We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff, great location on the Bosphorous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #55 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible staff, great location on the Bosphorous”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I was at the Ciragan Palace for a wedding last week. The hotel is lovely and I can't say enough about the staff. As I was getting ready for the wedding, the zipper on my formal dress broke and I had no alternative. Luckily a quick thinking staff member contacted the hotel's tailoring department and the tailor immediately whisked up to my room to help repair my dress. It was all done quickly and discreetly and I had no problem getting to the wedding on time. As to the rooms, they are very comfortable and well appointed. I would suggest asking for one that is not on the front, as the street in front of the hotel is quite busy and noisy all night (and of course the call to prayer comes early in the morning).

As a Kempinksi, the hotel is very expensive and I agree that the breakfast, in particular, is very expensive. My experience is, though, that you get what you pay for, and I can't think of another hotel where I've had such a great experience with the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front of the hotel. Bosphorous view is best, but also most expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleagues, whom you mentioned in your review.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    261
    66
    29
    28
See reviews for
351
591
58
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A place to relax and spoil yourself. This has an amazing location on the river, it Is a little further from the attractions of Istanbul, but has fantastic rooms. I have no complaints I can name. The beds are comfy and bathrooms nice and large. Can enjoy a good meal in the restaurants or sit by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was very happy to read your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last year in October.
We thank you for your thoughtful comments, and look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights and it is a really nice hotel. The location is excellent and one can’t help being drawn in by the palace feel the place has. Having said that, the room we stayed in was in a modern wing of the hotel. Nice and comfortable, but also a fairly standard kind of nice, with little character. The restaurant I found to be over-priced – there are an abundance of good restaurants with local food nearby; go there. All in all great atmosphere, but also somewhat non-descript unless, if guess, you get to stay in the old palace part of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us during your business trip to Istanbul last summer.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the palatial ambiance of the historic Çırağan Palace.
We hope we will have the pleasure of being your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The security at the entrance and the fact it has difficult to check in when you arrive without the person who had made the booking hassled me but in hindsight it is a positive thing that this hotel takes their guests safety seriously.
The room overlooking the Bosphorus was spacious, décor a little tired I thought. The view from the balcony is outstanding. The bar is nice, the semi outdoor smoking room looked great, but we could not get a seat. (Don't smoke either!) The casual restaurant is fine, international type fare, good service and perfect when you are tired.
We had a very relaxing stay, the weather in February is not conducive to outdoor activities. Warm sunny days here must be amazing.This is a 5* hotel, it may be a little generic for some.
Istanbul traffic is horrendous, I would suggest you get Taxi to the tram station and use the public system from there, it may not be posh but the service is great. Also it is well worth getting an individual tour guide who will plan your sightseeing - there is so much to see.

Room Tip: You must have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtofindaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in February.
We were happy to read your review, and are glad to hear that your stay was a relaxing one.
Safety and security of our guests is one of our highest priorities thus we continuously invest into training to make it without being intrusive to our guests.
We thank you for your comments, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the summer so that you can enjoy our outdoor facilities as well.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

very beautiful luxurious hotel with excellent service.The breakfast has the biggest spread I have ever seen with all choices of cuisine.But the price is high to match at 46 Euro per person luckily mine was complimentary from Platinum Amex. Stayng here you will have chance to visit the real old palace in the hotel compound.The view on the Bosphorus is fantastic with cruising ships all day long.you see the bridge acorss the strait to Asia side which is lighted up at night. The most impressive of all is the Hammam which offer the best treatment I've ever had [i had 4 in the past]. the outdoor pool is HEATED all winter up to 28 degree C even it is freezing outside. There is a heated kios with complimentary bathrobe and towel next to the pool. We have been spoiled here. You can arrive here from airport by limousine,or private boat of the hotel or by helicoptor,The hotel has a helipad.

Room Tip: with fine hotel booking of Platinum Amex card,you will get complimentary daily breakfast for 2 and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSt_Louis_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with last year in December.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed swimming in our heated infinity pool and your Turkish bath treatment in the Spa.
We thank you for your comments, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Top class with an amazing location by the Bosphorus. You wake up to the view of the amazing swimming pool and the Bosphorus, best holiday stay experience.Travelled during June 2010 and there's nothing much to say except they had top class in service, facilities, pool bar, restaurants, ballroom. Simply beautiful, I'd definitely recommend this over other 5 stars around the area. Also managed to check out one of the top clubs in the area called Reina, highly recommend this place, an outdoor club, simply amazing. Coincidentally saw few cast members from the famous series "LOST" partying up. Shall return to Istanbul!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBUK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us back in 2010.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a review with great comments. We have shared it with the rest of the team as well and you really made our day!
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

THis palace today part of the Kempinsky Chain and the palace is the ball room.
visiting this place is not visiting a museum
pastry shop in the palaceis excellent but highly priced.

Helpful?
Thank ephesusguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,129 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
321 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,021 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing