We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #102 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Near Taksim square, this hotel has it all. Views, location, service and food options. One of the best breakfast selections we have ever seen. The SAFRAN restaurant at the top of the hotel offers spectacular views of Istanbul which are only surpassed by the food and the wine list. The wait staff is well trained and very helpful.

The room had gorgeous views of the Bosphorus and easy access to many sites, smells, sounds, and activity.

One of our favorites - at least on THIS planet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear John E,

Thank you very much for sharing your grievances regarding your stay at InterContinental Istanbul. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to it to our attention and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay.

With the best regards,

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    515
    133
    37
    22
See reviews for
298
506
114
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As all Intercontinentals, very elegant, stylish and comfortable hotel, contributing to making your stay in Istanbul truly unforgettable. The lobby is impressive with stylish artwork to make the place stand out as truly exceptional. The rooms with Bosphorus view allow a magnificient view on this shipping artery, and the location close to Taksim Sq allows easy access to safe and convenient tram and underground system, or is just a short taxi ride away from all major attractions.

Room Tip: Bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAU2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear FAU2409,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear that we met all your expectations. Again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed prior to joining a cruise and the service was great. Restaurants and rooms were excellent. Close to all tourist attractions. The staff were very helpful. Views of the ocean and surrounds were superb.

Room Tip: Room with a view as it is a very active port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsibley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear bsibley,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about you most recent stay at InterContinental Istanbul. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as service from our staff.
l
We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed every bit of it.

Hotel is just on one corner of Taksim square so you feel like you are there when you want it and you can avoid it when you like to.

The moment you reach the hotel, bell boys are attentive and ready to help, checking inn was smooth and everything was ready as requested.

Rooms were of adequate size , bathroom were well laid out and had plush towels. over all everything had the Intercont feel to it.

We had breakfast at the hotel, which was quite a treat, a lot of variety, turkish breads are a must try, specially the sesame seeds one. Staff was very helpful.

Pool looked very inviting, but weather was little chilli to dip into it.

We used Spa and found it very professional, For me it was first time that the table had a warmer in it, which really felt very nice, the staff at the spa was good, even in changing rooms there were so helpful.

An excellent stay over all, would definitely stay here when we are back in Istanbul.

Ooo, We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs, food was good, reasonably prices and view was just spectacular. definitely worth trying.

When you are staying here, do visit Hafiz Mustafa near Taksim square, they are one 24 hours, there Baklava and tea selection was amazing.

Room Tip: Restaurant on the top has spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Khurram,

First of all let us thank you for your detailed review and to provide us with valuable customer's feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property and more then this we did meet all your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy that you had wonderful experience. Thank you very much for your nice compliments towards our staff. You may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Around the world
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location .. Steps away from the sea and from taksim square

The breakfast was great ... Lots of variety

Really clean and comfy

The room has a great ocean view and one night I got to see an amazing fire work

It was a memorable stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Kewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear M_Kewan,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. We are very delighted to hear that our hotel and service exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul as well.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirm
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Intercontinental Istanbul is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of Taksim Square. A short walk will get you to the metro, a ride on the funicular railway gets you to the tram stop at Kabatas, from where you can easily get into the old city.

I stayed in a Junior suite overlooking the pool and the park. The room was large, had plenty of seating and cupboard space (3 double wardrobes), a spacious bathroom (although I think this was an accessible room) a second guest bathroom, in room safe (big enough to fit a couple of iPads and a 10 inch notebook)

The spacious bathroom had a lighted shaving mirror, his and her's sinks, shower cubicle and a bath with shower and hand shower, in short extremely well appointed.

Room service was electric, the ice bucket test took only a few minutes. The hotel has free wifi and I had no problems with connection or speed, all in all quite impressive.

My only slight complaint would be the number of accessible electric points, there were a few behind the TV which I couldn't get to, so if I had to change one thing in the room it would be to install one of those hub/power banks to provide a bit more juice for today's ever burgeoning list of gadgets that we all travel with.

The hotel was very clean throughout, service was of the highest standard, the club lounge has stunning views over The Bosphorous and provides an adequate breakfast.

The hotel is nothing much to look at from the outside but has a beautiful spacious lobby, the front desk staff were efficient and polite.

On the roof the 'City Lights' bar is well worth a visit although drinks are somewhat pricey. the outdoor pool is also very clean and seems to have adequate seating.

Overall I was very impressed and pleased with my 3 night stay here. Would I visit this hotel again? Definitely yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Ilrich,

First of all let us thank you for your detailed review and to provide us with valuable customer's feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property and more then this we did meet all your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, so as found our staff efficient, and location exellent. Thank you very much for your nice compliments towards our Room service. You may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The floor to ceiling window with a spectacular view over the city and harbour made this hotel a winner for us. The rooms are spacious and clean. After an irritating slow check in the staff redeemed themselves with courteous and helpful service. The breakfast has great variety. The hotel is located near Taksim Square, the metro and the main shopping street. There are a variety of restaurants and cafes in the area. Our only complaint would be the price if food in the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a harbour view which includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Robbear,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management.
Once again, thank you for your observations also regarding the food prices. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#97 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing