We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All show no substance”

Palmiye Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #5,509 of 13,607 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All show no substance”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We felt good sitting down for our first lunch in the city. The staff were welcoming and friendly. All downhill from there. We ordered hummus and kebab dishes. After taking our order we never saw our waiter again (not an exaggeration) it is as if he quit right after putting our order in. Tables around us showed up 10 and 20 minutes later and were served and ate before we saw even the hummus. Not for lack of trying on our part after about 10 minutes we began asking any waiter about our order. We got the same answer. It will be ready in 2 minutes. It took nearly an hour to be served hummus and kebabs. The hummus was bland and our chicken was undercooked. Bad start to a city known for some pretty great food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dry and extremely bland food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Just behind the Basilica Cistern, this place has an excellent setting. However the food was tasteless and dry. The kebabs did not have any sauce or even yoghurt accompaniment. The Isgara Kofte kebab was small and very poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank sheepster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Such A lovely Place”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We Were Three with Friend's, very nice place and very good food. Servise was great and Dincer he was help us a lot... price also not expensive others place more expensive. .. Thanks Palmiye and Dincer...

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorgun2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multilingual staff”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Friendly staff. Nice location. OK food, does the job!! The head waiter speaks five languages! Very persuasive too :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spectre15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dino is very nice”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with lovely staff and Dino who works there is very and wasn't aggressive as he approached us to eat at the restaurant.

The food was very nice, my husband had the lamb kebab and I had the chicken casserole which was very tasty.

It's also located near Aya Sofia so it's a convenient location to stop off after seeing the sights.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SKA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmiye Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palmiye Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Palmiye Cafe Restaurant details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing