We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$245
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$296
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
US$49
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elite World Business(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$823
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
1,519
282
72
33
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,519
282
72
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstugra restaurantinfinity poolpark viewbosphorus viewottoman empirebeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet isturkeyasian sideturkish delightold cityluxuryconciergeortakoybosphorosdoormanships
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

What you are paying for here is the drop dead view of the Bosphorus, which you really only get a full view of from the waterside cafes, unless you are paying 2K USD per night or more. The staff is formal and robotic, the food is sub-par and the common areas feel more like Grand Central Terminal in New York than a luxury class hotel. There are huge events around the clock. Our disappointment started upon arrival at the airport when we were not met according to the terms of our reservation and continued upon registration when we were mistakenly told that our rooms did not include breakfast, although we had paid for it. The only redeeming features for me were the hotel hairdressers, who are fabulous, and the short walk to Ortakoy where you can get a great meal for a fraction of the price of the bad food at Ciragan, with the exception of their gourmet restaurant Tugra, where the food and staff are exceptional. I have now stayed here two years in a row hoping things would improve. In fact they got worse. Do yourself a favor and stay at The Four Seasons, where, although it doesn't call itself a Palace, you will really be treated like royalty.

Room Tip: The Park View is really a parking lot view. The Superior Bosphorus View is better but not a full view and no balcony. Deluxe Bosphorus View at least has a decent balcony you can sit on and a full view, but not a very private one. You may have to change rooms a few times to get it right,
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us back in last month.
I deeply regret that you experienced an inconvenient airport pick-up service and had an inefficient check-in experience, which apparently impaired your overall experience with us. We have taken note of your constructive feedback and proceeded to improve our services immediately. If you would like to discuss it further, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum will be at your entire disposal and you may kindly contact him directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
I do appreciate if you may kindly give us another chance with a further visit in the future. Together with my team, I hope to welcome you and your family back soon again, and provide you the finest Turkish hospitality here at the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The best I can say about this hotel, and I have stayed here twice, is that it fails to live up to its reputation. I have now stayed here twice, last summer with my husband and this summer with my two young adult daughters. The only redeeming feature is the view and the location of the property on the Bosphorus. The let down started from our airport arrival when we were not given the VIP meeting we had paid for, nor when we cleared customs with our luggage was the official greeter holding an iPad with my name and the hotel logo as we had been told to expect. When we found a young man holding my hand written name on a sign and I asked him what hotel he was with he didn't understand a word I had said. Finally we were approached by his very apologetic supervisor who said their iPad battery had died, properly identified himself as being with the hotel and led us to the airing car, which thankfully was the type of car we had requested. Upon check in in the lounge of the hotel we were told that breakfast was not included in our room although I knew I had paid for it. It took the hotel two days to pluck us out of the "wrong restaurant" and redirect us to the large full buffet we had paid for in the first place. The hotel feels more like a convention center than a luxury property with large events taking place around the clock. The only decent meal you will get is breakfast, because the waterside cafes have great views but the food and service are sub-par. The staff hardly speaks English once you leave the front desk. It is incredible that the wait staff does not speak English considering the number of guests (even the Germans) who use this language as their primary means of communication when abroad. The staff is stiff and rigif and don't exude the warmth and hospitality of their competitors; they are almost robotic. I hesitated before writing this review wondering if I might give Ciragan a third try, but after staying at The Four Seasons, Ciragan has NO chance.

2  Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This palace is actually a 5 star hotel at the moment. But you can visit this place as a tourist if you ask! or you can go there for meal or drink (not recommended: EXPENSIVE)
The palace itself is wonderful and I think it would be the sister of Dolmabahche Palace (too similar).

Thank S14v45h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you found the historic Ciragan Palace wonderful. Please also allow us to underpin that the Palace is an essential part of the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul and houses 11 suites and several meeting rooms thus it is not a public attraction itself.
We look forward to welcoming you on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel from June 24-27 and enjoyed every minute of it. We arrived in the early morning from Bangkok and, upon entering our room, found that a fully laden breakfast table was waiting for us there - it does not get better than this. Throughout our stay, we experienced the feeling of staying at a trophy hotel that measures up to the best in the world; complete with a sense of history, a great choice of restaurants and food as well as extremely attentive and courteous service. To travel to and from the hotel by taxi boat arranged through the concierge made visiting the sights of Istanbul an even more unforgettable experience and our 30th wedding anniversary dinner experience at the Tugra Restaurant topped it all off. In short, this was clearly one of our best hotel stays ever!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us back in June.
It was a true pleasure for us to host you for your very special occasion and I am glad to hear that we could contribute to making it a memorable experience.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I would take Four Seasons Hotel next door next time. The pool area and landscape is gorgeous, rooms are not.They run down and too small. We checked in after a very long flight and they did not have the room ready until after midnight and we still had to change that room. We asked for upgrade through Amex we ended up with another OK room, after 24 hrs, which was located on the side of the hotel with a limited Bosporus view. We had four rooms and none was great. We complained but nothing happened. Most of the staff did not speak english.Service is not anything close to Four Seasons.

Room Tip: The Hotel needs major renovation.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westfall3610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us back in last month.
We deeply regret to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. Even though the hotel was fully committed, our colleagues made every effort to to assign your room in the hotel section, then your room was upgraded to a suite located in the historic imperial Palace, which you did not prefer.
If you would like to discuss it further, our Hotel Manager Mr. Leon Baum will be at your entire disposal and you may kindly contact him directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
We do hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews