We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ozi Pizza and Pasta

Ozi Pizza and Pasta
Ranked #24 of 13,290 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A little tired of kebabs we lighted on this small pizza restaurant one wet evening in May. The atmosphere was cosy, the chairs comfortable and the choice of pizzas dazzling. Four different pizzas arrived 45 minutes later all individually composed and they were fab. I had tuna ( none of your tinned stuff here) and it was without doubt the best pizza I have ever eaten. The staff were charming and though the cost was slightly more than the average price one might expect to pay it was worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    105
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband was craving something different and we ended up at Ozi Pizza! Thank God we did!! It's a charming and cozy little restaurant! The pizza may take a little longer, but it's well worth the wait! Not only was the pizza delicious, the complimentary tea and pistachio dessert was great too! So good, that we ended up ordering more! I had trouble deciding when flavor ice-cream I wanted with the dessert and finally opted for vanilla. However, the dessert came out with vanilla and all the other flavors for us to try!! He even gave me some tea to take home because I couldn't stop raving about it!! This sort of hospitality is rare to find and I would definitely recommend going there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank menka223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
354 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza but Unacceptable Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to this restaurant based on glowing past reviews. But here is a case where the reviews might make the staff less focused on providing good service.

First the good points: yes, the restaurant serves wonderful pizza, lovingly made; yes, the restaurant is small wonderful and inviting; yes, you get a complementary tea plus a very small dessert.

Now for the bad: people at only 2 other tables when we arrived. We placed our orders for drinks and 2 pizzas for 4 of us. Drinks arrived promptly. Pizzas never came - after 45 minutes when people all around us had been served, I asked waitress about our pizzas. Without a note of apology, she stated that the pizzas were home made (whose home?) and took extra time. After an hour when 4 people who came in after us, had almost finished their pizzas, I asked again about our pizza MIA. The owner came out and apologized - gave me a long explanation - gist was that the server had forgotten to put in our order. Apologies but no offer of bread, an appetizer...

The pizza finally came 75 minutes in - it was good but the sizes are misleading, their medium pizza is really like a small elsewhere and will be enough for one person. They have no small pizza. Their large pizza should be adequate for two but is not really a large. Because of this, their prices for Istanbul standards is quite high.

What still upsets me is whether the server ever thought of our missing pizzas while she was serving pizzas to people who had come in after us. We should have known that there might be issues since the couple beside us got one wrong entree and chose just to share the other one - they were not very happy.

In summary, great tasty pizzas in a nice atmosphere but don't assume good TripAdvisor reviews allow you to cut back on the quality of service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming place, superb food! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We went to check out this place after reading reviews on tripadvisor. It is a small cosy restaurant. We had to wait 5 minutes for a table to free up at which time they served apple tea on the house. The food took 30 mins to arrive but it was absolutely worth the wait. We had freshly made pizza with personalised toppings and 'manti' turkish ravioli made from scratch. The chef came to greet us towards the end, he seemed polite and very humble. The lovely waitress gave us another turkish tea and her own home-made sweet pistachio dessert on the house (sorry I fail to recall it's name). Overall it was an experience to remember, we felt welcomed into a home rather than a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Muna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Quiet and cozy place for dinner, excellent italian style pizza, no noise, nice background music, friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank J1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ozi Pizza and Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Ozi Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing