We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“abuse in prices, not clear with turists” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Mehmet Cafe & Restaurant

Sultan Mehmet Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #6,637 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“abuse in prices, not clear with turists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

From the stret it looks wonderful, nice, clean and once you enter they run to "help you" offering the different dishes telling you what you can have but they do not tell you the finl price, you think is one prie and at the end, they double it, arguing the dish you end up choosing was a diiferent one, obviously the most expensive. I had a veggy meal and o ask for little portions but wanted a sample of 6, they double the price. And very rude, there was no friendly discussion, no option, no apology. terrible!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 289vero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    21
    10
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice food!! Far too ecpensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

After my walk in top kapi we sat for a quick branch for Turkish grilled meat.
Restaurant was too simple inside. I didn't like that they service you as cheap tourist but the food was very nice. At the end we spent 30 euro/ person .... Far too expensive!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank savvastzeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

As the waiter seated us at a nice table, everything seemed to be fine. Things started to get strange, as he asked us if we want to have sweets and we said "no, only diner and a cay". Anyway, without having asked for, he brought us three small pieces of backlava. Turned out, that he charged us 10 Lira for those. Also the food and the cay turned out to be very expensive. So we ended up paying double price than the nights before. Finally we went home with a strange feeling of being fooled.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccc103_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much too overprized, food is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We went there to have 4 meze (starters) and an Adana kebab. With Ayran and two teas we pays 80 TL which is too much. The service and the quality of the food was average but far too overprized. Choose another restaurant if you dint want to get ripped off.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for something quick.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We visited this restaurant on our second day in Istanbul. To be honest it's ok just average. I had the Kebab which tasted fine, service was good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank king_2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultan Mehmet Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sultan Mehmet Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Sultan Mehmet Cafe & Restaurant details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing