We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and confortable”
Review of Septimum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Septimum Hotel
Ranked #501 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New and confortable”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Septimum hotel has quite new. The location is good , near to the tram line and in walking distance to top kapi and hagia sophia. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is very good, far better that other hotels of the same level in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel located in old city of Istanbul really very good. Hotel staff very friendly especially Mr.Hasan. Room was very clean, breakfast was good. The food besides standard buffet dishes included local Turkish cheeses, vegetable, black and green olives and wonderful peach, vinegrapes and cherry home made jams. Original Turkish tea and coffee were available every time.
On the top hotel has a terrace with panoramic view on Bosphorus. Not far of hotel situated railway station Sikreci - famous train Orient Express (do you remember Agatha Christie novel?) was arriving and departure there some times ago. There is the restaurant 'Orient Express' and museum now.
I can recommend Septimum Hotel as the best budget hotels in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrine1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and new. Love the bed. Location is great as the sirkeci tram station is near. We, however changed hotel on the 2nd night because the room was too small for us. My husband was having a flu and we just needed a bigger room. I love the hotel though if not for the flu that my husband was having that made it necessary for us to move

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marziah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
215 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I spent a week end in Istanbul in January 2013 and I stayed at this hotel. Actually the first night we were moved to an other hotel nearby because, as we were told, of some technical problems with the room we had reserved. The other hotel was ok but Septimum Hotel was, as we could see later, really better. This is a new small hotel located in a strategic position to visit the town. The staff is kind and polite. As we had to spend one night in an other hotel we were upgraded to the best room they had which is the room at the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the Bosporus. The room was clean and well designed. The bed was really comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had a large shower. The breakfast is ok, despite the fact that I had better and richer breakfasts in the past in Turkey. I would really suggest to stay in this hotel to anyone who is looking for a simple, not too expensive place like Septimum Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magjias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Merhaba! If you are a traveller like me who is out most of the day and return when you felt pain in your ankles, this is a perfect spot! It is new, modern, clean, smoking-free area, with free breakfast, it takes only 5 minutes to Sirkeci tram station and within minutes of walk to major attractions in the Old city of Istanbul. The area is quite safe even at night, there are many shops and restaurants all around the place and they were open till late at night. The famous Ozeir restaurant, Hafiz Mustaffa that is famous of its baklava and turkish delights are just a few minutes walk and souvenir shops there are even cheaper than the Grand Bazaar! The elevator is a bit too small allowing only 2/3 person (normal size) to fit in. Their special addition to all the above is definitely the rooftop terrace where you can rest and relax while watching the scenic view of Bosphorus or the surrounding old city buildings. Overall, it is worth to pick out of so many surrounding hotels nearby, plus the staff are well-versed in English and very helpful. They will also help you to book your Dinner & Dance seats, visit to Hammam, your transport back to the airport, etc. Kudos to Mr. Aerol and all his staff, thank you for your warm hospitality, I will definitely return back soon! Tesekkur ederim.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norayeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The location is excellent on a quiet street . The staff did everything possible to satisfy my needs. Cihangir and Umit were friendly and very professional. Very clean, plenty of good restaurants nearby and a great barber shop next door. Sirkecy tram station is nearby, also the terminal were you can get a 2 hours ride through the Bosforus for only 10 turkish liras. Within walking distance to Sultanahmet, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Sistern and a few steps away is the HodjaPasha Cultural Center were you can enjoy the istanbul dervishes performing the Mevlevi Sema Ceremony. I stayed 8 nights at the Septimum Hotel during the first segment of my visit to Turkey and the price was right.

Room Tip: Only two room per floor. Small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViajerodelUniverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked this hotel online based on reviews from others. It is well located, five to ten minutes away by foot from all the main attractions: Bosporus, Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque etc.

The reviews were spot on: warm welcome, clean room with all required accomodation if you're in Istanbul for a city trip. This means: you spent more time outside the hotel then in it. As such, it didn't bother us that the room was not that big. Breakfast was served in buffet according to Turkish standards: lot's of fruit and vegetables, local cheese, lot's of bread, olives, black tea ... as it should be.

Istanbul is a city that stole our hearts: more then 2000 years of history, coszy atmosphere, something to eat every 10 meters, .... you just keep walking around until your feed drop off. Do pay attention at the less know mosques, they are often as beautiful as the more known ones. All in all, we spent four days in Istanbul, enough for a first impression and eager enough to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#154 of 1,141 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ozhan Istanbul City
Ozhan Istanbul City
#711 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blu Hotel Istanbul
Blu Hotel Istanbul
#571 of 1,141 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Glamour Hotel
Glamour Hotel
#358 of 1,141 in Istanbul
43 reviews
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#583 of 1,141 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Esen Hotel
Grand Esen Hotel
#161 of 1,047 in Istanbul
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Septimum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Septimum Hotel

Property: Septimum Hotel
Address: Hocapasa Mah. Orhaniye Cad. No. 29 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Septimum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Septimum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing