We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Magnaura Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Magnaura Palace
Ranked #123 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Front office service was most pleasing and obliging!Our room was nice but i would prefare it a bit more spacious!Since it was my first time in Instanbul,i can not recommend another place for staying!I would definetely go there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Chris N,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here front of the all members of tripadvisor.
Your comments are very valuable for us.
Looking forward of having chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    71
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
242
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I traveled to Istanbul with three friends who had stayed at Magnaura Palace before--and it was very easy to see why they returned. We all loved Magnaura Palace. Mehmet, the owner, has composed a happy experience for guests--even the gift shop has lovely and unusual things.
There are only 18 rooms, and all the ones I saw were comfortable and nicely appointed. Although my room did not face the sea, I could step out on my narrow balcony and see it, and the fresh air from the sea was an added benefit. My room had a small sitting area with a table and chairs separated from the bedroom by a narrow wall containing a large flat-screen TV--the sitting area made the room feel spacious.
There is no extra charge for the water, sodas and juices kept stocked in the mini-fridge. Breakfast is a treat--it's on the rooftop with a large selection of cold foods as well as omelets cooked to order--and it overlooks the most gorgeous view! In the evenings, the rooftop is a great place to watch the day slip away while you share a glass of wine with friends.
The hotel is very clean and attractively furnished, the front-desk is always staffed, the staff itself is friendly, helpful and courteous.
To make the experience even better, the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque are within a five-minute walk of Magnaura Palace and myriad restaurants and shops.
I cannot imagine that I will stay anywhere else when I travel to Istanbul, ever again! It was a happy time among friendly people.

Room Tip: Doesn't everyone love a sea view? And I liked the third floor, which is just a flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuwait08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear kuwait08,

Dear our guest we owe you a big thanks for introducing our hotel with such a long and helpful review.As I understand this was your first stay at our hotel but I hope you will give us that chance of meeting you again.
We look forward to wwelcoming you again,

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Highly recommend Magnaura Palace. The location is perfect for a very short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapi Palace. The Grand Bazaar was also a 10-15 minute easy walk. There are numerous good restaurants on a street only 2 blocks away, almost around the corner. It's like a restaurant row. The hotel rooms are very nicely decorated with all the amenities you need, including hair dryers and mini-fridge. The breakfast buffet on the roof top had a very nice selection of cheeses, fruits, breads, pastry, scrambled eggs, etc but do not expect a full American breakfast like fried potatoes and waffles. It was a nice change with very good food. There is a fantastic view of the Bosphorus from the roof top. The owner, Mehmet Atas, was great, speaks perfect English, and was very helpful with directions and information. All of the staff speak English and are wonderful and willingly help you with whatever you need. We would definitely stay at the Magnaura Palace again.

Room Tip: If you do not mind paying a little more, the rooms overlooking the Bhosphorus are nice. We wanted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lov2skivail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear lov2skivail,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review and introducing our hotel and the area we are.The biggest advantage of our hotel is being in heart of the old city and we try to decorate it with a hospitality of high quality.Looking forward of meeting you again.

Best wishes,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in March at the recommendation of my aunt and uncle who had stayed there a couple of years ago. This hotel was great and in the best location. It is right next to the Blue Mosque and a great location in the heart of Sultanahmet. The owner remembered my aunt and uncle and even pulled up a picture of them on his cell phone! The hotel is very nice and has a great view on the top floor for their complimentary breakfast. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The staff was very helpful, nice, and accommodating. I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear our Guest,

It is very important and nice for us to be recommended by our guests and second nice thing is to know that also you left our hotel satisfied which I understand by reading your delightful review,thanks a lot.

Warm Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just spent 4 nights at The Magnaura Palace Hotel, LOOK NO FURTHER this hotel & staff are truly amazing !! All the rooms have a small balcony our room was sea facing, we could sit and watch all the ships arrving and departing. The rooms are small but comfortable with all the necessary amenities. All the major touristt attractions are on your door step and the grand bazaar is only a 15 min walk. The only small criticism would be there is no in room food service but in saying that the hotel staff will organise food delivery or collect on your behalf. The staff are all warm, friendly & eager to make your stay memorable. But what makes this hotel stand out from the rest is Mehmet Atas the Manager he was there to greet us and insure our stay at the hotel and our time in istanbul was one to remember being two ladies travelling alone his assistance was invaluable it make us feel safe. We would love to thank all the staff for a memorable stay & look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
DEAR Dubai38,

Thanks a lot for taking time to write a review for us and for writing it such a nice.
Your reviews are very valuable to us.
Looking forward to meeting you again,your home away from home:))

Good luck,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Sadly we were only able to spend 1 night at the Magnaura Palace, as we were sailing the next day. We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming, the hotel's location is perfect - literally 2 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. There are numerous nice restaurants nearby (see our review of the Aloran). As we were only staying 1 night we stayed in a standard room which was nicely appointed and furnished, but without a notable view. Our only criticism was the bed which was rather too firm for our taste. Finally a very nice breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace which must have about the best view in Istanbul - breathtaking!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Howard D,

We are glad to read that after choosing us based on tripadvisor reviews you share same comments with our other guests.It will be a big pleasure for us to acommodate you here again.

Best Wishes,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Magnaura palace is very comfortable with a nice location and a warm hospitality.The location is super excellent and convenient for sightseeing because there are many historical buildings around there. The staffs are very kind and friendly, so I felt as if a second home. The hotel is stylish and has sophisticated design although in old city. The view of the sea from the terrace is beautiful not only morning but sunset. I had a relaxed , healing and luxurious time there. If I have chance to go to Istanbul again, I will go back absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnaura P, Owner at The Magnaura Palace, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Happyandhappy,


Thank you very much for sharing your comments here with other potencial customers.
Looking forward to meeting you here again.

Best Regards,

Mehmet Ataş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#146 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#190 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#179 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnaura Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnaura Palace

Property: The Magnaura Palace
Address: Dalbasti Sok No 13/1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnaura Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnaura Palace Hotel is a newly opened in the heart of historical peninsula. Located steps away from the highlights of Ottoman and Byzantium time [such as Blue Mosque, St Sophie, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome and Basilica Cistern]We are at your service with our 18 rooms equipped with central heating and air condition systems, direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, sitting areas, writing tables and cupboards as well. We aimed to give you 5 star comfort in a boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Magnaura Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing