We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great vacation in a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Ranked #51 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This was a great trip! Location excellent, friendly and very helpful staff ;) It is a pity that it was a too short vacation :( It`s elegant place, but also very cozy and nice, for a reasonable price for ordinary tourist. I will definitely return there as soon as I can. I heartily recommend to all!
Best regards,
Piter

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotrek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

I spent the entire weekend in this Hotel.
"Efendi Hotel" is located in the very good place, in the vicinity of the old town.
Very much quiet surroundings appealed to me and simultaneously better communication with the most important points İstanbul.
Amazing interior design style, it is very important for me, since the visual balance is a key for me to success and is very essential.
Willingly I will use these spaces during my another visit in Turkey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

i stayed here for two nights and it was totally legendary. so easy to explore whole city and the services were great. The tours were enjoying. Bosphorus bellydancers... I can't forget the Istanbul and the efendi Otel. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alleyandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a week in this nice hotel, which is excellent located in a quiet street but only few minutes walk away from main atractions in Sultanahmed and very important near to tram station. Hotel staff is very good, helpful and we realy felt like we were staying in a family. Breakfast is good, with changing backery products every day. Rooms are well equipped, not big, the bed could be more comfortable. The bathroom has an excellent shower.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on street are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stojan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location is perfect to explore the historic places in Istanbul. It is walking distance from the main attractions. The room was clean and of good size. Staff were very friendly and helpful. When we asked the recepcion to recommend us traditional turkish restaurant a member of staff took us to the restaurant himself. The night shift receptionist was the friendliest. We arrived 2am in the morning and they were waiting for us and welcomed us with a drink. They even prepared very early breakfast at 3am for us. We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel and great time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilicik b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a great location to explore the Old City. Most tourist attractions like the Ayasofya, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar are walking distance.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Cem Ocal and his team made all the effort to make us feel comfortable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MGJ1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel on a three-day trip to Istanbul and overall quite happy that I did.

Location: hard to beat, firstly because the hotel is within easy walking distance from all the landmarks from the Topkapi Palace to the Grand Bazaar, and only a minute’s walk from the Sultanahmet tramway stop (maybe two minutes’ if you are carrying luggage) on the Divan Yolu street – the tram will quicky take you to most of the other destinations in Istanbul, or places where you can make connections to get there. And yet, despite being in the center of the tourist district, you don’t get any noise from the hustle-bustle of Divan Yolu (or any adjacent pedestrian streets that are lined with cafes and restaurants), because the hotel is tucked away in one of the quiet back streets off it.

Breakfast: By far the best breakfast I had during my entire trip to Turkey.

Service: Excellent service and care from every staff member throughout entire stay (to one of the gentlemen at the reception desk who sold me a 22 lira bus transfer to the Sabiha Gokcen airport on the Asian side: Sir, thank you very much, it worked like a charm).

TV: More channels than I could flick through during the three nights I spent at the hotel.


A few little niggles (none of which, nor all of which combined, would be a deal breaker to this reviewer – listed purely in the interest of honesty and hope of improvement in the future):

Welcome drink: Not that I expected one to begin with, so this is in no way a complaint, but it just seems to me that if a hotel chooses to offer it, it should be something a little more high-end than of those cheap orange-flavored soft drinks. A glass of cay (Turkish tea) as a farewell drink was a nice touch, though.

Noise/soundproofing: if the guests staying in a room next to yours start, say, arguing, chances are you will hear them doing so – I did, but only once.

Cleanliness: No issues, except for some barely visible film-like residue on the lower insides of the shower doors and a slight offish smell in the bathroom on arrival.

No lighting fixture installed above the mirror in the bathroom.

Shelving/storage space: there is little (space within the closet is taken up by the minibar, safebox, hanger compartment and pillows), so you pretty much have to live out of your suitcase (I wasn’t terribly bothered to, though).

The minibar has been placed inside the closet and does heat up everything inside it a bit.

Overall value: very solid 4/5, would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyronNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#25 of 1,163 in Istanbul
318 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#45 of 1,163 in Istanbul
849 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#32 of 1,163 in Istanbul
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"

Address: Alemdar Mah. Hoca Rustem Mektebi Sok. No:9-11, Istanbul 34112, Turkey (Formerly Efendi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efendi Hotel is only 300 meters from the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. The Grand bazaar is a an 8-minute walk from Efendi Hotel. Local restaurants, bars and cafes are within a couple minutes’ walk away. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. On our Rooftop Terrace you can become familiar with Turkish Breakfast Culture served as a buffet which is provided with intimate, attentive service while enjoying a panoramic view over Istanbul's Old City. Next to our Patio Terrace, we host our Terrace Cafe/Bar, A place to wine and dine, socialize and relax, write postcards, use Wi-Fi or take photographs of Istanbul’s famous landmarks. Open 15:00 – 23:00 daily (except Sundays) The Efendi Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue. Our carpeted rooms with genuine black-out curtains include; air conditioning (The heating system is eco-friendly; the heat from the air conditioner is reused to heat fresh water) minibar(on the guest expense) an LCD TV with international satellite channels, antibacterial light switch and a digital safe box. Private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries and bathrobes & slippers. A coffee and tea basket is free of charge only on the first day. You can benefit from laundry and room service at the Efendi Hotel. Arrangements for transportation by private car to/from either of Istanbul’s airports (Ataturk and Sabiha Gokcen) can be made for all guests by contacting reception. Transportation cost is the guest’s expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class" details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing