We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly - A Palace Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Ranked #45 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The name truly befits the property.
From the word go - you feel like a king in the hotel.
The grace with which you are welcomed - the royalty of the attire of the working staff - the opulence of the interiors - the magnificence of the arcades and common areas - the sprawling gardens on the water front - the grandeur of the palace section - etc etc. The list can be endless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samit-Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Before we made the booking at Kempinski, we had been spoiled by Four Season in Bora Bora which we almost book Four Season in Istanbul. However, when we watched the ads from Kempinski, we are captured by their compound which is formerly the Ciragan palace... Eventually, we decide give a try to Kempinski for once in a life to stay in the Palace like Sultan...

The compound is very beautiful, everything is neatly setup. The room contain everything you need from five-stars hotel. The attention is being paid for every single detail and perfectly taking care of. However, the location is a bit remote from the old town - Sultanahmet but it compensate with a very fantastic view of the Bosphorus.

Nothing to say more than "this is one of the most beautiful hotel and you will get from what you have paid"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robynaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed briefly for business but must admit to feeling a little disappointed as my experience did not quite live up to the hype. Broadly speaking the hotel is excellent, so complaints are really quibbles (i.e. small details which annoy). But when you are paying this much, and the reputation is quite so polished, the small imperfections can feel jarring and ruin the complexion of an otherwise good stay.

Guests with deep pockets who like grand old European / Colonial hotels will find a lot to love - those with more modern tastes will enjoy a unique experience, but may leave wanting a little more...

Pros:
- The hotel's location is spectacular, right next to the Bosphorus, and next door to a magnificent palace building that is mainly used for events and conferences
- The outdoor pool is fantastic and promises to be outstanding during the hotter months
- The service was attentive and genial, but not exceptional for properties of this type
- La Fumoir, the shisha / nargileh / drinks lounge, is fabulous, if eye-wateringly expensive - sharing drinks and shisha with friends under the stars inches from the water and with views of the Asian side was very memorable
- Rooms are large, housekeeping is top notch and the amenities feel luxurious
- Check in process is excellent: speedy and professional

Cons:
- Rooms (or at least mine) feel a little tired and missing a few basics (my room did not have an iron, coffee/tea facilities and did not have international power outlets) - the rooms still feel luxurious, but you can't help but wonder when the last refurb was unless I am completely mistaken and the fraying fabric and slightly faded, washed out colours are intended.
- The hotel proper is located in a largely forgettable building that has been decorated well on the inside, but pales when compared to the palace building next door - on more than one occasion I wondered why the rooms weren't in the palace proper? The hotel building clearly is a modern addition, and one of my disappointments is finding that a stay at the Ciragan Palace is actually a stay at the Ciragan Palace Annex - not a biggie, and largely the result of my own flawed expectations perhaps.
- Hotel F&B pricing is in-line with global peers, which means that it is very expensive for Turkey. Alcoholic beverages in particular feel very expensive, even after accounting for the high local taxes.
- We ate at a number of the restaurants and the food was consistently high quality but pricey and this is brought home when you dine at nearby restaurants. For example we had a seafood lunch including wine for 3 at Park Fora nearby (great!) for the about the same cost as three cocktails at the bar.

Overall on checkout, I found myself thinking that perhaps I will try out another hotel on the Bosphorus next time, but that I will return separately for another session at La Femora. So the stay was good, but leaves this traveller wanting to check out the rest of the field before declaring true love...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bosphorus are the only ones worth having. I got a room facing the car park but did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not exactly sure of what. The location is absolutely fabulous - overlooking Bosphorus. There were few buts - I wasn't lucky when it comes to the room, my pockets appeared to be not deep enough for such a place. Overall it's a fairytale destination for wealthy people - charm, flowers, paying attention to details, venue. I could find better ways of spending the money though.

Room Tip: only Bosphorus view - others are not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The property is unbeatable in Istanbul, the view stunning, but at my second stay at the Ciragan Kempinski, I was a bit disappointed with the service. The waiters are totally lost at the restaurants (including breakfast) if you order or ask anything out of the ordinary. The bell boys are not attentive when you arrive and the concierge is understaffed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, Genel Müdür at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been immediately shared with the appropriate departments for immediate improvement and we would like to discuss them with you in detail at your convenience if you could kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Mr. Leon Baum directly at (leon.baum@kempinski.com) referring to this review in the email title.
Together with my team, I hope to welcome you back soon again, and provide you the finest Turkish hospitality here at the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Perfect service and outstanding Bosphorus view! This is probably one of the finest places to stay at in Istanbul. The hotel create an individual atmosphere, that offer comfort as good as home, that value and appreciate you as a guest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todor_Ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I always wanted to stay at the Ciragan Palace and my dream came true during our honeymoon trip. Hotel is itself one of the most outstanding historic properties of Istanbul.
we were staying at a suite with fantastic view overlooking the Bosporus. The property is extremely wonderful and worth the cost. Atmosphere is glamorous. Being spoiled by the staff and the personal service. I will stay at Ciragan Palace when visiting Istanbul again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaMc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,175 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,175 in Istanbul
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul

Address: Ciragan Caddesi 32 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#18 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £209 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cıragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul offers the ultimate in luxury and glamour of a genuine Ottoman Palace with its 313 rooms including 22 suites in the hotel and 11 suites in the historical Palace. This 5-star luxury Imperial Palace hotel is located on the shores of the magnificent Bosphorus overlooking the ancient city of Istanbul, provides a one-of-a-kind experience with its historical ambiance and excellent Kempinski service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Ciragan Palace Kempinski
Kempinski Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing