We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to explore Sultanahmet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Ranked #52 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location to explore Sultanahmet”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This is a great location to explore the Old City. Most tourist attractions like the Ayasofya, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar are walking distance.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Cem Ocal and his team made all the effort to make us feel comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MGJ1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    196
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
240
276
56
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel on a three-day trip to Istanbul and overall quite happy that I did.

Location: hard to beat, firstly because the hotel is within easy walking distance from all the landmarks from the Topkapi Palace to the Grand Bazaar, and only a minute’s walk from the Sultanahmet tramway stop (maybe two minutes’ if you are carrying luggage) on the Divan Yolu street – the tram will quicky take you to most of the other destinations in Istanbul, or places where you can make connections to get there. And yet, despite being in the center of the tourist district, you don’t get any noise from the hustle-bustle of Divan Yolu (or any adjacent pedestrian streets that are lined with cafes and restaurants), because the hotel is tucked away in one of the quiet back streets off it.

Breakfast: By far the best breakfast I had during my entire trip to Turkey.

Service: Excellent service and care from every staff member throughout entire stay (to one of the gentlemen at the reception desk who sold me a 22 lira bus transfer to the Sabiha Gokcen airport on the Asian side: Sir, thank you very much, it worked like a charm).

TV: More channels than I could flick through during the three nights I spent at the hotel.


A few little niggles (none of which, nor all of which combined, would be a deal breaker to this reviewer – listed purely in the interest of honesty and hope of improvement in the future):

Welcome drink: Not that I expected one to begin with, so this is in no way a complaint, but it just seems to me that if a hotel chooses to offer it, it should be something a little more high-end than of those cheap orange-flavored soft drinks. A glass of cay (Turkish tea) as a farewell drink was a nice touch, though.

Noise/soundproofing: if the guests staying in a room next to yours start, say, arguing, chances are you will hear them doing so – I did, but only once.

Cleanliness: No issues, except for some barely visible film-like residue on the lower insides of the shower doors and a slight offish smell in the bathroom on arrival.

No lighting fixture installed above the mirror in the bathroom.

Shelving/storage space: there is little (space within the closet is taken up by the minibar, safebox, hanger compartment and pillows), so you pretty much have to live out of your suitcase (I wasn’t terribly bothered to, though).

The minibar has been placed inside the closet and does heat up everything inside it a bit.

Overall value: very solid 4/5, would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Found this hotel on the highly rated scale via internet prior to trip. Lived up to its reputation. Greeting warm and friendly. Small cake and cherry juice on arrival. Room nice and clean with spotless bathroom. Lovely buffet breakfast with small variation of items daily, including fresh seasonal fruit and fresh excellent tea or coffee. Location was excellent with a short walk just minutes to the tram, shops, restaurants, Sofia Hagia, Topkapi and the Blue mosque at Sultanahmet. Not far from the Grand Bazaar and Spice market, and Eminonu for the boat tours. Tranquil and peaceful with no traffic noise at all, and a fabulous fresh fruit and veg shop around the corner. Be aware there is no restuarant at the hotel but then there is so much close by, it is not needed. Non smoking rooms available. Loved our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Double room was adequate for a couple but we like more room so next time, we would book two double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dashing4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The reviews were overwhelming so I figured we couldn't go wrong.
For starters the hotel is in an incredible location in the old city of Istanbul. Every site of consequence and the Grande Bazaar are all in walking distance.
At first the street looks questionable but as you walk around you realize its one of the few that is actually quiet at night.
The rooms are modern, clean, functional and yes small. But so are all the other rooms in this category hotel.
Breakfast is a nice fresh selection, you will not go hungry.
The WiFi works well with endless devices to take advantage of it.
As for the staff they are friendly to the point of being too much in your face. Don't take it the wrong way, they just try very hard to please.
Overall a wonderful experience, great location and value.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the second or third floor as the floor one rooms are just off the street. If you requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker2008_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, GR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I spend a total of two months a year travelling in few cities (Europe, North America and Asia) mainly for business purposes. I don't have the time for hotel reviews but Efendi Hotel is an exception. I've stayed in few places in Sultanahmet area and to say the least were overpriced and being old or even innovated, still had issues with isolation just to state one. Efendi is new and very well equipped with a modern look and excellent room isolation. Rooms good sized since in the area are usually very small, linens and bathroom very clean. Breakfast is of excellent quality and good choice. The hidden secret of Efendi Hotel is the staff. They make you feel not at home but better than home. The cleaning ladies, front desk, waiters, everybody and I mean it. I saw most of the times CEM in front desk, he can tell you everything about the city and he loves to do it. At breakfast I was always treated by AYHAN who is so kind and excellent cook with his small bureks (don't miss them). At Efendi they can book for your airport pick-up which is same price as taxi except bigger van, new and clean. I recommend it because the area has many hotels and narrow roads and cab drivers spend time to locate places. Slightly cheaper if you return since they don't pay to park. Exceptional hospitality, definitely value for money and for me friends and the place to stay when I am in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yannisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is beautiful, elegant and comfortable. The room was very clean. We stayed for a week. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Ayhan was always ready to help us . The breakfast was good. The hotel is close to the Sultanahmet tram station, the Sultan Ahmed Mosque, Aya Sofia, the Topkapı Palace. Everything good they tell about Efendi hotel is truth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after a spin around south of Turkey and it was the perfect hotel to wind down before going back home. It was tucked somewhere really quiet but at the same time it was 2 minutes from all the lovely restaurants and shisha cafes.

Most importantly the service at this hotel is by far the best I have ever had and I have been to over 100 hotels. They made me feel like I was at home, the part that I loved the most is when they brought the breakfast up to my room because we were really tired after a long trip in Antalya. Special thanks to Gokhen/Gokhan he was very helpful.

The rooms were small but really new and had a very nice design.

Overall great hotel and would recommend!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyHakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,140 in Istanbul
289 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#142 of 1,140 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#67 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,140 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,140 in Istanbul
978 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,140 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"

Property: Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11, Istanbul 34112, Turkey (Formerly Efendi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efendi Hotel is only 300 meters from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. The Grand bazaar is a an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing