We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd stay here again (if someone else pays)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #98 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again (if someone else pays)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Overall the experience was great. Fabulous view of the Bosphorus (from the City Lights bar) and of Taksim (from room). I think my main issue was the fact that the room felt a bit old (I have stayed at new hotels lately). A place I'd like to stay at -- but only if my employer pays the bill. The lobby and the common areas were still top notch and seemed recently renovated. It is the first hotel (out of some 50 in the last five years) that emptied the mini bar because I only registered a debit card, and not a credit card.

Things inside the hotel (haircuts, food, drinks) are expensive. But who cares when there are so many other places around?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mounzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mounzo,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear that we met your expectations. Again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations, in particular regarding the deposit payment upon check/in. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    508
    129
    36
    22
See reviews for
297
494
108
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week for holiday. The hotel room is bit wore out and old after years. The bathtobe is not so clean. My friend and i usually wemt to Divan cross road for dinner while food was better and cheaper there than in the hotel. Though we did enjoy the skybar view of bosephorus. It is fabulous!!! Nothing better than sitting near the window and watch ships enter and exit this port. I would also recommend to use the spa, pool and gym while stay, after a day strolling in Istanbul. I was dying for a turkish spa and some water therapy. But the food quality is really bit disappointing for this classic 5star hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Yan L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel Spa and we do apologize that we didn't meet your expectations about our rooms and food in the restaurant.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations and review recommendations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Informed I was being treated to an upgrade for one night only. Actually they were more interested in maximising occupancy by shuffling guests around different rooms. Moved to my original room the next day. Thrilled to see what a good time previous occupant had. The condom wrapper in the middle of the floor gave me a clue. Ick. Other than retrieving the offending material not much interest from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Unraveling_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Bonglie,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel rooms are kept spotlessly clean.We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience regarding the room, because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again we appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very clean and friendly hotel, a bit dated with the decor and bathrooms. We could see the water from our room, but directly in front was rather an ugly old parking structure. The hotel location is central, close to Taksim Square, but a bit of an island in the middle of some busy streets and not ideal for walking, although close to everything. We explored the nearby Besiktas neighborhood, which was a pleasant surprise. Lots of nice waterfront restaurants full of locals and very friendly service. Great for people watching and getting a feeling for the local Istanbul life. The streets around the W Hotel are particularly high end and beautifully designed. We particularly liked the hotel restaurant and bar. Great, food, drinks service and views. We opted not to have breakfast included, as it was great to try different places on Istiklal Street nearby. We did enjoy the fancy little bakery in the lobby though!

Room Tip: A room higher up is always better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WombatMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear WombatMunich,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to let us know about it. We are very glad to hear that you had exceptional experience. It motivates our team for the best service !
Once again thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Istanbul and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms quite spacious, meals excellent. Views over the city and Borphorus. Palace and cruising boats close by. Can walk to many great restaurants. A wonderful experience. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Sandra B,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. We are very delighted to hear that our hotel and service exceeded your expectations.

I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul as well.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirm
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a business conference setup in Intercontinental, Istanbul in March 2014.
It is centrally located in one of the porch areas of Istanbul (Taksim).

Rooms are pretty nice with cool ambiance and great views.
Food in the Verandah restaurant was great and service was very prompt.
We had arranged for buffet for a couple of days and it was indeed a great food menu; however when the days passed we felt the menu to be repeating.

Breakfast is grand and you can also order for your preference like omelets etc that would be served on the table.

Conference rooms were spacious with all required amenities for our conferences and we didn't find any difficulty in any arrangements done by the hotel.

Views from the roof top restaurant are just amazing and during the night it gives you a complete different feeling.

There is Sauna on the Gym floor which is setup nicely along with the provision of having Turkish Bath. We enjoyed this almost everyday!!

You can take cab from the hotel itself to have a city tour and also to visit Grand Bazar for some shopping!

All in all, Intercontinental was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manikanth_mxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Manikanth_mxm,

First of all let us thank you for your detailed review and to provide us with valuable customer's feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our property and more then this we did meet all your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy that you had wonderful conference experience. Thank you very much for your nice compliments towards our service. You may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.
Once again, thank you for your kind observations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is definitely a 4-5 star property. The lobby is beautifully designed with a staircase lined with crystal-style dowels, clean entry, door personnel, a welcoming staff, crystal chandeliers, and much more. The breakfast buffet is well presented with numerous varieties of fruits, breads, condiments, meats, cheeses, hot items, etc. There is also an order bar where you can have made-to-order egg dishes fixed your way.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with many amenities offered in the bathroom, including robes and slippers.
This hotel has easy access to major roads leading into the old city. Walking to the local mall or any nearby restaurants requires a 10 - 15 walk. The restaurant in the hotel offers many items at many varied prices... can be pricey.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a higher floor for a view of the river and Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer4status
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Golfer4status,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Istanbul.

Warm Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing