We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #102 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed here 3 nights prior to embarking on our cruise. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We arrived at the check-in desk about 10:45 on Easter Sunday directly from the airport and our overnight flight. Check in was quick and when we asked if they were still serving breakfast, the desk called up to the restaurant to let them know we would be coming up for breakfast to be certain they kept the buffet out for us. We were greeted cordially then in the restaurant and every morning thereafter. The concierge recommended wonderful restaurants and made reservations for us. The staff at the rooftop lounge was also very pleasant and eager to please. The food was excellent both at breakfast and in the lounge. All of the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were so happy to be so centrally located. we took the tram to Sultanahmet and it was very convenient. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Istanbul.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    515
    133
    37
    22
See reviews for
298
506
114
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
357 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Bumped to a suite, we were thrilled on entry to see one of the larger rooms in our travels. Spacious, well laid out, with windows low enough you can see out to the Bosphorus sitting down. Staff both very friendly and helpful. The evening business lounge food was the best we have had worldwide and watching the sunset from the 16th floor was incredible. They have done an excellent job all around.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Its nice to enter a large well appointed lobby, check in at a well staffed desk with no wait, be conducted to a large well appointed room and get your luggage directly, have a good view, and not have to demand a better room. Istanbul can be a difficult place for non Turkish speakers, but we found the Concierge staff to be so helpful and kind, giving us detailed instructions that made getting around pretty easy, by underground and tram. This was necessary, as Taxi travel can be a disaster owing to the traffic in this town. One evening leaving for dinner at 7PM for a restaurant on the Bosporus, after 1 hour and 15 minutes, the non-English speaking taxi driver let us off at a different restaurant as he gave up trying to get to the original address. Unfortunately, his tolerance for "traffic" made him take "short cuts" which only got us into more traffic congestion. Had he stayed on the normal route we would have gotten where we we supposed to, albeit 15 minutes late. When we reported our adventure to the Concierge department, they were very upset and took it upon themselves to take us to the airport on checkout gratis with the hotel car (a new Mercedes). This is a delightful reasonably priced low 5 star property which we unhesitatingly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurJMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi, united arab emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We booked 2 rooms on the spring promotion which included upgrades, discounts on food and services and breakfast. One room was upgraded to a suite as per the promotion. We requested connecting rooms, but the hotel was too busy and they had none available. Breakfast was good and included some local foods as well as international. My daughter tried the Turkish bath in the spa which is free to all guests and went during ladies only hours 12 -2 pm weekdays. She also had a body scrub and swedish massage which she really liked. We used room service every night for dinner and my daughter loved their lentil soup. They were always efficient and fast. After coming in from the cold the lobby was inviting and we drank hot chocolate and tea. The location was great, a short walk from Istiklal street with cafes and shops and beware the area is very busy> Location was not an issue for us because we had a private driver. Can't imagine staying anywhere else. The price for this hotel is great as compared with the other 5 star hotels at 1000 Eurose/room. We paid 245 Euros/room and really enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed at the Intercontinental Ceylan for 4 nights and I must admit that the location of the hotel is excellent.

The hotel is located on Taksim square (5’min walking) which is the centre of everything: restaurants, bars, shops etc.

Further it is close to the metro station (5’min walking), nostalgic tram (10’min walking) and Kabatas tram station (10-15’min walking) which is the tram you’ll use the most in Istanbul. Trams run every 10-15’min and can take you to all important sites.
I draw your attention to taxis. You should always keep an eye to the meter.

We stayed in a Bosporus view room…the view was amazing….i really recommend it.
The breakfast was very good and the staff very polite and helpful.

You should try the Turkish bath experience in the hotel spa….But have a look at the rates if you want any other treatment (massage, etc). I think that the rates are too high!!!

I didn’t have the opportunity to try the food and beverages at the hotel restaurants…but I tried the room service and I have to say that the service was good, the food and rates ok but not anything particular.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank invivo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYRIA
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2010

i stayed at the Ceylan Intercontinental from the 4th of March up to the 8th of march 2010.
We stayed at the club floor but we were given the smallest room on that floor which happens to be located at the end of the corridor. the room was too small.
Service was very good and staff very helpful... specialy the concierge service is excellent!

We found the Food and beverages too expensive, specialy the top floor bar/

We went to the spa for a half hour massage each and ended up paying something around 200usd for both of us.... Watch the rates...

I find this hotel very good but nothing beats my favourite hotel in Istanbul... THE RITZ CARLTON.... simply the best!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM-SYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed in Ceylan Intercontinental during a buisiness conference I had to attend.
The first impression I got during the check in, was as great as the last, when I checked out.
Luxurious and spacious lobby, friendly and helpful staff, very good food, excellent location.
My room was on the 12th floor with a spectacular view, spacious enough, always very clean, with a very comfortable bed.
The only little problem I had, is that I had to pay 15 euros per day to have internet access, or 30 euros for 3 days. I really needed the internet, and that's the only reason that I payed for it, but I still think that it was insanely expensive...
Despite this, I had a wonderful stay, and I think the same did the rest of my colleagues.
If I ever go back to Istanbul, this is the first place that I will choose to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeylaKorur, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 March 2010
Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,

Ceyla Korur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#97 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing