We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Aga Hamami

Aga Hamami
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.01*
and up
Turkish Bath Package in Istanbul at Aga Hamami
Ranked #8 of 235 Spas & Wellness in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historical Ağa Hamami ( bath ) was built in 1454 in Istanbul by most important sultan of the ottoman empire (after one year conquest of istanbul), who is the "Fatih Sultan Mehmet". Ağa hamami is oldest hamam in Istanbul. This historical ottoman hamam is serving tourists since 10 years.
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

A very authentic Turkish bath and massage experience. First, you bathe for about 20 minutes. Then a big and friendly Turkish man gives you a vigorous scrub down (woman for women.) Then a super relaxing massage.

The building is very beautiful as well - seems like it has a lot of history.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank DJNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"oil massage"
in 101 reviews
"apple tea"
in 71 reviews
"turkish bath"
in 74 reviews
"face mask"
in 27 reviews
"massage package"
in 13 reviews
"basic package"
in 13 reviews
"mixed hamam"
in 9 reviews
"great hamam"
in 11 reviews
"separate rooms"
in 8 reviews
"bathing area"
in 8 reviews
"men and women"
in 23 reviews
"main room"
in 9 reviews
"hot stone"
in 8 reviews
"authentic experience"
in 13 reviews
"body scrub"
in 6 reviews
"hammam experience"
in 8 reviews
"turkey"
in 27 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We’ve been in love with this place, totally recomended. We toke the full pack, we felt like we were in heaven!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank annallur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Everything so beautiful on pictures, but in reality it look very bad. Coming to Istanbul for professional hamam services and finding this, I had a shock! No explanation provided, place is dirty everywhere, starting from changing rooms and finishing the reception area. No water was offered before the hamam, which is a must and asked about visitors health. The scrabing and foam massage was about 10 minutes together with washing the head, if you can call this, leaving the shampoo in the hear. Treatment was like in factory, like animals. Massage was made on dirty towels, that used for all clients and facial mask was applied by the receptionist on a go.
Only good experience was a head massage, thank you for that person, he was from Africa somewhere.
I have been to hamam too many times, but this was the worst experience ever! They are only thinking to get money, comparing to their life of living this is a very expensive with no services at all!
Hamam in the hotels in North Cyprus are really nice, clean and professional.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Excursion246069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Compared to all the hamams in the old part of Istanbul, this one is very relaxed, quite and cheap. It is mixed, but the massages are ladies separate. The massage is short, but nice. You get a cup of tea afterwards and can relax as long as you want.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Nynkevdijck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We went with my friend to relax and scrub our body. We took the full package:
- staff was not nice and not smilling except masseur
- staff dont make you feel confortable or relax
- scrub: we have experience in other hamam in europe or middle east but this one was not scrub at all. They didnt remove our dead skins (not even scrubing our faces and feet). It was so quick so the first goal of the hamamam was not accomplished...
- the staff who scrubed our skins was not friendly, not even saying hello when they came to the room
- the product they use was not even natural soap it was normal shower gel that you can find in supermarket (cheapest one)
- foam massage: it lasts for only 3 minutes
- oil body massage: very bad quality, it is not real massage but the staff was nice but not qualified at all. We wanted the massage to finish.they hit on your back but not in professional way that it became eveb painful
- oil used is the one you can also find in supermarket
- face mask: nobody is telling where you can rinse your face or when.
- they rudely bringing you tea plenty of sugar and if you ask for tea without sugar, they said they dont have.
- head massage with mentol oil: there is no word to discribe the room. Hammam towels on the wall fixed with scotch ... and the chair you are sitting on is office chair (its not a joke)
- there were so much noise from outside (cars) but also inside the hammam (staff talking very loudly) while you are supposed to relax and enjoy the moment
- hygiene doubtful
- they dont keep the historical building in good conditions. It could be full of charm but it does not have any.

As a conclusion, do not go there. just wanted to finish and leave which is scandalous.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Clarisse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aga Hamami also viewed

 

Been to Aga Hamami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing