home while abroad. As others have commented, the breakfast was plentiful and we looked forward to it each morning! Also, the location is so fantastic! It was so nice to be able to pop into the hotel throughout the day to rest for a couple of hours, use the facilities, etc. and then journey out again. The entire staff was warm and beyond accommodating. They were very helpful in booking excursions and suggesting local restaurants to try. Even the local community is aware of the Magnaura Palace reputation... when we told locals we were staying there, they too heard it was the new hot spot of Sultanahmet. Special call out to Douch (sorry for the spelling) at the front desk... he was so professional, and genuine, and friendly! Will definitely recommend this hotel to all travelling to Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor (2nd floor to North America) and found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdsInOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Our valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking a time to express your feedback.Looking forward to seeing you here again,couple of days are not enough to explore this nice and cosmopolit city.
Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Staff were very friendly, great view from the window, location of hotel is the best to explore the city, room was clean every day, amazing breakfast with view of Bosphorus from terrace, great feeling of the hotel at all, recommend to all! Special thanks to Mami!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmachiaveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Mmachiaveli,

Thank you for your review,hope to meet you here again!
Best,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#237 of 1,175 in Istanbul
108 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#424 of 1,175 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#319 of 1,175 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#267 of 1,175 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,487 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#53 of 1,175 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing