We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #48 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed for two nights at the hotel for a business conference. The hotel is situated in an old sultan palace which has been restored to its former glory. The hotel itself is situated in an adjacent building but it is wonderfuly fitted into the old style palace.
The reception is a personal welcome by a sort of hostess instead of endlessly waiting to be helped. Rooms are very spacious,I had an incredible view on the Bosphorous, furnished in the style of the hotel and has all amenities and more. You even have the possibility to buy some souvenirs from within your room. At night there is a down-turn service and you receive a complimentary newspaper.
We had food in some of the restaurant which was very good and service impeccable. Breakfast means a 'huge' choice of all kinds of continental, turkish and asian food although I feel it is largely overcharged with 48 euro.
All in all perfect hotel, perfect service !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in last month, and our services met your expectations.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

A beautiful hotel well located by the Bosphorus but be wary that the awful local traffic can make the journey to the old city arduous, and many taxis refused to bring us back during the rush hour because of the traffic. The prices in the hotel are eye watering: no matter how good the breakfast €44 seems rather steep as does €300 for a 55 minute couples massage!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aardvark1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I fell in love with this hotel at first sight (or the first night). As advertised, It was originally a palace built during Sultan Abdulaziz days ( around year 1871) and it sure makes you feel luxury and originality ...

Reception and Front desk staff were in the top of gentleness and good manners, and offered answeres for all my inquiries. Since I was on a business trip for ONE day .. I decided to stay in room to go over paperwork.

The room was spacious and the furniture arranged carefully, with self-service corner packed with light Snacks.

Self-service included Gents & Ladies gifts/accessories at a reasonable price (which I thought it is a great last-minute gift ( saves you from over prices items @ the airport)

Hotel kept its line of of Ottoman style and modern-classic furniture. Since I am a fan of Ottoman Art, I have enjoyed every little detail in that room. Even the bed-side bottle of water was in a brass container full of details ... Art every where

Unfortunately, I forget to keep the postcard with a picture of the Sultan , and sure will go back one day to get it ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhaziAlSayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to making your business trip to Istanbul a great experience.
It will be my pleasure to provide you with a full set of “Sultans of Poetry” cards you mentioned if you may kindly provide us with your postal address through businesscenter.ciraganpalace@kempinski.com referring to this review in the email title.
We do look forwarding you welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I agree with all other reviews. The location on the Bosphorus is great. Stunning views. The grounds and the palace are both beautiful and accessible all the time unless there is a private event going on. The staff always addressed us by our name. Must take the time to check it out. So why the rating of 4? A issues that need to be addressed: They must run a dehumidifier or something but each night all three of us woke up with a dry gagging feeling. While the buffet is sumptuous, it is not a practical option for every day and the hotel should offer a quick self serve coffee option.....As another reviewer said, 15 euros for a cup of americano - i think not...
It is a fabulous location if you are just relaxing in the hotel but if you are staying here for the historical visit, keep in mind that it is a 15 minute walk to kabatas and another tram ride making it a 50-60 minute commute to Sultanahmet.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are quieter during the day since bosphorus rooms have noise from the ships a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arndtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate receiving constructive feedback from our guests, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. Thus we have taken note of your comments in regards to running a dehumidifier in the guest rooms and will discuss it with the related departments.
As an alternative to the buffet, our restaurant located on the lobby floor, Gazebo offers continental breakfast trays for those guests who prefer a practical option for the breakfast. Your invaluable feedback concerning this matter also has been noted.
Once again we thank you for your comments, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel is in a gorgeous setting on the Bosphorus, and provided a wonderful oasis from the crazy traffic and hustle/bustle of Istanbul. Our room was a corner room overlooking the bridge over the Bosphorus--amazing views day and night. The room itself was beautiful. And the hotel service was impeccable: friendly and pampering. Even the doorman was looking out for us when we came home one evening and he noticed that the taxi meter wasn't on--he wanted to make sure before we paid that we weren't getting ripped off. We also had tea one late afternoon, which was delicious, luxurious, and plentiful--definitely recommend you take advantage of being in the hotel and reserving time to do this (and given how pricey the rest of the hotel is, it's not that expensive). Our only complaint: breakfast, even just a cup of coffee, is crazy expensive. We splurged one day but otherwise couldn't justify spending $15 or so for a cup of coffee so we'd go to a cafe outside the hotel. Still, definitely would return anytime we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sszimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in last month and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleague whom you mentioned in your review.
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comment has been passed on to the related departments.
We do look forwarding you welcoming you back here in Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The stunning hotel with wonderful views of the Bosphorus. Magnificent territory with a wonderful heated swimming pool. I am very pleased that the staff allowed to swim in the outdoor pool all day and night, although there are signs with the restriction of time till 20:00. Excellent breakfasts! Especially I liked the bar with live jazz! The best cocktails and very professional bartender.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
It was a true pleasure for us to read your thoughtful feedback.
I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Ciragan Bar.
I do look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A lovely hotel, its location right on the bosphorous Sea, Its Grand entrance, personal room check in, lovely ambiance, impeccable service, excellent meals, amiable staff. I can't say enough. Kempinski, well done.

Room Tip: The A/c in the room 147 was a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuwaitRanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and I glad that you enjoyed our services.
Personalised service is of great importance to Kempinski, and we invest heavily into training to ensure every guest feels special.
We have taken note of your comment concerning the air-conditioning in room 147 and related department has been informed for immediate corrective action.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#55 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#63 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,332 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
800 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#17 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £160 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing