We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel !”
Review of Divan Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Divan Istanbul
Ranked #134 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This is a business hotel and not a holiday hotel.
Great staff/service.
We stayed in a junior suite for 3 nights for 170€ per night.

BIGGEST ISSUE :: commissions !!
Every opinion of the concierge had commission deal behind the scene. From restaurants, spa booking, taxi, airport drops..
At one of the Resturant they didn't allow us to order their promotion packages.. Just because we came from hotel concierge.
Be very careful !!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Siddkulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Divan Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here in late 2013 during the Iraq Future Energy conference held at this venue and we enjoyed every single day of our stay here.

Especially Celint at the Front office is such a nice person and has excellent customer service skills.

The stay is made pleasant here due to the prominent location of the hotel iteself. It is very close or in walking distance to the square, and to many parallel streets littered with branded shops, restaurants, bars, fastfood outlets, shops of big brands, etc.....Everyday of your stay here, you would love to go out for a walk and enjoy the activities surrounding this venue.

The building itself is beautiful and has a sense of class to it.

I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling in to Istanbul!

Cheers,
Syed M .H

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for last night in Istanbul after a trip to Cappadocia. Hotel itself is beautiful and the service and staff, professional. Rooms are nicely decorated and quite large, no complaints there. The only reason why it's not a 5 star review is because you have to literally pay for everything most other five star hotels offer complimentary. Swimming caps for the pool (15 TL), everything in the minibar (almost 40 TL for a nip of Chivas Regal), Wi-Fi (15 euros), breakfast (30 euros per person), just to name a few. Location is nice, right by Taksim Square. Good place to stay if you don't mind the additional charges or if you don't plan on purchasing them.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Smithsonian Journeys tour and then again after the tour. Both rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The beds and bed linens were particularly sensational. We thought that the sheets were possibly the best we have found in any hotel. The breakfast was plentiful and the breakfast room well laid-out. If you are not interested in a large buffet breakfast, there are plentiful restaurants just along the street beside the hotel. For dinner the hotel restaurant is good or you can try more typical local places across the square. The staff were courteous and helpful. This is a good choice for a comfortable stay in a fascinating city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdtravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at The Divan for 5 days this month.. It's an excellent hotel. Well done up massive rooms..which is a major bonus as most hotels in Istanbul have tiny rooms,we were 13 of us and they had really nice interconnecting rooms for those of us with kids.The bathrooms were very large and spotless.. Also had exclusive toiletries .
And the most beautiful heated pool..! A bakery..and though we're were not able to try it a highly recommend Japanese restaurant. Breakfast is good and I especially loved the outdoor seating area.
Best of all is the location .. Just walking distance from Istakel Cadessi.
The concierge Ekrem Karabas was were kind and helpful. The hotel had an equally helpful night concierge..the restaurant suggestions were very good and they didn't mind long queries. All the hotel staff was friendly. On our second night my mother was unwell and they were quick to get an ambulance and were genuinely concerned .
Beware most places photoshop the room pic to make it look large..read fine print..example many were only 24 sm while divan is 34 or 36.. This makes a huge difference.also it's nice to have crisp linen ,towels etc..clean new looking carpeting and upholstery ..all of which were pretty new as this hotel has undergone a complete makeover.

So I highly recommend it..on our way back from cappodocia we decided to stay another night but they were fully booked so we had to stay else were..we missed it !

A big thankyou to all the fine staff.

And do try their pizza and chicken schnitzel..yum

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 882Divya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed three nights at the Divan, as part of an Odysseys Unlimited Greek Isles post-tour extension. This is definitely one of the nicest hotels that we've stayed in. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful at all times. Our room was excellent, with a comfortable king-sized bed, a large bathroom and a deluxe shower. Remote controls operate light and sound-blocking shades on the windows; as a result, the room was very quiet even though it was located above a major thoroughfare.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best at any hotel where we have stayed. Breakfast was diverse and delicious, and so impressively presented that it was worth photographing. We had pizzas for dinner in the same restaurant, and they also were excellent.

Although there is a charge for wi-fi, we found various discounts, including limited free time available for Odysseys tour groups. So, it may be worthwhile asking about available options and discounts at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i have been in many hotels in istanbul,but by far this is the best in taxem.we had the joiner suite
and it was very beautiful .the quality of bed and linens is superb.no noise what so ever is heard in the room despite busy location so got a good night sleep for the whole stay. and the space was suitable as we had a toddler who wants to move a lot.food was excellent quality and price.the only negative thing is that you had to pay for internet which should be for free.also if they can provide play room for rainy days that would be great.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing taxim park
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawziah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#94 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,772 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,770 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#148 of 1,159 in Istanbul
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#408 of 1,159 in Istanbul
204 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#97 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,262 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#125 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Istanbul

Address: Asker Ocagi Caddesi No:1 | Taksim , Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £102 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Istanbul has 41 Standard Rooms, 108 Deluxe Rooms, 40 Premiere Rooms and 2 Presidential Suites, totally 191 guest rooms, each with a sense of spacious elegance, tasteful and modern Turkish-style furnishings, comfort, quality service and a cozy, contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Divan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing