We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spooky”
Review of Butterfly Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Butterfly Suites
Ranked #536 of 1,221 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spooky”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here a night before taking an early morning flight to Antalya. Booked it in the basis of the several positive comments here on TA.
Location is at the back of a back alley!! dimly lit and felt unsafe initially (though having spent more time in Istanbul, can say that the city as a whole is safe enough).
Was pretty hard to locate as well, nobody in the vicinity seemed to be aware of this hotel.
Strange noises from the streets kept us awake most of the night.
Rooms were much smaller than they appear in the pics and the bed was very small too.
Only reason the hotel gets a generous 2 stars is becuase the reception staff (which is located 50 meters away from the hotel BTW) seemed nice and polite.
Wont stay at this hotel again. Hotels at Sultanahmet in a similar price range are migh nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Booked this for a 5 day trip to Istanbul. Initially booked it for proximity to taksim square and convention center but riots kind of spoilt the taksim square part of that equation and so no local transportation to taksim was available.
Anyway booked a deluxe suite and was given room 140 in butterfly 1 suites. Did not look like a deluxe room but stayed there since arrived at 11pm. Stayed here 2 nights before asking the front desk who said that i should have been in a deluxe suite all along but they didnt realise but they did change me to their sister accomodation at taksim suites for the last 2 nights. While the front desk were very helpful and friendly, I think things like this shouldnt really happen. But they wouldnt refund the difference since they said that the new room was more expensive but i have found out later that it is not the case.
As for the area- it is ok, looks very bad but really wasnt. Unfortunately the noise levels were high but we put it down to the protests at taksim square.
Rooms- The room was very small, the bathroom/toilet tiny and the 'kitchen' was just a small work top with a hob. The paint was peeling and there were spiders in the bathroom and the hot water for the shower was very intemittent with extremely hot to extremely cold although the sink was ok.
Free wifi was a good thing although even this was intermittent.
Direction: This is a very hard place to find particularly in the dark. best thing is if you walk away from taksim square, stay on the right side of the road and take the side road next to a betting place and the office if on the right at the first junction.

Conclusion: Overall very disappointed although this might be a one off since there are good reviews and my friend stayed at the deluxe suite which i should have got and she was very happy with the room.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe suite at the least and make sure you are given the correct type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Location is very central close to Taksim square and Istiklal street. Neighbourhood is not very quiet but reasonable compared to the intolerable noise in nearby Istiklal street. The room furniture quality is below average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NasrAllahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is an apartment home rather than a hotel with comfortable bed, updated bathroom, and a kitchenette. But breakfast is not provided even though we paid more for this place than another boutique hotel in the Istanbul Old City. We arrived for check-in around 9 pm, but had to wait for at least 20 minutes in the office because the room needed "extra cleaning". We later found out some water leaking problem in the shower stall. Since we only stayed for one night so we did not bother with it. This apartment home was next to a major bus terminal and the airport transfer bus, so the transportation was easy. The Taxim neighborhood is a lively shopping district so you can enjoy some last-minute shopping there if you are leaving Istanbul the next day. Overall, I would not recommend it if you are only staying in Istanbul for sightseeing purpose since you could probably find other cheaper better hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenenTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I went to Istanbul on my holiday and wanted to choose hotel near Taksim area. I choosed Butterfly suites. It was good choice. Hotel location was perfect, hotel was great. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly and always ready to help you. I would definitely choose this hotel again. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hapipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Location is very good near to Taksim square
People were so friendly specially Ali and that lady i don't remember here name
The only bad thing was that the bed room smelled cigarettes, it seems that there was a heavy smoker in the room just before us

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simsimsame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is the second time i choose butterfly suites as my accommodation place in Istanbul and would definitely do it again and again. The hotel is very cozy with perfect location , the rooms are clean and the staff are really very very friendly and helpful. I would suggest butterfly suites to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john47780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,006 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#88 of 1,154 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,154 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Suites

Property: Butterfly Suites
Address: Sehit Muhtar Mah. Altinbakkal Sok. No.26 | Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,221 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like at homeManaging restored 3 buildings which all have modern designed 13 suites. Our fully furnished apartments offer the location comfort, servıce and value to meet all your short and long term housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Butterfly Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing