We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #128 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Dropped into Istanbul on the way through for 2.5 excellent days/nights. This hotel was recommended and I am glad I took the advice. Situated in a perfect location for the key sights of the old city, this is a comfortable and well presented hotel.

The staff are excellent - friendly, interested, proud and committed to making it an enjoyable stay. Dogus and Arben on the front desk and the helpful porters make sure you are immediately equipped with the best information to make your time on the ground well spent.

The breakfast on the Level 4 Terrace overlooking the shimmering Bosphorus is impossible to beat. The attentive staff there make it even better...genuinely warm folks keen to ensure its a great start to the day.

Loved it - If I ever go back to Istanbul it will be to the Magnaura.

PS - the airport transfer service makes life a breeze...well worth it.

Room Tip: Its worth a few extra dollars for a room with a sea view...I was on level 2, throw the doors open an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear WalkingDinosaur,

Dear our guest we appreciate your review.Your comments are very important for us.
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a rewiev for us.
The Magnaura Palace will be wating for your next trip to this great city!

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    71
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
245
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful vacation in Istanbul, thanks to the very friendly and hospitable staff at the Magnaura Palace Hotel.
We felt completely at home right from the moment we stepped into the hotel - Arben and Dogush and Ilyas were so warm and welcoming at the front desk, they offered us some yummy apple tea on arrival and talked to us at length regarding sightseeing, tours,restaurants,etc.We booked tours suggested by them and were very happy with their suggestions. The hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Sultanahmet, and a lot of major tourist attractions (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern) as well as some amazing restaurants are well within walking distance. The daily breakfast on the terrace was a great way to start the day, thanks to the attentive Ayden and Kubra, who made sure that we were well taken care of! The deluxe room is well furnished, clean, cozy and was very comfortable. Thanks to Mohammed, who also helped us carry our bags,provided room service and to the cleaning lady who did a great job!
The tram stop is very close by and if you need a cab, all you have to do is ask the hotel for one and it arrives in less than 5 minutes!
Thanks to Mehmet for giving us advice on restaurants, etc and taking the time to chat and laugh with us.
We will certainly be back with our kids and will also recommend this charming and friendly hotel to all our friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renuka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Renuka it's good to read from you and thank you for your nice reviev.
That is exactly our aim,making our guests feeling here at home away from their home.
We will be waiting for you and your family,give us that chance to welcome you here again.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just spent 4 days at this hotel (14th -17th April 2014).
We chose it because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were welcomed on arrival with apple tea and the receptionist Arben told us all about the hotel and how we could make the most of our short stay in Istanbul.
Arben, Dogus and muarmar are the reception team and they are just very nice friendly guys, so we would like to say a big thank you to them for being so good.
The room was clean and tidy and the housekeeping staff made a nice job of making up the beds and making the room presentable every day.
Especially nice was the buffet breakfast on the rooftop terrace, once again the staff were very attententive and friendly.
You could not ask for a better location, the hotel is within 2 minutes walk of the Blue Mosque and close to all the other must see sights.
We would not hesitate to make another trip to this lovely city and would stay at Magnaura Hotel again.
Thank you once again Arben, Dogus, Muarmar and all the staff at the hotel, I can see why you got the 2013 award from trip advisor, you truly deserve it.
Peter and Delia Milner
British
Living in Dubai.

Room Tip: Try and check into a room that has a view of the Blue Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Peter M,

Dear our guest let me take this oppurtunity to say once more here that satisfaction of our guests is the most important think for us .And it is good to see that we are succeeding on this direction.
Your reviews are very valuable and important for us because they show us our progress.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location, luxury & best Value for money was the criteria and we have to say that Magnaura Palace hotel ticked all the boxes. Being honest we were dubious about ratings as we have visited hotels before that claim to be 4 or 5 Star and we have to say that the Magnaura is amongst the high end of 5* plus for following reasons.
1. Best reception greeting and check in / out procedure thanks to Dogus. Overwhelmed by his knowledge of the area and unbiased recommendations for places to visit and or eat.
2. Best introduction to our room accommodation and what was what Thanks to Muammir.
3. Best breakfast greeting and service by all the staff at the roof top with spectacular Sea view in particular , service from Aydin. He even told us where they buy their pastries from for us to take back to London.
4. We went without our laptop and had to confirm our flight back and Arben surpassed our expectation as the flight company’s website was down and he managed our booking whilst we went out and even printed out our boarding passes. This is beyond call of duty and Yasmin & I thank you Arben.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished to a very high standard with everything you would expect from top rated hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttsahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear our Guest,

Let me send my regards to you firstly.It is a big pleasure for me to read your nice review.
As it's very important for us to know that you are satisfied with the service you have got here.
We look forward to your next trip to here.

Best Wishes

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The Magnaura Palace is a comfortable and clean hotel, with a nice breakfast served in the rooftop terrace. However, what set it apart for me was the attitude of the staff, and secondly the location right in the centre of things.
From the moment we walked in the door, we received a warm welcome from Doush and Muarmar (forgive the spelling!), who gave us a lot of time, and some good recommendations, to help plan our couple of days. This was accompanied by complimentary apple teas and Turkish delights. Arben was helpful in making reservations, and trying to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

You couldn't ask for a better location right beside the main tourist attractions, and just around the corner from all the restaurants on Akbiyik?? Street.
The only slight reservation was that we couldn't have a nightcap here, as they didn't serve alcohol - but that was probably no harm.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DublinCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear DublinCOL,

Dear our guest we appreciate your review thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write such a clear,understandable,helpfull review.Your nice reviews will help other travelers who is trying to decide about where to stay. Our aim is trying to be a second home of our guests away from their home. Looking forward to meeting you...

Best wishes,

MEHMET ATAŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were very impressed with the hotel from the moment we arrived, where we were greeted at the door in a friendly and welcoming manner, through to the momemt when we left after four days of a wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing city break.
The views from our room were fabulous, and we could not believe how peaceful it was, even in such a central location only a few steps away from the prime sites that Istanbul has to offer.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed and furnished, and provides both a relaxed and stylish atmosphere in which to enjoy the old city.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our corner room had lovely views of the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulaBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear PaulaBB2014,

Dear our guest thank you for your nice review.Let me take this oppurtunity to say here that it was
a big pleasure welcoming you here at our hotel.
Looking forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very good experience in this hotel so well located in Istanbul. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and confy, breakfoost was good and the view from the terrace was great! My girlfriend had her birthday when we were there and she got a small gift from the hotel, super friendly service!

A small minus was that you could hear a little bit through the walls to the neighbour rooms, specially in the bathroom, but I guess this is due to the building construction.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ruizzz,

It is a big pleasure reading your review.Thank you for taking your time to participate here.
It was a privilage to welcoming you in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#191 of 1,141 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#39 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#187 of 1,141 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#129 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#43 of 1,141 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing