We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location (for Tourists) Aside, It;s a Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Ranked #73 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This location in Taksim might be good for business and night life but it's a ten minute walk to the tram and then a half hour public transport schlep to the tourist area of Sultanahmet. The traffic around the hotel is jammed to a crawl; the taxis at Sultanahment told us to take the tram back because it would take half as long.

And you take your life in your hands trying to cross the streets. But if you stay more than a couple of days, as we did, you eventually get good at it and it's fun. It might help to practice in Rome first.

Once you can cross streets, there are some good restaurants in the area. Try both locations of Faros, the close Italian one and the slightly further traditional Turkish.

Still with me? OK, let's talk about the hotel. We had a beautiful large room with lots of counter and storage space. Big bathroom with separate tub and rainforest + hand shower, but only a single sink. The cutesy folding translucent shutters between bathroom and bedroom mean you can't turn on the bathroom light at night without disturbing your partner. And make sure those shutters are closed or she will see you on the loo.

Lavish breakfast buffet with Turkish and western dishes. Fresh orange juice and lip-puckering pomegranate juice. Dinner menu at 34 Restaurant is adequate but sugar addicts will go wild over the 20 lira dessert buffet: baklava's just the beginning. Our last night, we stopped in after dinner just for the dessert; one plate was plenty for the four of us.

The free wifi worked fine. Message light winked during our entire stay despite no messages and several complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
Thank you very much for your constructive criticism regarding the message light and shutter between bathroom and bedroom. I would like to share with you that we do have rooms without the shutters on the 3rd and 4th floor and also all the suite rooms do not include this shutters. Should you have any additional comments that you would like to share, please do not hesitate to contact us as your feedback will help to guide our continued search for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great 5 star hotel in Istanbul, close to the taksim square and not so far from ataturk airport. The Hyatt is in the european side, close to many other 5 stars hotels.
It has got luxury rooms, a nice gym with a great view, and one great italian restaurant (Spazio), which is worth a visit everytime you're in the city.
The rooms sometimes are noisy because the doors are not very good to isolate the chamber, but it's enough to ask for a room away from elevators.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
Thank you very much for your constructive criticism regarding the door isolation. Should you have any additional comments that you would like to share, please do not hesitate to contact us as your feedback will help to guide our continued search for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location of the property was great. The rooms were clean, the gym was good and the hotel grounds (the pool, tennis courts etc.) were great. The bathroom size was amazing and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel could easily be 5 stars because of amenities etc. but i wasn't wowed by the service. I got a spa treatment at the hotel with my husband (the couple's ritual) and i thought it was OK. The breakfast is way too expensive per person! It was prohibitive for our group of 18 to even consider eating breakfast at the hotel. I will say the service by the pool was great and very attentive as was the business center. A few tweaks here and there but nothing that would keep me from visiting again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
Thank you very much for your constructive criticism regarding the service and breakfast price. Should you have any additional comments that you would like to share, please do not hesitate to contact us as your feedback will help to guide our continued search for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice: once in January 2012 (which was in winter) and July 2012 (which was in summer) for business trip. The location is very good near Taksim Street and there are metro and bus stations nearby. I found the hotel very clean, bed is confortable and the room is big & nice decorated. The breakfast is excellent with many verity items. The facilities including the swimming pool (in summer) were wonderful. The staffs are speaking English very well and providing full support and tourism guidance. The price is summer is quite high because of hot season. I totally recommend this Hotel.

The foods in Turkey in general are very delicious specially all type of Kababs and Shawarma, and you will find many restaurants near Taksim Street. There are so many attestations in Istanbul such as Sultan Ahmet area (Topkapi, Hagia Sophia, Sultan Ahmet Mossque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazar, Dolmabahçe Palace, Bosphorus Trip by boat, Princes Islands, Ortakoy. Cevahir Mall (by metro line is better), Eyüp-Pierre Funicular (the view of Golden Horn is amzing), etc.

Moreover, Bursa is also wonderful city to visit which will take almost one day trip.
There is Havas airport-bus to both airports (Atatürk & Sabiha), every 30 mintues in good price compared to Taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Walid M,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly share your appreciation with all our employees.
We also look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Smithsonian Journeys offered a "Voyages to Antiquity" cruise of the Mediterranean on the small cruise ship Aegean Odyssey (which we LOVED!!!) and the first 2 nights of the tour package were booked into this hotel; we could not have been happier. The hotel room was large, clean, and quiet, and the breakfast was truly exceptional in every possible respect. Fresh omelettes or any style of eggs made to order, wonderful choices of fruits, pastries, meats, etc. filled several serving tables for the buffet, and always the most courteous staff of truly bi-lingual professionals. The entire stay was absolutly a complete joy. Hotel public spaces were welcoming and very nicely done; everything was so very clean and attractive.

This hotel is not located in old Istanbul which was, to us, an added bonus. This newer part of town (as opposed to Old Town) is more European in its feel; it has more of a village atmosphere. A very short walk takes you to Taksim Square and to all the little streets that are adjacent to the Square which have an amazing array of restaurants and shops. This location has fewer Mosques and you do not hear the "call to prayer" broadcasts (5 times a day) as much as you do in the older part of town. These calls start about 6 a.m. or so.

This location is also conveniently located fairly near the port and any stay in Istanbul is not complete without a cruise of the Bosphorus. Daily excursions of a couple of hours by ferry boat are easy to book. Any other day trips to the archeological and historic sites can be arranged and, considering the crazy traffic here in Istanbul, it is good to let someone else have that headache.

The neighborhoods were pedestrian and tourist friendly and we never once felt unwelcome or concerned for our safety. Istanbul is such a special city, we will be back and will certainly stay at this fine property again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly share your appreciation with all our employees.
We also look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stay here 2 nights and we like it, very clean and nice rooms. Very nice people ready to help you in seconds...
A quiet place and a great view on the gardens. We enjoy our stay.
Look for special offers because is not a accessible hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edimitriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly share your appreciation with all our employees.
We also look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

For a large convention style hotel, this was excellent. We usually stay in smaller, boutique hotels for their informal style and sense of the "cozy". This Hyatt had those qualities. Our room with a view of the Bosporus was fantastic. The breakfasts were some of the best we have ever had; an abundant selection of morning treats geared to Western tastes. The staff was more than accommodating and very service oriented. A excellent choice while in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bosporus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI_12, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Istanbul during your recent visit and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.
We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly share your appreciation with all our employees.
We also look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Peter van der Ree
Grand Hyatt Istanbul General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#91 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,850 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#104 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,736 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#55 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#67 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Istanbul

Address: Harbiye Mah Taskisla Caddesi No: 1, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#52 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting your high expectations of five star hotels in Istanbul, at the Grand Hyatt Istanbul you can relax in modern, stylish and comfortable surroundings, and unwind in 360 luxury Istanbul hotel rooms and suites with spectacular views of the city, the pool or the Bosphorous Strait. The Istanbul city centre hotel is just minutes away from the Taksim, historic landmarks of the Old City, including Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. One of the best hotels in Istanbul in which to sample authentic Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel invites you to please your palate at a host of Istanbul restaurants and lounges, including new Restaurant 34,The Mezzanine Bar & Lounge, The Library Bar and Gazebo. Our luxury Istanbul hotel offers modern spa treatments and authentic hammam rituals in Gaia Spa & Fitness Centre. The last word in Istanbul 5 star hotels, the Grand Hyatt Istanbul's superb facilities include a hair and beauty salon, a stunning outdoor swimming pool and sun terrace with poolside bar, and free floodlit tennis courts for guests to enjoy. We can even arrange private tennis tuition in the comfort of our Istanbul hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing