We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property; Noise a Problem but Manageable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Ranked #104 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Istanbul in June 2006 when she had a conference. We had an absolutely splendid visit then and cherished the Bosphorus-view room. When I returned to Istanbul for a business trip recently, nearly six years later, I wanted to return here but was wary because of the nightclub that now exists just across the street at the north end of the hotel property.

First, the noise is a clearly problem at night. I stayed on the executive floor (8th) at the elevator bank, which is in the middle of the hotel, and still I could hear the bass thumping distantly from the club when I went to bed. I'm a really light sleeper; however, a couple of foam ear plugs did the trick and I had no trouble at all sleeping.

Be aware, however, that the farther down the hallway toward the north end of the building (which runs southwest to northwest in a long rectangular tower) and, of course, the lower your floor, the worse the noise problem will be for you. I find this infuriating on behalf of the hotel owners and management because the nightclub is impairing the value of what is a beautiful, classic hotel.

I could rave about the executive floor lounge, the gym, the hammam (Turkish bath) and the staff who made my stay nothing but enjoyable. However, other reviewers have done that. I will emphasize that this is an iconic property. It was built in 1955 and, walking the halls and grounds I can feel the echoes of past luminaries who stayed here and the exclusive, jet-set nature of the hotel in its early years. I really enjoyed that feeling. It's a superb business hotel and, of course, the Bosphorus views can't be beat.

The hotel is set back approximately 100-200 metres from a busy street (Cumhuriyet Caddesi) amidst quiet, secured grounds. It's a 10-minute walk to Taksim Square and Istiklal Caddesi, which ruuns through the heart of Beyoglu (old European Istanbul.) The Metro is less than a five-minute walk. You can also enjoy the adjacent Macka Park, a lovely ravine separating the Taksim area from the upscale Tesvikiye, Sisli and Nisantasi neighborhoods. Take the teleferik (cable car) from rim to rim across Macka Park for a treat. It's really an ideal location, although if this is your first visit to Istanbul this isn't the most convenient location for the tourist sights of Sultanahmet (a good 15-minute taxi ride away from the hotel)

I hope the hotel is successful in shutting down the adjacent nightclub. In the meantime, with proper attention to securing a Bosphorus-view room far from the noise source, this hotel will give you warm memories of your Istanbul visit for years to come. It's truly an unusual gem: a classic retro relic and an outstanding modern functioning hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbotsbury92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments.

I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Istanbul. I also thank you for your kind understanding regarding the noise coming from neighbouring night club. We are working very hard with the local authorities trying to limit this noise.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,721 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were really impressed with our stay at the HIlton Istanbul. The room had an amazing view of the Bosphorus and was very tastefully furnished. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist us--and this is truly remarkable since the place was packed with dignitaries for an international conference. The location near Taskim was great for getting around the city (with a short five minute walk to the Metro for touring the city) and the restaurant on the top floor had some of the best Lebanese food I've ever had in my life.

The ad in the elevator boasted of having one of the best Hilton lounges and it didn't disappoint--which is shocking since such boasts are usually an indication of the opposite. The views, selection and staff in the lounge were all amazing. Perhaps the staff from the UK and US can visit to see what service should be like.

Room Tip: Request Bosphorus view; was near elevator but couldn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_C_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. It has been a pleasure to read all your nice comments.

I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in general.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2012. The hotel itself was great. We were upgraded to an executive room and had a beautiful view on the bosborus. Room was large and was okay.
Executive lounge was also very good and had a nice choice of drinks and some snacks. Hilton staff was always very helpful. All in all a very good hotel but... be careful with booking at weekends and in warm months. We stayed there over a weekend and on Friday and Saturday there was a disco in front of the Hotel that was playing very loud till 2 or 3 a.m. Fortunately I have a good sleep but when you have a light sleep then you will for sure have some problems with falling asleep.
To get sure you will not have any trouble with the disco noise book a room with no bosporus view and enjoy the bosborus view from the lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun4Ever1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in general. However; I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the noise coming from neighbouring night clubs. We are working very hard with the local authorities trying to limit this noise and we truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is on a great plot, an oasis of relative calm amidst the hubbub of the city. The building is functional rather than pretty on the outside, but with a balcony for every well designed and comfortable room, the views out are wonderful, which is the important thing! Moon rise over the Bosphorous most memorable.

Bed especially comfortable with excellent linen, lovely quality toiletries in the bathroom too.

Reception, concierge and bar staff were all attentive and friendly.

Shame that the outdoor pool was not yet open - sunny Easter weekend and all that, but it and the rest of the grounds looked nice.

Lack of free wi-fi a surprise at a Hilton, but all the cafes and bars we visited had it, so no hardship.

In summary, recommended.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the Bosphorous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel in general.

I would like to inform you that we have a number of internet and meal-inclusive rates. You may find one of them favourable to book upon your next stay. Additionally, Hilton declared that HHonors Diamond and Gold members can use free internet since September 1st, 2010 - a reason more to become a loyal guest and all our guests can use PCs in our Business Center without any internet charge for 30 minutes. I am very sorry if these were not communicated to you properly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Nice hotel everything worked
Nice hotel everything worked
Nice hotel everything worked

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolBoy_HKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great hotel, great city. The views from the hotel and the executive lounge were beautiful, overlooking the Bosphorus and many mosques. The staff is very attentive and the room and hotel exceeded expectations. I was a little concerned since it is not ranked as high in TripAdvisor, but after staying there I would strongly recommend it without reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors with views of the Bosphorus are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palomo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure to read your nice comments and I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Hilton Istanbul.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel is a bit dated, but everything works fine. Upkeep of rooms and public areas are good.Stayed on executive floor which gives you use of the executive lounge that provides excellent breakfast then afternoon tea evening drinks up to 2300hrs. This is a real plus as everything is complimentary plus free wi fi.
The gym was very acceptable, the indoor pool is small but it was always empty when I was there. The service on the executive floor really depended on who was handling your request. Ceylan was really guest orientated and so helpful, but another day one of the staff told me I could hand in my mail and ask downstairs at the concierge... which I found odd.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Hilton Istanbul. We appreciate your valuable comments.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, assuring our best service and attention.

Yours sincerely,

Rainer Gieringer
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#62 of 1,173 in Istanbul
2,354 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#90 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,400 reviews
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. no 50, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Formerly Hilton Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , Harbiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £75 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus with its landmark central location, stunning views and beautifully landscaped gardens is an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of the world’s most vibrant cities. As the ambassador of Turkish hospitality, this legendary hotel serves its great heritage and service quality since 1955. Located in the heart of Istanbul next to the Congress Valley, this hotel is at walking distance to famous Taksim Square and responds every travelling purpose. Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus offers 500 spacious guest rooms, all with a balcony and with breathtaking Bosphorus or beautiful garden view. Hotel has various restaurants which offer different sceneries and exclusive dining opportunities. Extensive health club & spa services are designed for a fit body and soul. Open 24 hours, 7 days a week, the Health Club features state-of-art-facilities: Hilton Fitness equipment, outdoor and indoor pool, hammam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hilton International Istanbul
Istanbul Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing