We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlikely to stay again for one reason”
Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divan Istanbul
Ranked #147 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unlikely to stay again for one reason”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed on business. To get to this hotel from Ataturk airport, do not go to the visitor transportation kiosk to arrange a car - I was charged >100 Turkish lira, when it costs 45-50 lira if you catch a taxi from the taxi stand outside the airport exit. The hotel check-in was efficient. The decor was nice and everything is fairly new and clean. The room was small but with all amenities except tea and coffee facilities, which was a little disappointing. There are nice bathrobes and slippers though. The one major disappointment, which would probably prevent me staying here again was the shower - it has a maximum temperature of 43 degrees celsius, which is lukewarm at best. If you like a hot shower, you will really dislike the shower here. There was a nice looking pool and the gym was small but just adequate. My other complaint would be the internet. It is expensive at 15 euro/day and the speed does not live up to the price tag - it was very slow and unreliable. The breakfast buffet was mediocre in terms of range. I did have room service one night, which was excellent, however. All in all, since I paid conference rates, the hotel was good value, but with the competitors all within 5 minutes walk (Hilton, Grand Hyatt, Intercontinental), I would try one of those in future, largely on account of the shower temperature and the internet issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    139
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
82
98
35
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I Spent a 5 Days on a Business Trip to Istanbul and stayed at the Divan Hotel, the hotel Location is amazing, very clean spacious rooms....the hotel facilities are good as well.

i took a room overlooking the backside of the hotel....the view was not good, one of my colleagues took a room on the other side of the hotel and it was of good view....overlooking somehow the Taksim Square....

Breakfast was good, although not much of variety change everyday, but was delicious and nice.

totally recommend this hotel for a business trip...bearing in mind the fact it is a very expensive hotel compared to other nearby hotel, that might not be as clean and luxurious as Divan but

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the Taksim Square, in the front of the hotel not the backward facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moustafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

the Divan is an outstanding property in about every possible way. we stayed six nights and loved every minute. the room was spacious and comfortable and had every amenity we could want. breakfast each morning was spectacular. the staff was extremely accommodating and genuinely friendly. the concierge was outstanding. the location was terrific for walking through the Beyoglu district with its nightlife and restaurants. the metro was close by for visits to Sirkeci and Sulhament and all the historic sights. it was always a pleasure coming back to the hotel after touring.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Having just spent the weekend at the Divan, It is not often an hotel gets it so right.
This is a modern, very well maintained hotel that is situated in a convenient location very close to Taksim Square. There are three very good restaurants within the hotel and a beautiful, atmospheric bar serving well blended cocktails. But what really sets this hotel apart from its competitors is the level of service that we found to be attentive, friendly and professional without being at all pretentious.
All in all a great choice of hotel for our weekend break in Istanbul.
Cok Guzel!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mdg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the Divan Istanbul for four nights in November. The hotel appears exactly as pictured on its website, extremely modern and plush. The property has plenty to keep one occupied (nice bar, good restaurants, patio pub, small business center) and is located just a 5 minute stroll to all of the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife of the Taksim Square/Beyoglu areas. I could not find a single imperfection in my room and was impressed by the size. I've stayed in many hotels around the world, and consider this a true top notch establishment. My only criticisms are that the internet charge is steep and should be included in the rate for a hotel at this high level, and the staff is very professional but sometimes lack the warmth that truly makes a hotel stand out. I can't complain too much about the internet charge since I got such a great deal on the room. If I had paid $100/night more for the room I would have still found it fair. However, it's annoying to have to purchase internet every day. When traveling in a foreign country, wifi is essentially a must. Overall, you just can't go wrong staying here for business or pleasure... You'll feel pampered without emptying your wallet, though slightly irritated at paying $15 euro a day to check your email. Also, meals/drinks are a bit overpriced, which may be why so few people seem to be there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanN378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had 3 nights stay at this hotel. I was very pleased with the service and the location of this hotel. The hotel was very close to Taksim metro station and all the night life in Beyoglu.
My room was very clean and generous in size. The bathroom was also very big and clean. The king size bed, soft pillows and luxurious bed linen was my favourite. The room decor wasn't necessarily my taste in terms of colour choice. The wooden panels and the flowery curtains around the study desk area was a little clostrophobic and dark for me but than again as an architect I can afford to be a little picky.
The breakfast was also of a high standard. I was very pleased with my stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel is not the cheapest 5 star hotel in Istanbul but it has the Divan quality all over. "You get what you pay for" would be a very appropriate phrase for this hotel. I wouldn't expect less from Divan.
I would definitely go back and stay in this hotel again. It was very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe room had a massive king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aysegulbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were deciding between the Divan and the Four Seasons. We went w/the Divan due to location and were incredibly glad we did. The service was wonderful -- the concierge (Oguz) was phenomenal and had excellent recommendations for everything from nightlife to local food to more upscale dining. He never steered us wrong and is the reason why I rated the Divan a 5 and not a 4. The rooms facing Taksim square were a little noisy due to traffic/construction so I would recommend rooms facing the opposite direction. The location of the hotel was perfect -- a stone's throw from Taksim Square as well as walking distance to Nisantasi (good, upscale shopping/dining area). The rooms and amenities were great -- after a long day of sightseeing and walking around, the hotel was wonderful to return to. Next time I'm in Istanbul, I'm definitely staying at the Divan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphacharliekilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#74 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#102 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#101 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#424 of 1,149 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#132 of 1,149 in Istanbul
643 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#165 of 1,149 in Istanbul
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Property: Divan Istanbul
Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing