We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #59 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Amazing hotel in one of the world's most beautiful cities. Really loved my stay there. Great service, impeccable but not intrusive. Beautiful spaces outside the hotel facin the Bosphorus and the Asian side. Was an experience, 4 pillows of different firmness, for you to choose from, and I chose two :-) recommended but quite exclusive for the price

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us back in last month.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pillow selection.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    261
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
348
588
58
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I had another special time at the Ciragan Palace this past July following our first visit in 2008 at the recommendation of close friends. We have had the good fortune to travel all over the world and this is far one of our favorites, and certainly my favorite anywhere. The unique location on the Bosphorus helps immensely as does the overall charm of Istanbul. The hotel is special in its own right because of the top notch service, amenities, and the pool. One of the most relaxing places anywhere is at the infinity pool along the Bosphorus. The hotel is an oasis to relax while in an exciting vibrant city, the best of both worlds. Agree with the earlier reviews that rooms with various degrees of a water view are essential. Many have balconies. We have seen weddings along the waterfront at the hotel each time. Expensive yes, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid the viewless, noisy rooms on the "garden" or street side; get one of the many room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us back in last July following your last visit in 2008.
I am glad to hear that we could again contribute to making your visit a memorable experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

very good quality hotel. food is excellent, it is a perfect location to have an afternoon coffee or a late night dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank BilgeSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

A first class hotel in an excellent location on the Bosphorus, but in easy reach of the historic sights and ferry terminals. The rooms overlooking the Bosphorus are well worth the extra and I suspect the rooms over looking the main road and gardens could suffer with traffic noise.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of the city.
We thank you for your comments, and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Wow as an hotel, wow for your wallet!

This is a truly magnificent hotel in the old fashioned sense. Superb service lovely facilities. But if you like typical American style don't go. This is European luxury and elegance down to its core.

Right on the Bosphorus and well located. Near the bridge that joins Europe to Asia, near to charming cafes and souks and not too far from the old town (taxi needed).

However the prices!! About £40 for breakfast (Over €40) - no we didn't eat breakfast in the hotel (I can't chew gold nuggets!) Heaven knows what dinner costs!

But the hospitality was peerless and it was an amazing experience (for 2 nights!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your business trip back in last month.
Being a proud member of Kempinski, Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group with a history of 115 years, we are committed to providing our guests with memorable experiences inspired by exquisite European flair.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we hope to welcome you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We travelled to Istanbul to celebrate my Aunt's 70th Birthday. I had told the hotel before about the celebration. We were received like royalty when we checked into the palace wing of the hotel. Our room was impeccable looking out over the Bosphorus.

Our personal team of Butlers including Mevlüt, Savas, Sascha, Muharrem, Volkan, & Mehmet provided personal yet discreet service with excellence! Definitely the best Butler Team I have ever experienced in my worldwide travels!

Our dinner at the fine dining restaurant Tugra was fantastic. We were seated on the terrace lookiing over the Bosphorus. The service and food was flawless. Yucel our waiter graciously catered to my vegetarian needs and coordinated with the kitchen to create the perfect vegetarian Ottoman meal for me. I never felt that I was a burden like I have in so many other restaurants when I need special help to meet my vegetarian needs.

The spa manager Zaynip helped me create some customized treatments to suit my needs. We did the VIP Turkish Hammam which was an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend it. I had one of the top massages of my life with Loli. I will never forget it!!!

Afternoon Tea in the main hotel was delicious but we immediately felt the difference in service from the Palace wing of the hotel. There were multiple problems with the service and we kept having to flag staff down to accomodate forgotten orders /requests or to have them poor our champagne (we had a bottle of champagne with tea) and it was clear there was no manager on duty during the tea service. After 5pm a Head Waiter (Maitr d'Hotel) appeared and things started to get organized. I think the F & B Mgr. should ensure that there is a manager on duty at all times in that bustling busy main lobby bar /lounge where Afternoon Tea is served.

Thank you our gracious Cirigan Palace Team for an unforgettable stay at your hotel!

Room Tip: For special occasions or just to treat yourself, splurge for the Palace Wing of the hotel. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BambinaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleagues whom you mentioned in your review.
We have also taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comment has been passed on to the related departments. Moreover, our Hotel Manager Mrs. Andrea Muegge would like to get in touch with you regarding the inconvenience you experienced and appreciate if you may kindly contact her directly at andrea.muegge@kempinski.com, referring to this review in the email title.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

If one were to visit Istanbul in the future a large part of the quality of the holiday would be determined by where one stays? In our case we were a group of 6 couples that visited Istanbul last week and chose the Ciragan Palace as it came highly recommended. I will have to say that the hotel exceeded any expectation that we may have had. The Ciragan situated bang on the Bosphorus with it's panoramic view is pehaps one of the best views in the city. The pool/ coffee shop has such a stunning view that one can soak it in all day long. Extremely friendly and efficient staff is an added quality that makes the stay memorable. We were on a budget so were in the Park View Rooms. However if that is no constraint living in the Bosphorus View Rooms will be a experience remembered for long.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to making your trip to Istanbul a memorable experience.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon. Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#60 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#76 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing