We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnaura Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #130 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were first timers in Istanbul and quite apart from not knowing what part of the city to stay we then had the usual minefield of picking the right hotel.
We plumped for Sultanahmet and then picked the Magnaura Palace. i admit we picked upon reviews but in the past i've found with hotels they often dont live up to previous positive comments. Not in this case- I can genuinely say the Magnaura Palace was perfect in every way.
The staff at reception were 1st class. The friendlyness on arrival extended to our entire stay. The position of the hotel for Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia could not have been better. Breakfast was served up on the 4th floor on a terrace overlooking the Bosphorus. The young lad at breakfast ( cant remember name) who'd bring the coffee and tea was charming so the ethos of caring went beyond the front desk. There is a little cafe on ground level with arts etc that is quite attractive if you dont want to direct to your room. Our bedroom was nice decent size and nice bathroom. if or when i return to Istanbul i'd find it hard not to stay there. friendlyness being the key word

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauljel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Pauljel,

Thanks a lot for your good review,for taking time to write it,we appreciate it.
Looking forward for your next trip to here....
Good luck,

Mehmet ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for The Magnaura Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have travelled all over the world and stayed at many great hotels but we have never felt as comfortable and welcomed as we have at Magnaura Palace. It is a small but lovely boutique hotel with all the modern amenities. It is a short walk to most of the important tourist attractions in Sultanahmet. However, what really makes this hotel unique is the wonderful staff (front desk, cafe, breakfast restaurant waiters). Arben, who was at the front desk most evenings during our stay (7 days), was especially wonderful. He gave us tips on places to see, made reservations for us, looked after our transportation, and even got medicine for my wife when she came down with a cold. Whenever we returned from a day of touring, Arben made sure to offer us a hot cup of tea. He and his team truly understand what it takes to make visitors to Istanbul and to his hotel happy and welcomed. We intend to return one day and will certainly stay at the Magnaura. Alfonso and Seta, Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfonso_gua56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear ALFONSO,

I want to express my special thanks to you for informing here other Tripadvisor members about your expeience you had at out hotel.It was very nice meeting you.
Looking forward for your next trip to İstanbul city!

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a fantastic plce to stay at in Istanbul. I really don't think one could ask for a better location and value in the heart of Istanbul's old city. The hotel is new (2 years old), rooms are modern and very clean. The breakfast assortment is fantastic and the view from the rooftop restaurant is even better. The staff are incredibly friendly and more than happy to help however they can. I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Futbol60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Futbol60,

Thank you for your nice words,your positive reviews are giving us energy to keep going and always doing the best we can!Give us oppurtunity to welcome you here again:)

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arben was behind the reception desk when we checked in and the welcome could not have been warmer. As first time visitors to Istanbul, he provided us with just enough helpful information on interesting places to visit, while we enjoyed a complimentary drink.

The hotel does not have a large staff but each and every one was friendly and helpful and always greeted guests with a genuine smile.

Our deluxe room on the first floor was large and spotlessly clean and had a huge comfortable bed. The adjoining shower room was compact but had an excellent shower, and fittings and fixtures that sparkled. Bath sheets and hand towels were thick and luxurious. Top marks to the housekeeping staff. Daily complimentary bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities were much appreciated.

Breakfast was taken on the fourth floor, which has a very pleasant roof garden, and could be eaten either in a glazed enclosed area or in the open. There was an excellent cold buffet plus scrambled eggs and sausage, and some quite delicious breads, but what passed as orange juice was no more than coloured water with added sugar.

The location of this hotel could not be bettered and its popularity is well justified

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 2 and 3 have much better views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Billyboy,

It's very good to read that our guests happy and satisfied with the service they had while staying here in our hotel.I appreciate your review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards.,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

At the end of a narrow street in Sultanamet is a small boutique hotel, The Magnaura Palace, which is so welcoming and friendly that it sets the tone for a great, fun-filled time in Istanbul. The clerk at the front desk, Arben, is most friendly and helpful; the owner of the hotel, Mehmet, is there to give practical and very helpful guidance to his guests. The Magnaura Palace is a jewel and a perfect base to see the wonders of Istanbul. The Turkish breakfast on the top floor overlooking the Marmara Sea was wonderful.









t

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Boudin,

Thank you very much for taking a time to write a review here.
We are looking for your next trip to here again.
Best wishes!

Mehmet Ataş,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Magnaura palace is really best located hotel in this part of Istanbul. For the first visit best, I mean.
If you want clean hotel, this is it. If you want friendly stuff, they are. Very friendly. Rooms are nice and not so small as other in Old town. Only one thing, thin walls, but not a critically.
After my 20 visit in Istanbul coul be highly recomended.

Room Tip: take first floor if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviator111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Aviator111,

It's a big pleasure and very important for us to read from you that after your 20 visits to Istanbul,hotel you can recommend to tripAdvisor members is our hotel.
Looking forward to your stay here again.

Regards,

Mehmet Ataş

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is a mere hop, skip and jump away from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Staff are wonderfully friendly and warm - really nice people. Rooms are compact, but with a king size bed. Rooms on the top floor can be a bit noisy due to proximity to the terrace kitchen, especially in the mornings. Overall, a great hotel to base yourself in if visiting Istanbul for the first time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justagirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear our guest, thank you for sharing your opinion here with all tripadvisor members.Good luck!

Mehmet Atas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#246 of 1,159 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,159 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#155 of 1,159 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#25 of 1,159 in Istanbul
673 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#64 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Magnaura House Hotel
Magnaura House Hotel
#554 of 1,159 in Istanbul
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing