We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets the standards a affordable rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Route 39

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Route 39
Ranked #455 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Kab al Jidad, Al Wusta, Sudan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meets the standards a affordable rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

excellent hostel ın a very good locatıon of modern town. well connected wıth publıc transport - tram and busses.
very clean and comfy rooms and good ratıo of bathrooms.

breakfast plentyfull but a lıttle strange ıs on the roof that adds an extra value

Room Tip: choose a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anactacios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
4
26
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great roof-top terrace for spending some time relaxing. Spacious dorm rooms with plenty of natural light and windows that open (very much appreciated in any dorm room). It is difficult to find at first (it's above a Domino's and there's no external sign for the hostel), but locale is extremely nice

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktrkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed here with my two friends while we were studying abroad in Istanbul because we wanted to spend a few nights in the heart of the city. I knew exactly what I was getting into when I stayed here. Like the name, Route 39, and dirt cheap price tag, imply, this is a no-frills hostel. I am reading about breakfast being provided in other reviews. I was unaware that they had breakfast, but wasn’t looking for it.
The people that stayed in this hostel seemed like a calm and polite crowd. We did not come in terribly late and everyone else was already asleep. It was very quiet, which was nice.
Mostly students, single travelers and backpackers stay here.
The bathrooms were clean enough. The beds were a little stiff, but also clean enough.
The location is excellent.

Don't go in expecting a luxury hotel and you will not be disappointed. I would highly recommend this to the budget traveler or students. Probably not a great family place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieinistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in Istanbul for 4 nights (though we'd planned on 5) at Route 39 in a private room. The rate is really affordable and it doeas include breakfast, wifi, and towels. The room itself was ok, with a decent bed and table/chair. We had a shared bathroom, which was also ok, not great.

Overall we were disapointed that in the heat of summer the hostel had no fans or a/c running. This meant that you could not come back to the hostel to unwind, cool off, relax, but rather we found ourselves avoiding having to go back solely for the heat. In order to stay cool we opened the windows, and found that the shop directly across the road was open til at least 3, and the owners and their kids were really noisy. On our first night we got very little sleep, so the next day we bought earplugs!!

Had there been some kind of fan or a/c in the room I'm sure we'd have enjoyed our stay a lot more. Unfortunately we ended our time in Istanbul early and I feel the hostel had a lot to do with this.

Staff were helpful and friendly and the location is good. You can access the tram within 5 minutes and it's about 10mins to Taksim square.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

After reading reviews about Istanbul you do not know what to expect
well.....I have found friends. route 39 is more than just a hostel
if like me you love to have life experiences. as well as visit a very interesting city. This is the place to begin the experience.
The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, genuine people around you are always ready to help
Maybe people assume that this is part of the price
but in my experience I can assure you that is not so
the hostel is simple, the services are appropriate for the price, or rather I must emphasize that breakfast is not including a service for hostel
position, excellence is 10 minutes from the (too touristy) center storicocol tram.
verament and close to everything you really want to see in a new city.
life in Istanbul is perhaps chaotic as in all large cities, but here you can find different angles so that is how to make 10 trips in1 ..... Hidden among the local streets around Istiklal experience not to miss the islands just an hour's ferry (no cars there) - and besiktas ... worth it to walk and find yourself in something that looks like a village on the sea with views of the bridge that connects East and West
I stopped several times in the hostel during my trip in Turkey and the thing that I like. is that the two young owners, are keen to the needs of each person.
and each time I found some extra service. and improvements
I look forward to go back and spend a wonderful evening on the terrace, overlooking the bosphorus, and exchange esperieze of life with international characters
see you soon guys

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denizemare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We chose this hostel because it was cheap and centrally located-but once we got there, we wished we had paid the extra money for something nicer! The building was old and run down and things were always breaking while we were there-the elevator, the lights, the doors not shutting properly, etc. Our double room had a child sized table and chairs (why??) and the bed linens were dingy and completely mismatched-old cartoon sheets, bleach stained flower pillow cases, and a duvet cover that looked like it had seen better days. The hostel is located on a busy and very noisy street, and if you open the windows to keep cool (there is no fan in the room) good luck going to sleep with the constant noise outside! The walls are also super thin-you can hear almost everything in the rooms next to you. The communal bathrooms were gross and the lights went off sporadically, not to mention some mornings there was no hot water.

This hostel has some positives-the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, I have only good things to say about them. There is free wifi, and a bar if you're looking to mingle with other hostel guests. Breakfast was nice, as was the rooftop terrace and its view of the water. The hostel is a short walk to the streetcar that will easily and quickly take you to all the favorite tourist sites in Istanbul, and there is a grocery store right across the street from the hostel, a Dominos right outside, and some little restaurants on the same street. It's also cheap, but you get what you pay for.

This is a good hostel for travelers trying to stick to a shoestring budget and backpackers who aren't very picky. Personally, it was a little too sketchy for me, and though I had a wonderful time in Istanbul, I was glad to leave this hostel! But at least we came away with some funny stories!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was traveling with my mum and we got a double room. The place is located in a shabby old building adiacent a Domino pizza and over a crowed road. It is divided in 6floors, all the rooms are on the road and not being the windows double glazed they are noisy. The rooms are very basic just a bed, a children table, a bin and a thin small white curtain over the window absolutely nothing else. The bathrooms (sharing and ensuite) have no windows and the fan is not working. The showers have no hangers or shelves, anything you get inside go on the floor. The common area is on the last floor, breakfast is basic not much choise and the roof top could have a better view. Internet was very slow. The only plus is a supermarket right in front the hostel's door and the proximity to the tube. Reaching taksim square on foot could be hard for elderly people as it is at the end of a 600 mt uphill with a Inclination of 50% but lots of taxis pass by so hop in one if you need to go there. Generally I did not like the place and would choose another hostel next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 39

Property: Route 39
Address: Mebusan Yokusu 39 | Taksim Findikli Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Hotel Class:1 star — Route 39 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the Route 39 is just over a quarter mile from the lively restaurants, bars and shops of Istiklal Avenue and Cihangir area. The hostel has a terrace and rooms with free Wi-Fi.All rooms at the Route 39 include heating. Some rooms have a private bathroom while others include shared bathroom facilities.You can relax with a cup of tea and coffee during the day on our rooftop-terrace with a Bosporus view. The friendly staff can provide you with local information and help you arrange activities. Laundry service is also available on site.The Findikli Tram Stop which provides easy access to the historic Sultanahmet area, is 215 yards away. Kabatas Ferry Port is a quarter mile, Taksim Metro Station is just under half a mile from the property. Ataturk Airport is 12 miles from the property.Beyoglu is a great choice for travelers interested in Galleries, Street Musicians and Beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Route 39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing