We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Ranked #117 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“good hotel and service”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights using HH points. I am a gold member, and they still upgraded me to the executive level with city view. It would have been much nicer to have a room with ocean view, but no complaint.

location; It is ~10-15 min walk from the center. By a taxi, it will cost you <5 TL. From the airport, we took a taxi, and by a meter, it costed us ~45TL. Howvever, when we returned to the airport, the driver used highways to get to the airport and costed us 70 TL.

warning: Be careful with the taxi drivers. Always ask them to go by a taxi meter. otherwise, they will always try to rip you off. since we have 2 kids, we always used taxies. There were only few taxi drivers willing to use the meter. all others tries to rip you off with extra charge. Be very careful!!

Executive lounge: very nice view with many drink selections. one of the best lounge I ever been to.

Room; quite old, but well maintained. It is big ebough for all of us. Pretty comfortable.

hotel; a bit outdated. restaurant and bar are quite expensive. Swimming pool is nice.

Staff; nothing special, but did not bother us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoshosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your comments. Please note that there are some alternative high-ways to go to the airport without stucking in traffic jam; and the drivers use these ways especially at busy hours. However, you should have been informed accordingly beforehand if they were our taxi drivers. We will talk to taxi service providers regarding these issues. We will be very happy to have you as our guest again soon and please do book a spectacular Bosphorus view room.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    805
    248
    75
    36
See reviews for
469
628
174
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have been coming to this hotel every year for the last 10 years, and it was always good to me (of course, I am a Diamond Hilton Member).
Still, the location is fantastic - one block (400m or so) from the Taksim Sq where the shuttle buses from the airport depart/arrive every 30 min. The Bosphorus views are stunning. This hotel has a 1.5km running track, indoor and outdoor pool, hammam, dry sauna, steam room, exercise room, numerous restaurants, superb executive lounge and a very good hearty breakfast. A balcony in every room.
The staff alone at the Hilton Honors reception merits 5 stars - all speaking perfect English, extremely helpful and accomodating, eager to help and resolve any problem.
Room service is impeccable with everybody I met speaking English and a courteous service with a smile on their faces - a tremendos feat for the Middle Eastern hotel.
Air conditioners are whisper quiet. All rooms were kept sparkling clean by the cleaning staff.
There is a nearby store open almost 24 hrs (next to Roberts coffee) where you can buy simple sandwiches, wine, liquor, water, sodas etc. Taksim Sq of course is open 24/7 and full of restaurants or street food vendors.
Can't recommend it enough!
One word of caution, though - when getting a taxi from the hotel, make sure that driver drives you the shorter way to the Ataturk airport (40 TL) as opposed to the longer one (70-80TL) - they love driving you around :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It is great to learn that your have enjoyed your stay and our services. We hope that your travel plans will include Istanbul again soon!

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

istanbul is an amazing city with lots to see, but it extremely noisy and busy, this hotel was the ideal retreat with an excellent pool, just what was needed after lots of sightseeing.Rooms were a good size service and breakfast both excellent.Location was good would reccomend taxis good value if more than 2 travelling. We stayed 5 nights could have done with 5 more...

Room Tip: try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ask161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
It is great to receive your positive feedback! We hope to welcome you back at Hilton Istanbul soon.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was on a 5 day business trip to Istanbul, a city I come to regularly on business and where I try to always have some free time to enjoy it. I usually stay at a nearby hotel, where I was satisfied, yet never felt really special

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chateauraynaudjulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hilton Istanbul was huge and it lacked a cosy feeling. The room was of good size but a bit tired. The breakfast was excellent. The location was also good. Overall I had a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biniland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer,
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3jellyfish
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Istanbul recently, looking for a short romantic and sunshine break.

Short and sunny, yes; romantic- we didnt sleep very much but it wasnt because of romance! The hotel is surrounded by music venues and nightclubs, running until 0400hrs most nights we were there!

Some reviews recomend various rooms but to be honest, we moved rooms three times and there wasnt any better than any other, so sleep wasnt a great option. Be warned.

However, the hotel itself is lovely- the rooms and decor are respectful of its history as the first Hilton in Europe, the facilities are great, and the staff very friendly and helpful with advice of where to visit etc.

The executive lounge provides food and drink throughout the day- quality is good, variation less so, but all in all a nice interval before going out.

The hotel has a couple of restaurants- we tried the famous Lebanese one and the Dragon Chinese; both very good but in terms of value, the Lebanese wins. Eating near to the hotel is varied and considerably cheaper, but it depends on how far you want to go.

Outdoors pool is large but sectioned off for "cabana" guests so dont be fooled into thinking that you can do some serious lengths! Also at the weekend there are some locals that feel that it is their right to move your stuff if you leave the sun lounger for more than a few minutes, and the pool staff wont stand up for you. Ignorance is worldwide so its not specific to here but it was a real problem. Keep your Kung Fu skills up to date as some of the locals were absolutely obnoxious.

We used Hilton Honours points, so it was a good break despite the issues; However I dont think that I would recommend it at the advertised prices

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3jellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Many thanks for your kind feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the noise coming from neighbouring night clubs. We are working very hard with the local authorities trying to limit this noise and we truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA/Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We traveled with our 2 kids to Istanbul and stayed at the Hilton. I fell in love with the city! What a wonderful place to travel to. I'm so happy we took our kids. They learned so much and really enjoyed being in Istanbul.
The Hilton was a great. It is not the most glamourous hotel in Istanbul, but it is of a very good standard. We especially loved the photos and information about the history of the hotel. It made the trip just a bit more special.
My kids braved the pool even though it was unseasonably cool during our stay. The pool was nice and the chairs comfortable.
We had dinner in the top floor restaurant and it was absolutely delicious and the service was spot-on. I highly recommend it.
Concierge service was hit or miss. Some of them go out of their way to help, and some don't really listen. You'll quickly learn which one is which.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#102 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,736 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Property: Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Harbiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Formerly Hilton Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , Harbiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hilton International Istanbul
Istanbul Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing