We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #59 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Best place I ever stayed in”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have spent in September 2 nights in Ciragan Palace. The restoration of this palace made of it a unique place, where you can indeed feel like a princess. The room was amazing, the services beyond any expectations. i would like to remind of Tahir Ay and his colleagues, for satisfiyng all of our needs and thinking of them even before we did.
The food is great, the intimacy of the place and its quiteness was exactly what we needed.
For me, there is no other place to stay in Istanbul from now on but the Ciragan Palace.

Room Tip: A suite in the palace is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us during your business trip to Istanbul last month.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Palace suites located in the historic Ciragan Palace and found us the best hotel you have ever stayed in. Please also let me thank you for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of my colleague whom you mentioned in your review.
We do look forward to you welcoming you back here in Ciragan Palace Kempinski , the only Ottoman Imperial Palace and Hotel on the Bosphorus, on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    264
    67
    30
    29
See reviews for
357
600
59
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel three times, the last of which was in September 2013. My wife and I were immediately upgraded to a room that was facing the Bosphorus which included a double balcony. The room was extremely spacious. Bathroom had a double sink & a bidet (and all the other standard bathroom utilities). The concierge is extremely helpful and managed to get us reservations at all the restaurants/bars we wished to visit. The hotel also helped to arrange a private car for us, and our driver was fantastic, so much that we ended up keeping him for our entire stay.

My last stay was in 2012, and in that time rooms have been kept the same, however the TV's are all brand new which is great.

Food in the hotel is very expensive but very good. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Bosporus. Rooms facing the road tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us back in last month.
I was very happy to read your review and glad that we were able to meet your expectations during your third stay with us as well.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Ciragan Palace in September. The hotel/palace is beautiful and right on the water. The views were fantastic and the food was very good. The concierge desk was one of the best we have used in the world, helping me with 2 big problems faster than I ever imagined possible. We were there on business and pleasure which worked out great using the Palace as our place of refuge. If you want or need high end accommodations in Istanbul there is none better.

Room Tip: Always ask for a water side room and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations during your business trip to Istanbul last month.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October, as part of a company conference in the Palace alongside.

The check-in was fast and efficient and friendly. They gave us a smoking room in error but very swiftly corrected this with a lovely non smoking room.

The rooms are lovely, with great views over the Bosphorous, separate "traditional style" bathroom/washroom. The bed is very comfortable, the TV is large, digital, easy to use and English channels are available.

We were impressed when we asked for an ironing board. It arrived very swiftly, was erected and plugged in and the housekeeping gent even provided an electrical adaptor for my laptop of his own initiative.Very nice!

Room service was swift and delicious.

The meeting arrangements in the Palace alongside were similarly well run. The rooms were bright, spacious, well ventilated and well served with audio-visual equipment. The food at the conference was nothing special but it was fresh, with plenty of variety.

The coffee, on the other hand, was, simply put, terrible. Over-heated, black, bitter liquid would be fair.

The hotel is VERY well known, with a wall full of celebrity photos. We saw several celebrities when we were there.

A couple of niggles though:

I was attending the conference in the Palace and my wife checked if breakfast was included in the room rate. The front desk told her it was included. However, when we checked out, we found charges of 115 TKL (around 50+ Euros) PER breakfast on the bill.

Now, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is BY FAR the most expensive breakfast I have ever seen.

When we complained we had been mis-informed, the check-out lady politely but firmly informed us my wife had been mis-informed and breakfast was chargeable.

Not a pleasant (and very expensive) experience.

Secondly, we checked out to move to the Novotel, near the airport, ready for an early morning start. The doorman insisted on using one of 'his' taxis, despite 2 public taxis being available. This was to ensure 'reliability' and to 'avoid a long route'. We showed him the hotel name and address, he informed the taxi and we were off ... to completely the wrong hotel and an additional 20 TKL cost!

Again, not pleasant.

Overall, a great hotel, with great staff and very service oriented. The overall experience was great ... until the last 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Bosphorous facing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us during your business trip to Istanbul earlier this month.
We thank you for your thoughtful comments, and also have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments.
We hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have recently returned from a wee k at the ciragan palace
Aside from the position and beauty of this hotel ,the service was outstanding in every area
From our suite over the bospherus to the breakfasts , pool attendents , attentive concierge and so helpfull business centre team. We couldn't fault the attention my husband and I and our teenage daughter received

Room Tip: Facing or side on to bospherus We were on a corner with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read your review, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us last month.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights at Ciragan. The hotel is breathtaking with views to match. I have never experienced better service, we couldn't have waited more than two minutes for anything we asked for. Some people have mentioned the breakfast is a little steep but I would say totally worth it. Very close to Domabache Palace and Kabatas station to go into old town and plenty of restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The pool overlooks the Bosporus, I could have spent all day there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOutboxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your three-night stay with us last month and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the moment I stepped into Ciragan Palace Kempinski, I knew it would be wonderful. The people at the reception were so friendly. A nice(and very tall)lady named Helen handled our room. We had booked a Superior Double room (side Bosphorus view) on Booking.com to attend a wedding ceremony being held at the Ciragan Palace. Helen told us we would be upgraded to a Deluxe room with a full Bosphorus view because the hotel had overbooked rooms. This was great news to us!
The room was lovely, as expected, and we had complimentary fruits, Turkish sweets, and water refreshed during our stay. The view was breathtaking, and we had a double balcony to enjoy it!
The staff was so friendly and the concierge was very helpful in recommending nearby places to visit. It was great to have breakfast, lunch, or dinner overlooking the bosphorus, and we also had a great time walking in the beautiful gardens and basking in the sun. (They even have a hammock!)
I didn't use the pool because it was a bit cold, but it looked very nice, and other people seemed to enjoy it.
Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel. It is a bit pricey, but worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Any room facing the Bosphorus is definitely worth it! They are bigger, have a balcony, and offer a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guestnumber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us last month and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#74 of 1,141 in Istanbul
721 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#83 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Property: Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing