We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Istanbul
Ranked #102 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Hotel is good for business trips, not in a trendy part of Istanbul (not too far from it but not walking distance). The hotel does have an excellent gym (one of the best anywhere as far as space, equipment and pros, and then treadmills, etc.) and a great turkish steam room (time for men only, women only (recommended time for women to use without a bunch of men with/without towels) and then mixed). The restaurants on the top floor are very good and great ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck1projects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest ,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,

Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    515
    133
    37
    22
See reviews for
298
506
114
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Excellent location. Located in Taksim square. Shopping, Restaurants, night life, tourist attractions, metro - you name it .. they got it..
Amazing views and wonderful staff. a lot of meeting space and beautiful gardens, restaurants, Spa - I wish I had more time at this hotel.
they were so flexible with my schedule and had spa attendant come early so I can get my turkish bath and massage done at 7:00am... now that's service

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and hotel during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I just got back from a wonderful trip to Istanbul and it was topped off by the terrific service and hospitality and beauty of the Intercontinental hotel. A thumbs up to all the staff with a special mention to a Mr. Dogan. He upgraded us on checkin to a junior suite and offered us complimentary hot chocolate while waiting for the room. The room was incredible and made our stay very comfortable. It was so nice that we had to fight with ourselves to leave the room to sell the sights. Overall, Istanbul was a great place to visit - the only negative that has nothing to do the hotel was the taxi prices - they are so expensive especially if you are from Thailand like I am. Try to use the metro or tram whenever possible :) Also use turkeytravelplanner.com to plan your trip and use the backpackers tour company for the airport transfers :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,

Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The lobby and concierge of this hotel are both most impressive. When hailing a taxi they provide you with a card of what you should expect rates to be so that you aren't ripped off. The rooms themselves are a bit dated but this might be in line with the design of the hotel (80s glamour almost). The high tea is expensive but with a wide range to choose from well worth the money. The spa is what I truly enjoyed. The relaxation room has marble beds which are heated and overlook the bosphorous, an awesome experience. They also have a hamam in the spa which is useful to get a taste of Turkish culture (although not as authentic as the Cembelitas hamami)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,

Victoria Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I picked this hotel for a three day leisure trip. It proved to be a great choice. It is well located close to Taxim square, but also away from all the fuss. The rooms are comfortable and kept well cleaned. A room with a bosporous view would be a good choise, allthough more expensive. Roof top bar also great with wonderful view of the city. Hotel staff is friendly and efficient and will provide any information needed for travelers.However they should pay more attention to breakfast wich is not up to five star hotel standards. Expensive internet use and lack of an indoor swimming pool are a disadvantage for the ones on business trips or those looking for realaxation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielaure6854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I read somewhere that the Istanbul Intercon won their company award for the best hotel in the Group. After this stay I can believe it. I used to stay here but it was very bad - now its really top class and probably the best in Istanbul and I know - Ive stayed in most of the big chain hotels there.

Its not cheap but then none of the big hotels in Istanbul are. The Club Floor is worth the extra for the facilities to hand that you would normally pay extra for - internet access, Club Lounge etc

I stayed on the Club floor and the room was excellent - I have absolutely no adverse comments. Staff were friendly and the food beverage outlets were well managed, full of choice and clean/tidy. A real change from 10 years ago.

My only complaint - two in fact. Do not use their limo service from the Airport - its Euro 177 for a 20 minute drive - get a taxi at Euro25 instead - that Euro 177 is extortion but seemingly people pay it or they wouldn't be charging it !

The other complaint - somebody decided to paint something one evening and the Air Conditioning spread the smell of gloss paint throughout the hotel - nasty but only temporary and it was not so bad in the room itself.

A really top notch hotel and my choice for all my future stays.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Faithfully yours,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I spent four nights here on business. They gave me a room on the fifth floor with two double beds. It was brand new and spotless. A bit on the small side but the great thing was it was at the end of the hall so no neighbors across the hall and on one side of me. I had a reasonable Bosphorus view (Bridge). I ate the breakfast one morning which was fantastic but very expensive. I had some laundry done and it was the most I've ever paid for this service anywhere in the world. Service was prompt and high quality.

You can walk in 2 minutes to Taksim Square which along with İstiklal Caddesi has endless shops and great restaurants. A cab ride across the Golden Horn to Hagia Sophia costs around 8 USD which is worth it. One day I walked all the way there and it took a few hours of casual strolling by Galata Tower and over the Galata Bridge.

The beds were very firm and comfortable with lovely feather pillows. No noise. This was one of the nicest places in which I've stayed around the world.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VYildirim, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Ceylan InterContinental Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,495 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#97 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Istanbul

Property: InterContinental Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Cad 1 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star ambiance at Istanbul's one of the best address and in the heart of the city. InterContinental Istanbul is the ideal base from which to explore this Ottoman capital city's endless historic sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. Located in Taksim,commanding stunning views of the Bosphorus,Taksim,Skyline of Istanbul and the Blue Mosque,the hotel is in a short walk from Dolmabahce Palace and Lutfi Kirdar Congress Hall. Our attentive staff will also point out your desired places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Istanbul Ceylan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing