We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Dame of 60s glamour...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Ranked #117 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Birmingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grand Dame of 60s glamour...”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Hilton Bosphorus is perched just a few minutes away from Taksim square, in it's own grounds with a great view out over the Bosphorus. It's a throwback to a grander time of international travel - when people like Jackie O flew to Istanbul in 707s... and the hotel doesn't let you forget this, with pictures of it's former self in abundance. It's close to the bustle of the city, but in its own little cocoon.

It has been very well maintained. The rooms are large, with balconies that look out over the Bosphorus, or if you're less lucky the grounds at the front of the hotel. The air conditioning works effectively, the bathrooms - although slightly dated - aren't bad at all.

There are a number of restaurants that offer outside dining in the summer. The pool looked good, set in gardens to the side of the hotel, although I didn't get a chance to use it!

On the negative side there is a tendency to want to play loud dance music in Istanbul, and as a result of this I wasn't able to eat in the lounge bar (it was simply too loud) - and this also disturbed my sleep one evening when loud music went on until just after midnight. There is free internet, but the speeds are poor - no doubt driving you towards the more expensive option.

Good:
Room size
60s celeb atmosphere
Lovely grounds

Bad:
Internet speeds are poor
Loud music

Room Tip: Go for rooms that look out over the Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor to share your Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus experience with us.

I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. However, I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced due to the noise coming from outside. I would like to inform you that we are working closely with the local authorities trying to limit the outside noise from surrounded clubs and stop the music before midnight.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    805
    248
    75
    36
See reviews for
469
628
174
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at this hotel. The view is fantastic and the breakfast buffet is very nice. I am unable to comment on the convenience of the location since we had a private guide and driver; however it seemed to be far from the tourist center. The room was clean and large but dated and the decorating is drab. The staff was very nice; however we found that to be the case all over in Istanbul so may be more attributable to the culture rather than the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel one night; the food was fair. There is a lively restaurant neighborhood not far from the hotel where we had a marvelous dinner with our private guide; if you are not too tired it might be better to adventure out to eat. I would stay here again despite the issues for the comfort.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building; the "garden" building seemed to be more dated and iso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our services at the Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus. Your valuable and kind comments are much appreciated.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A corporate fortress without personality, this hotel is good for travelers who crave security and don't want charm. I was there for a tab-picked-up conference and foolishly just assumed one additional night wouldn't cost much. Bad idea. Hard to find if you are walking, the hotel is appropriate only for people traveling by cab. I asked about public transportation to the airport and was given wrong information by the concierge and another employee. My request not to wash towels and sheets daily so surprised them they never even straightened the room.

Room Tip: Loud music outside kept several of us awake. Try to find a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC26b317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus experience on Tripadvisor.

I regret that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience we have caused. Your feedback is valuable to us as it enables us to look into each suggestion in order to improve the guest experience in our hotel.

I offer our sincere apologies for the communication error between our departments who misunderstood your towel and linen request, it must have been uncomfortable for you to find the room not serviced after a day at the conference and I am very sorry that this has occurred . Please also accept my apologies for the attitude of our concierge team, and be informed that we will take actions to ensure that we are more informed and proactive.

We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you back .

Best regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved this hotel. Large bedrooms. A little old fashioned and maybe the bathrooms need updating but spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We had a Bosphorus view & a balcony which was great. Top tip pick up a wine box at the airport before you fly to enjoy on your terrace as the wine is very very expensive! Excellent gym spa turkish bath indoor pool etc and huge outdoor pool set in lovely gardens. The three restaurants all served delicious food. The main bar had a lovely outside area with fabulous Bosphorus views and delicious snacks. Book well in advance for a really good deal. A bit outside the city but very easy to travel into the heart of the city by taking the funicular from Taksim Square (a 10 minute walk from the hotel). Or taxis always waiting outside the hotel if you prefer.

Room Tip: A Bosphorus view is essential to get the very best from your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus experience on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hilton Istanbul have best view , location is great , for sure I will stay one more time ,the room ,service, cleanliness ,value very good ,the staff are friendly , it was nice experience staying at Hilton Istanbul

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is very important for us to deliver outstanding service therefore I am very pleased that you were satisfied with the team as well as with the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I spent few nights at this property in feb2014. it was a great experience staying at this property, the restaurant at the roof top offers absolute awesome breathtaking view of old town area, overseeing the bay.

This is an absolutely recommended for a light business and recreation visit to city of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor overseeing the bayside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MukeshTHEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our services at the Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus. Your kind comments are much appreciated.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel in it self is a destination, fantastic property and great location and views to die for, Got upgraded to Bosphorus view room,Great location to visit historic buildings, business district, museums, shopping, restaurants and as a base for getting around the city. Beautifully appointed lounges and elegant restaurants serving a variety of cuisines; delicious food served in all venues. Stunning outdoor pool and dining areas very attentive staff who are eager to please special mention to Isil at reception and Savas at breakfast, my stay was only 2 nights wish i could have stayed more. I will definitely be back

Room Tip: Request for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreBorg, General Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our services and your nice comments have been shared with our entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Borg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#84 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#77 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#102 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,736 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Property: Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Harbiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey (Formerly Hilton Istanbul)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli , Harbiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hilton International Istanbul
Istanbul Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing